Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2013
160 Rare and more often found Motown tracks, all for less than a pint of lager. What`s not to like?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
If it's volume of music you're after, this is the collection for you, but if your after hours of listening pleasure you might be disappointed.

There's some great artists here, but these aren't their best songs. Perhaps they come from their earlier works, a bit too much doo-wop and not enough soul or R&B. So as a history lesson it's pretty good, but don't expect their finest works.

There are some good tunes definitely worth a spin (a previous reviewer mentioned Little Stevie Wonder who is heavily featured), but you will have to skim past some fairly average stuff. The quality also sounds a bit flat, perhaps this was the production techniques but I suspect higher priced compilations would provide a richer sound.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
This is not just an amazing bargain, but an invaluable history of the more obscure beginnings of the Detroit music scene in the early 1960s. This album covers recordings that were mostly made before the 'Tamla Motown' branding took off all over the World,but with the artists and song writers that created the Tamla sound. I love the tracks by the Supremes that were recorded before they got their uniquely recognisable chart topping sound. Also, Little Stevie Wonder doing a copy of Ray Charles' 'Hallelujah I love her so' is food for the soul. Marvin Gaye,The Temptations, Smokey Robinson, Mary Wells, The Marvelettes and some lesser known names are all here on 160 wonderful tracks of 1960s musical history. I absolutely love the whole lot.

Eamonn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
The amount of classic 60s Soul music on offer here for such a low low price is astonishing. These artists are some of the greatest names in Soul, and many of these songs are not familiar to me - and I have been listening to Soul since the 60s.

Not all tracks may appeal to everyone of course, each to their own. But thirty years ago I could not have conceived of buying such a massive treasure chest of hard-to-find Soul for such a knock-down price.

I couldn't cite individual artists here for greatness, they are all legends. Suffice to say, this must surely be the best ever deal for rare soul. I wonder if Stax might do the same ...?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
For any Motown fan this is great and at this price it is cheaper than uploading tracks from your own collection! If you have only just discovered Motown this will give you a good insight into where the artists came from but if you are already a hardened fan then there is not much here you are not likely to have already in your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
Okay if you want a collection of Motown's hits this is probably not for you. But, if you already own all the Chartbusters series and think there might be more to Motown than just the hits, then this is certainly worth a punt. Early Stevie Wonder (including Fingertips), some early Smokey Robinson & The Miracles (including Shop Around), early Temptations (mostly from their first two albums, ie before the hits) and some great tracks from Mary Wells and The Marvelettes add up to a pretty good package. And, at less than three of your English pounds this is an amazing bargain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
That's it. This is incredible value. Some rare and wonderful tracks to discover. An absolute goldmine in fact. Money very well spent. Well done Amazon, more deals like this please
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
A good all round album some songs I'd not heard before excellent value for money and the songs just keep going
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
For the price a steal. I have enjoyed all the tracks. little Stevie Wonder is alone worth the cost. Bargain.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Best value collection i have ever bought, glad price was so good as i already have over 120 of these on vinyl, but a great start up for anyone interested in the soul of the 60's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)