Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every Breath She Takes
Lauren has spent years trying to hide her psychic abilities so she isn't considered a freak by her friends and family. She has visions of murders but in the past she has never been able to see enough detail to save the life of one of the victims. This time she has been able to pin down a location and she is determined to prevent the murder from taking place. Taking an...
Published on 23 Jan. 2013 by Sarah (Feeling Fictional)

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too mills and boon
I quite enjoyed this up to a point and loved the idea of a psychic hunting down and trying to protect one of her visions from being murdered.

What i didnt enjoy was the overkill on the sex front and how they fall in love and its mind blowing blah blah

Cal doesnt seem a bit creeped out that Lauren is overly obsessed with seing where Marlena is 24/7 -...
Published on 17 Feb. 2013 by Beanie Luck


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every Breath She Takes, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Every Breath She Takes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lauren has spent years trying to hide her psychic abilities so she isn't considered a freak by her friends and family. She has visions of murders but in the past she has never been able to see enough detail to save the life of one of the victims. This time she has been able to pin down a location and she is determined to prevent the murder from taking place. Taking an extended holiday from her veterinary practise she travels to the Foothills Guest Ranch in search of the victim. It is there that she meets ranch owner Cal. She is attracted to Cal but when she realises who the victim in her visions is she knows he has a motive and worries he might be the killer. Cal has been hurt in the past and is determined never to put his heart on the line again. That doesn't mean he is against the idea of having a little fun with his mysterious new long term guest though. As the pair grow closer Lauren comes nearer to figuring out the killer's identity but will Cal believe her when she shares her visions with him and can she stop the killer before she ends up becoming a victim herself?

Before I start this review I think it is worth pointing out that Every Breath She Takes was previously published with the title Lauren's Eyes - I just want to stop anyone making the mistake of purchasing this book twice thinking they're getting a new story when in fact they've already read it. This was actually my first book by Norah Wilson but I really enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to reading more of her work in the future. I don't read a great deal of romantic suspense but as I'm on a real contemporary romance kick at the moment I couldn't resist this one - especially when I found out that Cal is a cowboy and ex-rodeo star! Who doesn't love a sexy cowboy?

I have to say I really enjoyed getting to know Lauren, she was a strong heroine who saw horrific visions that were bad enough to give her nightmares but that never stopped her from putting herself in danger while she tried to protect the victim. Although she had figured out who was going to be killed not knowing when the murder would occur made it very difficult for her and she had to remain constantly on her guard while trying not to raise suspicion about what she was doing. It's not like she could tell the world about her visions and expect them to believe her when she had no proof that a crime would be committed. It was also hard for her to try and figure out who the killer was when she only ever saw the visions from his point of view but she was very logical in the way she went about her investigation and I liked the fact that she trusted her instincts. Once she had ruled Cal out as a suspect she never once questioned herself or doubted him which meant the way their relationship developed was very believable.

Cal was a great guy and someone who was prepared to go above and beyond to help those around him. He even offered his protection to the ex-wife who broke his heart by cheating on him. Although Cal was the kind of guy who looked out for others he didn't really believe that he had anyone who was willing to stand up for him. He had a support network but he just didn't see it and it took Lauren pointing out how much his friends cared before he really believed it. Cal's past left him wary and suspicious of others, especially women, but I liked the way he opened up towards Lauren fairly quickly. They both started their affair expecting it to be something short term but in spite of the secrets Lauren was keeping it didn't take long for them to grow to care for each other. Cal is a great alpha hero and I really enjoyed the glimpses of his life as a rodeo star.

My main problem with the story was that it was fairly easy to figure out who the murderer was, there wasn't a very big suspect pool so apart from one main red herring (that I had discounted fairly quickly) it didn't take a genius to guess the bad guy. In spite of that I still really enjoyed the story though and the climax at the end of the book was worth waiting for. There were a few frustrating misunderstandings between Cal and Lauren right at the end but thankfully they worked things out eventually. Every Breath She Takes was a solid story and one that has left me looking forward to more from Norah Wilson, it's a book I'm happy to recommend to fans of romantic suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too mills and boon, 17 Feb. 2013
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Every Breath She Takes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I quite enjoyed this up to a point and loved the idea of a psychic hunting down and trying to protect one of her visions from being murdered.

What i didnt enjoy was the overkill on the sex front and how they fall in love and its mind blowing blah blah

Cal doesnt seem a bit creeped out that Lauren is overly obsessed with seing where Marlena is 24/7 - it would seem a bit stalkerish to anyone normal.

I enjoyed the ranch setting but i had read it before from Tilly Bagshawe.

It had so much promise but ended up being very standard mills and boon writing.

Shame really as the idea was a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Plot, Good Romance and Not Syrupy Sweet, 8 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Every Breath She Takes (Kindle Edition)
Well since about 99% of what I read is PNR/UF this one just barely qualifies. Lauren has visions .... violent murderous visions and they come true .... all of them.
This leads her to try to stop one of them for once in her life she wants to get ahead of the murder she knows is coming and so we have our plot. The plot takes a side road when she meets ranch owner Cal Taggert in a bit subdued version of the "love at first sight" scenario.

This novel quickly turns into a combination of a cowboy romance and murder mystery "who dunnit" although since this IS still PNR the murder has not happened yet. The author leads you through all kinds of possible suspects and red herrings but does not bore you. All the while the romance angle keeps heating up and in what seems to me a weird combination of borderline dominance and plain old lust, it keep getting warmer and warmer while the two participants keep trying to come up with good reasons to not like each other.

This type book usually bores me but this one was done well enough it not only kept my interest but it kept me up late trying to get to the ending and the answer to the mystery (which was also done very well).

Rating:
Bottom Line: This is one of those books you need to get and read it now or keep it for later, the HEA was exceptional and the story engaging. I should mention the first 60% or so was about a 3.5/5 but the last 30% things get to moving a bit quicker and the entertainment factor comes closer to a 4.5/5 so overall I rated this book as a 4+ and highly recommend it for those times you really want to read something that is not syrupy sweet but ends exactly the way you want it to end and you leave with that warm feeling a really good book can give you. Excellent stand alone novel to read while you wait for that next big "shiny" book to arrive ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A decent romance, 7 Aug. 2013
By 
Suzanne Moore "Suzanne" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Every Breath She Takes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lauren Townsend is a vet gets visions and for the last few weeks she has been seeing the murder of a woman on horseback. She manages to figure out where the crime is going to take place so flies out to this ranch for a few weeks to try and stop the murder. The only problem is no sooner has she arrived than the ranch's owner Cal Taggart swaggers into her line of view and she gets distracted.
Cal Taggart hasn't had it easy in his life and he is holding onto his ranch by the skin of his fingertips. Opening his ranch to guests seems to be helping despite his neighbour wanting to buy his ranch. Then Lauren walks into his life, completely opposite to anything he has dated before yet he can't get her out of his head, even when his ex-wife turns up dragging her baggage of trouble with her.
A romance soon starts up between them but Lauren can't help being distracted by the real reason she is at the ranch and worrying if Cal knew the real reason she was there and about her visions would he be so interested in her.
This is a standard romance with a supernatural murder mystery to solve as well, light weight and nothing earth shattering but it is well written, the characters are likeable and for once the Heroine forces Hero to talk to her about things instead of bottling things up, thoroughly enjoyable.
This story has been done before but then there is nothing new under the sun and the author has managed to put a new spin on this story that means I will be reading this one again and possible looking out for other books my Norah Wilson in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you get whats on the cover, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
margesimpson "wifi" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Every Breath She Takes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
that is a slightly supernatural romance which tries to be fast paced with lots of heat between the 2 main people in the story , i found this a middle scale book a pleasant read but probably not one i would recommend to others unless i knew that they were a lover of this type of book. i also think all books retitled on release should clearly state the previous title so you dont get caught buying it twice , hate that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Breath She Takes (Kindle Edition)
First book I've read by this author and good it was. Well written and easy to read. Lauren a vet who has visions of death and murder goes to a ranch to save her latest vision. Here she meets and falls for Cal the cowboy and owner. After no strings sex can she save the day and find true love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every Breath She Takes, 31 Aug. 2013
By 
A. V. Calvert (Thorne,Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Every Breath She Takes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lauren is a vet with psychic abilities.Unusually though she sees murders through the killers eyes.This has cost her a fiancé who could not believe her and thought she was a freak.
However one day she sees the murder of a beautiful woman and knows she must trace her and try to prevent this murder.
She traces her finally to a ranch which luckily has places to rent.
This starts off with meeting the owner Cal.They are both drawn to each other although it is a bit hit and miss to start with.
Thus begins the story of love,romance,jealousy and intrigues.
A very exciting story that I could not put down.
This book has a lot to offer and I found it thrilling and lovely in the same breath.
How glad I am that I chose it.Recommended highly.
This was free for review with Amazon Vine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit dull, 29 Jan. 2013
By 
IMCPU2 "imcpu2" (Portsmouth England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Every Breath She Takes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I started to read this book and wondered if there was a page missing, it all seemed a bit disjointed. But don't give up - read on and all will be revealed. A "nice" story quite predictable in places with a bit of intrigue to help you along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and sexy, 3 Oct. 2013
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Every Breath She Takes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'd never read anything by this author before, but I'll definitely be looking out for her other books. This was an intriguing and very sexy book. Erotic romantic suspense, I guess you'd class it as. And it's also got paranormal elements. So although it now sounds a little complicated - it isn't. It's just a well-written, fun, page-turner of a book with great characters that you care about, excellent settings, super hot sex scenes and a superbly satisfying ending.

If you like your romantic suspense super hot, definitely check this book out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 16 Jun. 2013
By 
M. Bray "Mia" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Every Breath She Takes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lauren's psychic visions show her murders before they happen and after seeing a mysterious blonde gets throttled she sets off for Cals ranch to solve the case and try to save her. Lying that she's writing a book Lauren and Cal quickly get close, but there's complications in store when the ill fated vision is Cals promiscuous ex wife.

With likeable characters,and a fairly interesting story behind the romance this makes for good chic lit reading, and a must if you have a thing for cowboys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Every Breath She Takes
Every Breath She Takes by Norah Wilson
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews