Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - a way to get the best out of your iPod
This Philips Docking Speaker gives high quality sound, as you would expect from Philips. It's great hearing the iPod capabilities through speakers rather than earbuds which, however good, can't really offer the same experience. The price is not prohibitive, and I really appreciate having the battery option for when you don't have a free socket, or when you're somewhere...
Published on 12 Sep 2012 by Leonore

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not what itvsays
I bought this as a gift for my wife who has an iPhone 5, the product says it supports ALL model iPhones and iPod but it doesn't. Only supports 4th generation of apple products and below.
Published 9 months ago by inky


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - a way to get the best out of your iPod, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS3100/05 Docking Speaker with 30 Pin Dock Connection (Electronics)
This Philips Docking Speaker gives high quality sound, as you would expect from Philips. It's great hearing the iPod capabilities through speakers rather than earbuds which, however good, can't really offer the same experience. The price is not prohibitive, and I really appreciate having the battery option for when you don't have a free socket, or when you're somewhere remote (like the garden shed).

Docking is straightforward - the gadget rocks forward slightly to make iPod connection very easy, and Philips have inserted a little rubber pad to protect the iPod back! The app that you download gives alarm options, clock and weather. You can even use it to tune into radio. It also offers several different equaliser settings, with an optional bass booster.

Volume controls are conveniently situated on the front panel. All together a delightful, compact device that does exactly what it's supposed to!Philips DS3100/05 Docking Speaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect little dock, 3 Sep 2012
This review is from: Philips DS3100/05 Docking Speaker with 30 Pin Dock Connection (Electronics)
This is a GREAT little dock at this pricepoint. Bought it at John Lewis (same price).

The sound quality on this little boy is preey damn good, bass is rich and smooth, treble is there, but not too harsh (and you can adjust with the EQ on your iPod anyway). It also goes quite loud on mains without distorting.

Good points:
Charges all ipods including iPod Touch 4th generation

Flexi-connector - This is IMPORTANT and quite unique... the audio connector is hinged outwards - not only will this help with wear & tear, but ALSO it will let you mount an IPAD.. I tried my iPAD 3 and it works lovely.

Runs on batteries too (Std. AA - it does not charge the batteries) - so great for just sitting outside with a glas of wine at an opportune moment.

2 YEAR Philips guarantee

Bad points:
No remote (if you really need one that is, I doubt many people do at this level as it wont be your main HiFi system)

This makes an excellent bedside unit - forget alarm clocks, and radios - there are free APPS for all of this... a dock does not NEED those things.

All-in-all a great iPod dock at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not what itvsays, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS3100/05 Docking Speaker with 30 Pin Dock Connection (Electronics)
I bought this as a gift for my wife who has an iPhone 5, the product says it supports ALL model iPhones and iPod but it doesn't. Only supports 4th generation of apple products and below.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS3100/05 Docking Speaker with 30 Pin Dock Connection (Electronics)
Well this is just great , looks cool , sounds great for the money , cant tell you any fancy technical stuff but theres a lot of great dance moves going on in my kitchen now !!! Yee har !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I T dinasaur, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS3100/05 Docking Speaker with 30 Pin Dock Connection (Electronics)
As an "elderly" consumer I sometimes have difficulty with new gadgets however I have found the docking speaker easy to understand. It is also very smart and takes up very little space. I am enjoying the product very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT suitable for Lightning connection!, 9 Jan 2013
By 
M. J. Polaine "MattP" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips DS3100/05 Docking Speaker with 30 Pin Dock Connection (Electronics)
The details described on this Amazon site are wrong. This product is not suitable for iPods or iPads with a Lightning connection. The vendor should update their description ASAP, as they say suitable for all Apple devices.

The Philips DS3205 Lightning Dock is however suitable for Apple Lightning connection. Note the product code!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars does not support 7th gen ipods, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS3100/05 Docking Speaker with 30 Pin Dock Connection (Electronics)
The sounds and looks of this player are fantastic,but it does not support my 7th gen ipod.and even with the pin adapter it makes the ipod sit off centre which doesnt look good at all.If you buying for older ipod,i would say go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Docking Speaker, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DS3100/05 Docking Speaker with 30 Pin Dock Connection (Electronics)
This compact docking speaker system is a little gem.
Do not be fooled by it's mega size, the sound quality is fantastic.
Only criticism is the free app. seems to be a bit flakey.
Would love a remote control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ....simply wonderful sound....., 23 Oct 2012
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Philips DS3100/05 Docking Speaker with 30 Pin Dock Connection (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
One complaint - no remote. Other than that, brilliant sound reproduction. Wonderful crisp treble and full rounded bass, make the listening a real experience.

I am a (home) musician and I spend hours creating and arranging music on my Mac/Logic Pro and once the final 'approved' version is ready, I copy it to my iPod and listen to it intently through earphones and via various speaker based systems to check that the balances are right. I am highly critical of my own music and, when listening, I want to be able to hear every nuance of the sounds I have produced. This DS3100/05 does just that. Because the sounds are well produced, I can hear every piano note and whether it has been masked by a trombone or not; I can tell if the 12 string rhythm guitar is too trebly and should be changed to a standard 6 string acoustic. I could go on, but suffice to say that, for such a relatively small unit, the sound reproduction is terrific.

I have to reduce the review rating to 4 stars as there's no remote. However, if this is not an important issue, you can't choose a better docking station - simply wonderful sound

(NB - another reviewer states that they also mounted an iPad on the station - As I am poised to get one, this is a real "Brucie Bonus" - perhaps 5 stars???? I wait and see)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy Sound, 1 Dec 2013
By 
A. Michael "bamels" (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips DS3100/05 Docking Speaker with 30 Pin Dock Connection (Electronics)
I don't know why everyone is raving about this so much. The sound is ok, but there is a faint buzzing 'speaker' sound to it. I returned mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews