Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very fresh
Excellent songwriter, excellent pianist. Excellent singer, which makes an excellent combination. Sounds likes early Maroon 5 but with better vocals
Published 9 months ago by D. BERNARD

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dispointing
What has bitten Peter Cincotti and Diana Krall? They have both radially moved away from what they do best.
This is not Cincotti playing fabulous piano crooning away as he does so well. His last cd was a depart from that but he kept to his roots with strong songs and solid piano. Like many I've been watching and waiting for his new opus, for four years! and this is...
Published 21 months ago by Johnyfish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dispointing, 21 Feb 2013
This review is from: Metropolis (Audio CD)
What has bitten Peter Cincotti and Diana Krall? They have both radially moved away from what they do best.
This is not Cincotti playing fabulous piano crooning away as he does so well. His last cd was a depart from that but he kept to his roots with strong songs and solid piano. Like many I've been watching and waiting for his new opus, for four years! and this is all he can do.
For me the songs are week vocals over produced. I felt relieved when i got to the end of the cd.
If you want to discover great Cincotti get his first Cd's you won't be disappointed. I will give it a few more spins but I feel it's going to get relegated to the "forget me" bin.
listen to the samples before buying, see if this is what your cup of tea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very fresh, 22 Feb 2014
By 
D. BERNARD "NannyB" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metropolis (Audio CD)
Excellent songwriter, excellent pianist. Excellent singer, which makes an excellent combination. Sounds likes early Maroon 5 but with better vocals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 26 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metropolis (Audio CD)
Good Cd. Arrived in good condition and met my expectation. Was exactly What I wanted. Good music good quality of the sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metropolis is not a commercial exercise at all., 17 Sep 2012
This review is from: Metropolis (Audio CD)
Metropolis is not a commercial exercise at all.
It's like a pop symphony, extremely sophisticated, and exceptionally conceived and executed.
It is not MOR and that's the reason why it cannot be EVERYBODY's cup of tea.
Cincotti is an accomplished all-around music genius, with many facets and each album shows different aspects of his talent.
He's not Bublé, Connick, jr or....Rod Stewart.
And, like all geniuses ( or genii, if you wish), he will never be understood by his American contemporary audience.
This is a reason why Peter Cincotti feels more like at home in Europe, where he spends most part of his time. In Europe tastes are more varied and complex and people are ready for experiments.
In US the album dind't make a huge impact in a long term, but it was on the top of Jazz chart for three or four weeks!
Metropolis has just been released in UK: we will see how it will perform there in terms of public and critic's reaction and in sales. Eventually, and I really do hope so, the album will be re-released in US like " HUGE HIT in Europe"...And the Americans will embrace it, finally and unconditionally... This has happened already many times in the past, for movies and albums.
It would have been so easy for Peter to go for the beaten path, pick up the usual hit man/producer Foster ( named by Rolling Stone magazine the "master of ... bombastic pop kitsch") and make another easy-listening jazz 'covers' album...
Instead, this time he chooses to do things the hard/unusual way.
Thank you, Peter.
The album is a real gem.
P.S. By the way, who said that he has stopped doing jazz? Jazz is in his DNA. He is only 29 year old, goodness me!
Simply he will make it again, when he will feel it and will intend to make it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metropolis (Audio CD)
I have been "with" Peter Cincotti ever since I read a review on his music at Bang&Olufsen Magazine. This last one is not my type. Only one music is great... Madeline, that one is great... The rest are just too off topic for the type of music I expect from Peter Cincotti. Lets hope with time I'm wrong, but first hands... sorry but down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not jazz.... but i like it, 3 July 2012
By 
G. Bowes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metropolis (MP3 Download)
John fields produced pop/rock...and this is not a bad thing.

For people wanting the Peter Cincotti of old you might not be pleased. A strong album with fast moving pop/rock beats and piano driven ballads. Might be a change of direction but i am open for more.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shame he's not known in the UK, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metropolis (Audio CD)
I saw Peter Cincotti live in London a few years ago & he's an excellent performer & this is another great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metropolis
Metropolis by Peter Cincotti (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews