Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, Disappointing length
Overall it is a great game, with a good story line, but it wasn't what i expected, the layout is 2D not a 3D environment, also expected more action than there was. The two player option selection is brilliant, and you both have a role to play there is no lead player, but you can often end up waiting for a while for the other person to complete their task when you both end...
Published 22 months ago by Miss B. J. Parry

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: The Eternity of Restarting Because The Game Crashed
Positives:
The plot is brilliant, the writing is great, the acting is marvellous, the graphics are orgasmic and the comedy is genius.

Negatives:
A monkey could program a game more competently. This game is RIDDLED with glitches and bugs. River failing to respond, characters slipping through walls, autosaves and trophies causing the game to crash...
Published on 4 Aug 2012 by PKMNtrainerRichie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: The Eternity of Restarting Because The Game Crashed, 4 Aug 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3) (Video Game)
Positives:
The plot is brilliant, the writing is great, the acting is marvellous, the graphics are orgasmic and the comedy is genius.

Negatives:
A monkey could program a game more competently. This game is RIDDLED with glitches and bugs. River failing to respond, characters slipping through walls, autosaves and trophies causing the game to crash... And just now, I got killed by a Dalek and respawned at the start of the level again but the elevator I had to use failed to return to its default position - so I was permanently stuck! I couldn't even get another Dalek to turn around and shoot me dead - I had to wait five minutes while the timer counted down. I can stand losing because of my own ability, but not due to poor programming. This game could have been AMAZING if the programmers had done a better job. I'd love to know how the BETA testers actually went on. I bet they were either a bunch of yes-men, or were entirely ignored before release.

Final say:
Don't waste your money. Watch someone else play it on YouTube and treat it like watching an episode of Doctor Who. As an instalment in the series, it's fantastic. As a game, it's awful. The glitches and bugs are more frustrating than the game is entertaining. Sorry, Doctor Who team, but you failed as hard on this as you did with the final Adventure Games instalment. Try harder next time, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Poo, 25 May 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3) (Video Game)
...................WARNING THIS GAME IS £14 FULL PRICE ON THE PLAYSTATION STORE.................
.................AND £15 BLU RAY VERSION WHEN I BOUGHT FROM AMAZON DIRECTLY ................

let me begin I'm a huge dr who fan since the 70's and I was so looking forward to this game.
things on youtube and press releases from the bbc and supermassive games made this game look desirable....so against my better judgment I risked a purchase from amazon.
(all doctor who games in the past have been poor)
I should have stuck to my instincts as this game is only marginally above the tat released on Nintendo's systems over the past few years.

1.......... the graphics look great yet the 3d gameplay is only to switch camera views.
Nothing wrong with 2d platforming as many a great game it has spawned EG:Mario,Sonic to name a couple.
But this left to right only gameplay is illogical considering you are forced to shimmy a pipe rather than just walk a direct path set out in front of you to get to a other side of the screen which seems stupid for the sake of a climbing bit and because the path goes round the background yet other levels it will follow the same easier paths?

2...........the controls are clumsy as if on roller skates.....it seems to be jittery at the best of times often leading to peril or a missed jump,you will overcome this after a bit.

3.........the puzzles are basic and repeat themselves over and over again......all 6 off them if memory serves me right.
And they will frustrate many a gamer with strict time limits not because they are hard but some need to be done very quickly or result in death.

4--------the game has numerous bugs and glitches that will crash the game or force a restart either way resulting on quitting the game to the xmb screen of the PlayStation 3.
One minute you happily playing the next you're at the PlayStations home screen or faced with either the doctor or river remaining on screen after a death with no energy and unable to move.

5-------AI is appalling at the best of times,river will endlessly wander around like a zombie resulting on some puzzles not being able to be carried out because she won't fulfill her part.
On occasion the enemy will turn blind and let you just walk past them while they don't interact with you (some may see this as a bonus but it shouldn't happen)
Other times it will see you through walls and kill you on site even through the wall.(daleks)
River on stealth missions when you're as the doctor will insist in standing in the open mind you she doesn't get shot at you seem to be the target for her mistakes.

6------------most of the levels you will be carrying out tasks with little to no indication you had a prior goal to achieve EG: you race the cybermen from point A to point B in the underground yet the first you are aware of this fact is when the mission fails and your informed the cybermen got too far in front of you.
So collect or look for the numerous collectibles at your peril.
This leaves the whole game as a trial and error type game which is no fun for anybody.

7------------there is a bad lag in voice overs which results in a classic Bruce lee kung fu movie out of sync feeling.

8-----------game saves are rare and check points are sometimes so harsh it's a joke.
Large portions of the game will need to be repeated because of a cheap glitchy death or not knowing what you're supposed to be doing.
Even decent gamers will curse this game for it so think how the casual gamer will feel.

9------------MANY OF DOCTOR WHOS FANS ARE NOW YOUNGSTERS AND THIS GAME AS IT STANDS WILL FRUSTRATE THEM TO DEATH AND THEREFORE IF YOU'RE CONSIDERING THIS FOR LITTLE ONES OR FOR EASILY DISRACTED KIDDIES TRY RENTING IT FIRST.

Over all a cheaply made game with more bugs than the amazon rain forest ,that is short in length and content not worthy of the price placed on it.

THINK A CHEAP IPHONE/ANDROID GAME AND YOU'RE CLOSER TO WHAT TO EXPECT.
PS----DON'T LET SOME OF THE FAN BOYS ON HERE WHO INFLATED ITS RATING BECAUSE IT HAPPENS TO HAVE DOCTOR WHO IN THE TITLE.....VERY IRONIC HOW THE LOWER STAR RATED ARE VOTED UNHELPFULL BY THEM OBVIOUSLY.
DOCTOR WHO DESERVES A BETTER GAME THAN THIS IPHONE TYPE CHEAP CASH IN.

Do yourselves a favor download the 5 free doctors who games from the bbc site as they are better than this in every way.
And if you must buy this Google some professional reviews which so far don't rate the game at all.
But don't buy like I did for the sake it's doctor who....you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, Disappointing length, 13 Oct 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3) (Video Game)
Overall it is a great game, with a good story line, but it wasn't what i expected, the layout is 2D not a 3D environment, also expected more action than there was. The two player option selection is brilliant, and you both have a role to play there is no lead player, but you can often end up waiting for a while for the other person to complete their task when you both end up in separate places. And the puzzles are brilliant fun, and a tricky enough to enjoy but also get frustrated.
I would reccommened this game if you like Little Big Planet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Even more wobbly than the original series' sets!, 14 Jun 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3) (Video Game)
I am a huge fan of Doctor Who, both new and old. Let's just get that out of the way first shall we? But even as a fan, I cannot recommend this game.

Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock is not a fun game. In fact I would describe this game as being a chore to play. The only motivation I had to continue playing was the naive hope that reaching the end goal would somehow yield a reward far greater than the experience I was having at the time. It never did.

The presentation is quite frankly bizarre. Eternity Clock presents you with a three-dimensional world but only allows the Doctor and River Song to move on a two-dimensional plane... meaning that you can never explore the world beyond the confines of your current, very linear path. This goes against everything Doctor Who is about. It also makes no sense in the context of the game when the Doctor must climb ladders and pipes to overcome obstacles when a perfectly serviceable set of stairs lies in the background, just beyond the player's reach. Infuriating!

The gameplay is frantic and often involves a lot of running, a Doctor Who staple. The Doctor can wave his Sonic Screwdriver around with reckless abandon and receive messages on his psychic paper. River Song has her trusty blaster and hallucinogenic lipstick, the latter is used to seduce guards into opening electronic doors for the most part. It's just a shame that no one told the developers that 2D aiming controls don't work in what is essentially a 3D space. Between the running and sonicing/shooting, there are puzzles but only a few, mind you. You will find yourself playing the same few minigames over and over again just to progress and frankly it becomes more than a little tedious.

Eternity Clock features several of the Doctor's most infamous adversaries, Cybermen, Silurians (sorry, Homo Reptilia), The Silence and the Daleks. Each of the various factions look great on screen and generally have a different gameplay quirk which makes fighting them (only slightly) different. The Silence, for example, need to be kept in view at all times or else the level will fail; something fans of the new series might appreciate. There are plenty of references to previous episodes, both new and old, along with some rather redundant collectables to seek out as well. Matt Smith and Alex Kingston lend their vocal talents to their respective characters and although Smith provides the usual energetic flair we have come to love of the Doctor, Kingston feels a little flat as River Song.

The story is typical Doctor Who fare, a massive universe threatening problem occurs seemingly out of nowhere and the Doctor must save the world quickly enough to be back in time for tea. There's plenty of time travelling cleverness utilised in order to solve puzzles although these are questionable at best. My favourite involves the Doctor going back in time to change the plans for a gas main so it will be built under a different road and prevent an explosion which had previously hindered the player's progress. Of course it doesn't matter that the Doctor only had to step around the damage and... oh wait, we can only move in two dimensions. Ironic really, the Doctor can travel through the forth dimension but not the third. Additionally, don't expect a fantastic finale wherein the Doctor thwarts the true enemy and saves the day either, because just when it's getting good the game just sort of ends instead.

However, despite its multiple failings, my biggest problem with the game is its difficulty. Now, I consider myself a seasoned gamer, I don't shy away from a challenge, but this game is just not easy, even on the easy setting! The AI is glitchy and doesn't do things half as quickly as you need it to, the game doesn't always adhere to its own internal rules (am I in cover or not?) and most of the so called challenging levels are frustrating because of an arbitrary time limit. If you are looking to play this game along with your children, prepare for many tears of frustration and then expect them from your kids as well.

I gave Eternity Clock two stars for having average visual quality, average voice acting and some nifty little throwbacks to the TV series. This is not a game you will play again after purchase. I shall be hiding this game from my nephew who is a huge video game and Doctor Who fan because I can't bear to see the disappointment on his face when he experiences this unfulfilling, frustrating and deviously heartbreaking game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This should not be in the name of the doctor, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3) (Video Game)
I really wanted to love this game, it's doctor who I wanted it to be one of the best games ever. But It really isn't the graphics and game play are terrible. The format should of been third person not this 2D glitchy rubbish, I actually tried as hard as I could to find a positive in this and all I could find was that it's actually Matt smith and Alex Kingston voicing the game. But please save your money and avoid this awful waste of life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars doctor who the eternity clock, 26 May 2012
By 
andrew from llangollen (llangollen, north wales) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3) (Video Game)
this game has a lot of good points, but unfortunatly, it also has a lot of bad points too. wasn,t too sure about the side scrolling aspect of it when it was first mentioned, but its not too bad once you get used to it. having said that however, i would have preferred it to be just like the online adventure games.

the storyline was good, what you would expect for doctor who, and the graphics were excellant. one major problem was that you couldn,t save your game whenever you wanted, which can be frustrating when you complete a huge portion, only to go off, do something else, and have to go through it all over again from the beginning.

wasn,t really a fan of the puzzle element, as i found it to be time consuming and repetitive. i also hated the fact that you can die in confrontations with enemies, would rather have a straight forward adventure game in the same vein as the ones done by telltale games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So much potental, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3) (Video Game)
this game has So much potental but also soo many bugs, frequently getting stuck in walls or not knowing what to do. Gets tiresome neer the end but worth a play for any dr who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For the fans (whovians), 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3) (Video Game)
it's a great game for those who enjoy the series. Ir actually helps you understand a bit of the Doctor Who storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. A. Nicol (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3) (Video Game)
Just brought this item for our son who is a huge fan of anything to do with Doctor Who. Our son highly recommends the game as
he says the characters and the game strategy are good but at times is a little hard. Highly recommended game though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good game ruined by glitches., 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3) (Video Game)
As much as the game and its story is good and original compared to other Doctor Who games, the expirience is ruined by the whole mess of glitches. This combined with the long distance between checkpoints made it difficult to play (If you play and it glitched you would need to restart at a point much futher back than you are and that is just depressing) Whilst the 2 player mode is less glitchy, design of the levels doesn't really work as split screen and the lower screen always has complaints of not being able to see the floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3)
Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
£21.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews