Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fave Allie book to date
This is probably my favourite of the Allie Beckstrom series so far. Like the books before it there is a lot going on, with many hidden agendas and you can never be completely sure who to trust or what's going to happen next. I had a really hard time putting the book down, particularly towards the end. There were a few big shocks and the more intense it got, the more...
Published on 16 July 2010 by Claire Mill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dang blasted cliffhanger!
This was an okay instalment. The first three quarters of the book were pretty average but the end was a great climatic scene. Be warned it has one stinker of a cliffhanger. You're going to want to have the next one in hand.

To be honest, if it were not for nearly every book so far ending in some kind of cliffhanger, I might have walked away from this series by...
Published on 17 Dec. 2011 by The Demon Librarian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fave Allie book to date, 16 July 2010
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably my favourite of the Allie Beckstrom series so far. Like the books before it there is a lot going on, with many hidden agendas and you can never be completely sure who to trust or what's going to happen next. I had a really hard time putting the book down, particularly towards the end. There were a few big shocks and the more intense it got, the more difficult it was to put down! I love the magical side to these books, the way it works, the price it costs, and the plots surrounding it and the Authority. It's cleverly crafted making a lot possible, but more impossible. But more than that I love the interplay between Allie, Zay and Shame. This book sees the addition of several new characters and one of them is Terric, who became a new favourite within a couple of pages. He's got a fair bit of history with Zay and Shame, add him to the mix and things got really interesting.

Likewise, I love the growth of the characters, Allie in particular, and the way we gradually learn more about them though the books. Allie has a lot resting on her shoulders already but she's always willing to throw herself deeper in trouble to help her friends, even though she's often terrified and doesn't really know what she's doing. She's capable and learns from her mistakes. I also love how Allie isn't afraid to ask tough questions, particularly of those she loves. She can push too far, but she does it in an attempt to understand them better, to better help and support them, if she can. Allie faces huge new battles in this book, both personal and with the Authority. I like how she handles them, not without fear or worry but with the determination to do the right thing.

Aside from the Authority, there is the continuation of Allie with her Hounds, and the fall out Davy is having to deal with from the blood magic Greyson and Tomi worked on him. And Greyson is someone Allie needs to worry a lot about. The Authority have him contained, but Allie's convinced that doesn't stop him being dangerous. And now that Zayvion and Allie know for sure they're Soul Complements, things between them are a little more complicated than before.

The ending was intense and explosive. It just kept growing with new twists. It answered some questions and left a whole lot more in their wake. Lots of shocks and drama and sadness. It did some nice setting up for the next book, but left with Allie in a place where I was desperate to know what happens next. Another well written, entertaining, intense Allie Beckstrom book and I am really looking forward to the next book, Magic At The Gate, in November.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun story, 11 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Urban fantasy is fun. Instead of medieval knights running around with their magic swords (don't get me wrong, I really like that stuff too) we find ourselves in an alternate modern universe.

Allie Beckstrom is born with magic, unlike most of the other residents of Portland. In this book a magic storm is getting close to Portland and the magic community has to figure out what to do. Her father is still residing in her head giving her advice that she is sceptical to, to say the least. Zavion Jones is still her "great love".

Allie will have to face all three of these parts of her life as they challenge her magic abilities and desire for integrity. The action is great and I like Devon's sense of humor. Shame is the court jester in this series and he does a good job.

We get to meet the old cast along with some new members.

This is litterature that fulfills its goal, it entertains. Enjoy yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dang blasted cliffhanger!, 17 Dec. 2011
This was an okay instalment. The first three quarters of the book were pretty average but the end was a great climatic scene. Be warned it has one stinker of a cliffhanger. You're going to want to have the next one in hand.

To be honest, if it were not for nearly every book so far ending in some kind of cliffhanger, I might have walked away from this series by now. There's nothing wrong with it, exactly, but it doesn't rock my world by any stretch of the imagination. This cliffhanger ploy is something that's definitely starting to aggravate.

Allie's character still isn't the badass I want her to be. For someone that has the unique ability to channel as much magic as she wants you'd think she'd be more helpful in a crisis, but as far as I can tell, whenever there's a dangerous situation, Allie is more of a liabilty than anything else. She either just rushes in half cocked and gets in the way, or she has a Too Stupid To Live moment and makes everything worse.

The romance element is still only luke warm for me, too, but its definitely better in this book. It's nice to see Zayvion training Allie to better defend herself. This should help with the above.

The most interesting thing at the moment for me is the subplot between Shane, the lovable, if slightly annoying, Irish rogue, and a blast from his past that turns up by the name of Terric. There is some question as to whether or not the two are soul complements. Something that both are uncomfortable with as it usually is something that that happens between a male and female pair and can be a highly pleasurable thing to experience during sex. So for two straight guys? Well they react pretty much as you'd expect them to react. They try and out-man each other and piss each other off as much as possible rather than deal with it like a grown up.

I am going to read the next one ('cause of the dang blasted cliffhanger) but it's with reservation. I really hope for an improvement in this series, or I'm out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A meatier entry for Allie Beckstrom, 8 Feb. 2011
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
After reading the previous Allie Beckstrom book by Devon Monk, Magic in the Shadows, I knew I had to keep up with the series, so picking up Magic on the Storm was a no-brainer. Unlike the earlier book, this one actually ends on a cliffhanger, but I didn't mind at all. Monk's writing is great and her story quite gripping.

After two months of relative peace, things are about to get a lot harder for Allison Beckstrom, She's now part of the Authority, the organization of magic-users who rule how magic is used throughout the world so as to keep the extent of it hidden from the populace (though magic itself is quite common). Allie's been training for two months even as she keeps at her job as the leader of a group of Hounds, who hunt down illegal magic-users. Now a magical storm is brewing, one of such intensity that it could destroy Portland if the Authority doesn't band together and stop it. Too bad that the Authority is starting to splinter into rival factions. Sounds like this would be the perfect time for somebody to strike. Having Allie's dead father reside in her head doesn't make things any easier.

I felt a lot more grounded reading Magic on the Storm than I did the previous book, probably because this wasn't my first. It helps to have a bit of historical knowledge in any series; I didn't feel like a newbie this time around. While Monk makes these books accessible to new readers, parceling out just enough information about prior events that the reader doesn't feel lost, it feels a lot better to know exactly what she's talking about at any given time. The lack of emotional investment in prior events for new readers is probably still there, but there's no getting around that in a series this tight. At least you know what happened, even if you don't feel the importance.

Monk's character work remains strong. Allie is sarcastic, always trying to do the best she can with what she's given and extremely frustrated when both her lover Zayvion and the rest of the Authority try to keep her out of things to keep her "safe." She also has a tendency to attract really bad things (though Monk does overuse classic "what else could go wrong?" writing, where the character says something like to that effect - and, of course, things do get worse). She's driven to move beyond her limitations if she can, no matter how much others want to protect her.

The other characters are also extremely well done. Zayvion Jones more interesting here than in the last book, Shame is still his sarcastic yet caring self, cynical beyond belief but with a heart of gold, especially where Allie is concerned. He becomes even more interesting when Terric shows up, a man with whom Shame has some bad history. The members of the Authority also spring to life, at least to an extent. This is a good thing, since it helps create the tension that simmers beneath the Authority, waiting to explode.

Yes, the first part of the book is a bit slow as Zayvion and Allie explore their relationship and the book gets ready for the big events to come. The constant "I will do anything to get you out of my head" banter with her father gets old, too, but overall, Magic on the Storm is a strong entry in the series. It doesn't feel like a transition novel, unlike the previous book. Things happen, earth-shattering events (or at least Authority-shattering) that will have a great effect on subsequent novels, all told in that wonderful Monk style.

While I would still say you should start at the beginning of the series, Magic on the Storm rewards even new readers with a great story and characters to keep you turning the page without stopping from beginning to end.

Originally published on Curled Up With A Good Book © Dave Roy, 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great instalment in the series, 31 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy these books; they're fast paced and the characters are written with real depth, which keeps me turning the pages. However this really was an instalment in the series rather than a story in it's own right. It was a continuation of what happened previously, with no resolution and a cliff-hangar at the end. I don't mind that (if you read fantasy epics you get used to that!), but it does mean that the story hasn't moved on that far, more that it's gone off in a slightly different direction (difficult to explain further without giving the plot away).

In this instalment we meet the previous characters (including Stone) and some new ones. If you've enjoyed the previous books in this series, it's definitely one for you, but if you're new to this series, don't start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars addictive, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic on the Storm (Allie Beckstrom Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Allie is back again and i could not wait to find out what happened in her story. I am wizszing through the entire series. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love these books, 30 May 2013
By 
A. Entwistle (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic on the Storm (Allie Beckstrom Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This book was fast paced, full of action, adventure and romance. All set in the supernatural world of magic. I couldn't put the book down and can't wait for the next. I think there's just enough of everything to make it a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic on the Storm (Allie Beckstrom Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book that has me guessing all the way through. The books keep you wanting to go on and read the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Mrs. J. A. Newman "nannyjoan" (South East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic on the Storm (Allie Beckstrom Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
What an ending. Talk about leaving you wanting more. Don`t want to stop but have too. Can't wait to carry on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Magic on the storm, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic on the Storm (Allie Beckstrom Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable read, enjoyable enough to purchase the whole series and hope that Allie Beckstrom returns in the future, without her Dad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews