Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Richard Hawley - Darkness on the edge of Sheffield
4.5 stars

This is all a bit unexpected. Richard Hawley classic balladeer, aching lyricist and glorious singer songwriter becomes a space rock cadet? That at least is the interpretation of a number of music magazine reviews of this album thus far and it is partly why this reviewer for the first time approached a Hawley album with a distinct degree of...
Published on 7 May 2012 by Red on Black

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic compromise
In an interview with Q magazine before it was released, Richard Hawley explained that he had to make this album while he still had 'a pulse', referring to two recent bereavements. I looked forward to hearing it when I heard he'd gone 'cosmic'. Though I love his earlier solo albums, I thought this would be interesting. Sadly, it didn't live up to expectations...
Published on 17 May 2012 by D. J. H. Thorn


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hawley good but not his best., 17 Aug. 2013
By 
G. N. Bacon (Beds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard Hawley is one of life's best kept secrets. His albums are terrific, thoughtful, well constructed, written and beautifully produced. He has a fantastic voice that is soothing and calming - a great listen. This is not his best album but is measured against some outstanding work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is...., 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...one of Britain's greatest song writers, never mind performers. Buy everything you can by this wonderful artist, you will always be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars richard hawley is brilliant, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
such a warm feeling comes out of his vioce I first heard of him on a Shirley bassey concert richard hawley wrote a song for her to sing called in the rain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars latest album, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard Hawley has done it again, a bit different to what i expected, but wasnt dissapointed. listen to it,then buy it. the BBC have used one of the tracks as the theme to Prisoners wives, not on u tube, so buy the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely great album by Richard Hawley from opening song onwards it is all top class! Can't recommend highly enough and booked tickets to see him play live at Graves Park in Sheffield in July 2013 on the strength of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mean, moody and magnificent. Many Hawley fans have issues with this album but I love the sound, production and overall atmosphere this offering projects. A collection of brooding tunes with 'wall of sound' values, I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard Hawley you are incredible, cant stop playing this every track is of the highest quality very much underated artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really good, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard hawley is the man,it took me a bit longer to get into than his last album,but i love it now,highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing At The Sky's Edge [+Digital Booklet] (MP3 Download)
A refreshingly good album filled with, wait for it, music! Great songs with excellent playing by a very accomplished musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Effort focuses on the Guitar, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
D. SPENCER "Calm As Custard" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I first tuned into Richard Hawley it was all a fey, melodic throwback to the 1950s. Then it went a bit gooey around Coles Corner and Lady's Bridge but when you're in love, you can attune to those sepia tinged albums of a past generation when love was a simpler courtship. Standing at the Sky's Edge is a harder album and it rocks, grinds and slithers its way through the 9 tracks over 50 plus minutes. Many of the tracks are hypnotic, concentrated refrains, punctuated with guitar solos which blow the ears off your head - full tilting, pedal soaked stompers which make you want to open all the windows, turn it up to 11 and shake up the neighbourhood. It feels like ages since a record rocks with its heart on its sleeve. It is different from the previous twang-laden albums but variety is the spice of life and sometimes you need something hot to make you sweat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews