Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, - had me laughing out loud.
Way back in the 1950s Lillian Beckwith was recommended to take a nice quiet break fcr the good of her health. One of the replies to her advert in a well-known periodical was from the tiny Hebridean island of Bruach. Morag, who was to become the landlady of "Miss Peckwitt" for the next two years, wrote "Surely it is that quiet here even the sheeps...
Published on 8 Nov 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A book for old times
I read this book when I was quite young, probably in my mid-teens, and I absolutely loved it - and most of Lillian Beckwith's other books too. I recently bought it for my Kindle and was looking forward to re-living the pleasure I had from years ago - unfortunately the characters were too simple to be believable these days. A sad reflection on our cynical world - or is...
Published 10 months ago by Bookworm


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hills Is Lonely (Hebridean Tales 1) (Bello) (Lillian Beckwith's Hebridean Tales) (Kindle Edition)
Good read taking you back to how life was on the islands not so long ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hills Is Lonely (Hebridean Tales 1) (Bello) (Lillian Beckwith's Hebridean Tales) (Kindle Edition)
very good pleased ( i will not write words that I do not want to write even to make it 17 words)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the hills is lonely, 12 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hills is Lonely (Paperback)
extreemly good reading item well packaged and in very good condition i have enjoyed lillian beckwith books for some years now but as with everything they get worn out and need to be replaced the delivery was very quick so thanks for that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Country folk, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hills Is Lonely (Hebridean Tales 1) (Bello) (Lillian Beckwith's Hebridean Tales) (Kindle Edition)
this book is very funny.I first read it years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hills Is Lonely (Hebridean Tales 1) (Bello) (Lillian Beckwith's Hebridean Tales) (Kindle Edition)
Always a good read for a quiet evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hills Is Lonely (Paperback)
As advertised. many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mildly amusing at first, but palled on me, 27 Jan 2013
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hills Is Lonely (Hebridean Tales 1) (Bello) (Lillian Beckwith's Hebridean Tales) (Kindle Edition)
This is a fictionalised version of the author's own experiences living on a remote island in the Hebrides around the middle of the 20th century. While quite amusing in places, I fairly quickly found it rather tedious and the author's approach is rather condescending towards the inhabitants. After several years, she has only acquired a couple of words of the Scots Gaelic they speak. My interest waned and I gave up half way through. 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hills is Lonely, 19 April 2009
By 
Ruth Young (North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hills is Lonely (Paperback)
I gave this book to a friend who had read it when first published - it is now out of print.
She says that they (the Lilian Beckwith books) read as freshly as ever and still make her chuckle.
I have yet to read them but I am encouraged to do so now that I have been introduced to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars book, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hills Is Lonely (Hebridean Tales 1) (Bello) (Lillian Beckwith's Hebridean Tales) (Kindle Edition)
Well written book started off very interesting but soon became boring with not much purpose and point to it all, didnt even finish it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I gave up on this one about half way through..., 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hills Is Lonely (Hebridean Tales 1) (Bello) (Lillian Beckwith's Hebridean Tales) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the first half of the book which is about a woman convalcing in a remote cottage in the Western Isles of Scotland. It is very funny in places and explains life and attitudes of the locals. Almost news of a bygone age. However I found the story a little repetative with no obvious plot line. I suppose that is because there is no plot, just a often funny look at life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews