Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lillian Beckwith
I read the Lillian Beckwith books years ago so when i saw this on kindle I had to try it. Loved it just as much.
Published 21 months ago by bam

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Island Apart
This book has a really good start. Lillian Beckwith uses the first 5 chapters to explain how the main characters Kirsty and Ruari, meet in unusual circumstances. 65 pages cover their initial meeting and subsequent wedding within a few days. I was hooked very quickly.

The next 6 chapters describe Kirsty adapting to living on a remote Hebridean Island. The...
Published on 22 Dec 2009 by C. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Island Apart, 22 Dec 2009
By 
C. Smith "smithcat7" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Island Apart (Paperback)
This book has a really good start. Lillian Beckwith uses the first 5 chapters to explain how the main characters Kirsty and Ruari, meet in unusual circumstances. 65 pages cover their initial meeting and subsequent wedding within a few days. I was hooked very quickly.

The next 6 chapters describe Kirsty adapting to living on a remote Hebridean Island. The narrative is pretty lightweight but I found it quite interesting. There are not many characters in the book, and a lot of these chapters were about the relationship between Kirsty, her husband and brother-in-law.

THEN three HUGE events are covered in the last two chapters. Infact 5 years are covered in less than half a page, What a disapointment! I got the distinct impression that the author had had a good idea for the start of the book, but then had no plot planned at all and had finally got so bored she just finished the book in a hurry.

There was so much potential at the start of the book, but I am really glad I borrowed this from the library and didn't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lillian Beckwith, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Island Apart (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I read the Lillian Beckwith books years ago so when i saw this on kindle I had to try it. Loved it just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lillian beckwith novels, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Island Apart (Paperback)
A perfect read for those who love the Scottish Highlands and Islands, funny and emotive of times long gone. Old novel but in good condition one to keep for a re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an island apart, 17 July 2008
By 
T. Mc Gowan (falkirk scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i have read this book over and over again and also listened to it in audio version great story about life in the islands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series of books, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Island Apart (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Just discovered Lillian Beckworth. Just a lovely gentle read about living on a Scottish island with a few out of the ordinary happenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as her usual style, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Island Apart (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I was disappointed in this book. I laughed out loud to "the hills is lonely" and " the sea for breakfast" but found this book disappointing. It is still gives an insight into the warm highlander life but fails to move the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a delight, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Island Apart (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed Lillian Beckwith's books for years and was delighted to find one I hadn't read. Thoroughly enjoyed it and didn't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Beckwith., 26 April 2014
By 
A. Rodriguez-Veglio (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Island Apart (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
A gem just as all her other books are too. How well she writes and conjures up the atmosphere of the Hebrides. When I eventually visited them last year I really did feel I was walking in "Beckwith Land" - and could recognise so many things from her writings - for example the peat hags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous book, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Island Apart (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I. would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good read I have read this as my first.book on my Christmas present from two of my daughters

i
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read but Flawed, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Island Apart (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I have to agree with the other reviewer on the bizarre ending of this book. The characters are beautifully drawn out, particularly life on the mainland and only less so the description of life on the small island where only 3 characters live. However, it all falls apart at the end with five years covered in a page. It was a disappointment to say the least. It would get five stars apart from the ending. I just don't know why she wrote it that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Island Apart (Bello)
An Island Apart (Bello) by Lillian Beckwith
£2.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews