Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last its arrived!
Finally DBZ gets a proper UK release. If you're a fan of the series then get this. The voices included on this are thankfully the FUNimation voices which we got on toonami and cartoon network for the ginyu,frieza,garlic jr and trunks sagas and are also used for most of the games. We can finally watch the whole series consistantly with these voices. You can watch the...
Published on 7 July 2012 by Captain Amazon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same voices, but not the music I remember
I don't know if I'm selecting something wrong in the audio menu, but the impression I got from other reviews when I bought this was that I'd be able to experience the show as I watched it years ago. However, while the American voices are thankfully the same the music doesn't seem to be. I remember the music vividly and have been reminded of Bruce Falconer's amazing work...
Published 12 months ago by WPH


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last its arrived!, 7 July 2012
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Finally DBZ gets a proper UK release. If you're a fan of the series then get this. The voices included on this are thankfully the FUNimation voices which we got on toonami and cartoon network for the ginyu,frieza,garlic jr and trunks sagas and are also used for most of the games. We can finally watch the whole series consistantly with these voices. You can watch the episodes 3 ways:

-English with the english soundtrack
-English with the japanese soundtrack
-Japanese
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap release of a massive anime., 3 Feb 2009
By 
This DVD set is Region 1,2 and 4 NTSC. Which means that to play it you will probably need a multi region DVD player. The box itself is aesthetic, and folds out nicely. There is also an A6 (small) booklet inside with character and episode summaries, screen shots and illustrations.

The episodes themselves are completely uncut. They feature a lot more of those silly extra scenes, the typical Dragonball Toriyama humour which shines through even now that the characters are all beefed up and power level crazy. They also show blood and less screen panneling to waste time because they don't cut out the violence. As for the animation, though lines still flicker on the edge of character's faces sometimes, the colours are much brighter and more enhanced than the original series' was.

The voice-overs have been completely redone. So all the voice actors who were in DBZ in the last season voiced the earlier seasons for this DVD set as well. Because of this, the dialogue often changes, which can be a bad thing if you loved a particular scene, but it means there's no more annoyance over a character's voice changing half way through the series. The best thing about this box set in my mind is that you can mix and match Japanese and English voices with Japanese and English music. So if you like the English voices but hate the English music, you can keep the English voices and listen to the Japanese music instead. That's a nice treat, and I hardly ever watch DBZ with English music- regardless of what language they're speaking.

If you own the series already, then it's worth getting this DVD set for the marathon feature, in which you can watch all the episodes on a disc without having to keep listening to the opening and closing titles. And lastly, the DVD comes with some nice trailers too. Just in case you get fed up of watching men in spandex screaming at the top of their lungs. (I know I don't).

Really, if you liked the original releases, then you will like this. It's cheaper, the quality is better, it's English and Japanese friendly and there's no amount of blood or pummeling cut out. A great DVD box set that all fans have been waiting for. ^-^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a consistent, well presented, all round excellent DBZ release!, 5 Mar 2007
After releasing the first two Seasons one DVd with Pioneer, FUNimation moved onto the rest of the series consistently. Then they went back to the first Series and released it again, under the very red Ultimate Uncut banner, and never even finished it!

This new DVD Season Boxes are the start of a consistent set, presenting DBZ in the Original US Broadcast Version Uncut, the Original Uncut Japanese and a new Uncut English version with the Original Japanese BackGround Music! This is a godsend for DBZ fans everywhere. It's consistent and purely Uncut (ignore the reviewer below, heavily edited as if) except for the next episode previews which FUNi weren't even given.

This is even better news for UK fans. Instead of having to spend loads importing US DVDs and facing evil postage costs and waits at times, this new budget release is the answer to all your problems. The epsiodes themselves are brilliant with almost no grain and far less blips and scratches than before. It's also Widescreen (which crops a bit but whatever) and in HD. This means bog-standard TVs will have some problems, but all UK DVD players, PS2s and Xbox consoles can play them, due to being Regions 1,2 and 4.

There are 39 episodes spead across 6 discs, all contained neatly in an orange brick (as referred to by Daizex) and the Discs are put on top of each other, which is bareable, but possibly annoying. The presentation on the Box and Menu is perfectly fine, the Extras are pretty good (For FUNimation) which covers the remastering process. There is also an insert, a little booklet with episode guides, character profiles and a bit messed up DBZ History timeline.

The Episodes are still brilliant, the ones you know and love in Uncut, with lovely looking footage (the new colours are ace) and the FUNimation voice actors instead of the Ocean Group (bleh). Plus the choice of three versions is great. So buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regions..., 8 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though the description of this product says region 1 only my copy arrived today and I was happily surprised to find that it was region 1, 2 and 4 compatible...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood dream, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
When i was growing up i would rush home after school to make sure i'd make it in time to watch Dragonball Z, every day without fail i'd make sure i was home to watch it. I always wanted it on video but was never able to find it, so seeing this and finding out they are slowly releasing all of DBZ on dvd pretty much made my childhood dream a reality. The ability of being able to watch DBZ any time i want? Absolutely fantastic!

The first season contains the Saiyan Saga from the very first episode to the final fight between Goku and Vegeta. It comes with 6 dvds in the case and contains all 39 episodes and some bonus stuff on the final dvd. I ordered and it arrived pretty quickly in safe packaging with no damage at all. If your like me and grew up on this then it is a deffinate must have and is totally brilliant. I'd strongly suggest buying this for the sake of nostalgia alone, if you grew up on this the chances are you'll love the characters and feel a deep emotional bond to them like alot of us DBZ fans so this is perfect to re-live those moments and watch them with other people who may have not seen it before or onto your children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same voices, but not the music I remember, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I don't know if I'm selecting something wrong in the audio menu, but the impression I got from other reviews when I bought this was that I'd be able to experience the show as I watched it years ago. However, while the American voices are thankfully the same the music doesn't seem to be. I remember the music vividly and have been reminded of Bruce Falconer's amazing work by watching clips on Youtube and it doesn't appear to be the same. I find the music is a vital element of the full DBZ experience and for me the good music is missing. Maybe I'm missing something :/

Apart from that though you can't really fault this set, the voices, characters and scenes are just as I remember which is wonderful, shame about the music though.

Delivered on time and in good condition.

3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Rocking for You, Dragon!, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
When I purchased this, I honestly wasn't expecting it to be as fantastic as it is.

I am a big DragonBall fan, owning the entirety of the manga and the films and a vast range of figures and other miscellaneous items. I had heard from a lot of people and forums that these box sets weren't worth getting as they supposedly are poor quality, but in my opinion these box sets are fantastic. the image quality in my opinion is amazing and the sound quality is great.

The only problem I have with this boxset is that there is no "Rock the Dragon" theme, and when watching it in English with Japanese sound and music, it plays the U.S. intro instead of "Cha-La Head-Cha-La", but plays the Japanese outro theme and other sounds.

Overall I think this is a fantastic addition for any Dragonball fan to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greatest story ever told since the start of time!, 11 Sep 2012
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this as a kid and running home everyday at 6 o clock to see Goku and pals battle super powered bad guys and it back then it was the best thing ever.... Back then....

Now, years later, NOTHING HAS CHANGED and DragonBall Z is STILL AMAZING!!!!!
This boxset is great and will leave you craving for more DragonBall when the final episode finishes.
DRAGONBALL Z RULES!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack / Type of DVD, 4 July 2012
By 
Mr. Mt Tulip "Dark-tulip1" (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon Ball Z Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Could anyone confirm to me, are these DVDS the english episodes which used to be shown in the UK on Cartoon Network / Toonami? and have the soundtrack from that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally it arrived!, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got the set today, and i am extremely happy with it, it came in perfect condition. I ordered it from supermartUSA on the 26th, and it got here on the 11th, so it did take a little while, but thats no matter. So now about the box:

The box itself is very nice but there are a few flaws, one of which it the way the discs are stacked on top of each other. This makes them very hard to get out and sooner or later im probably going to brake them, so i recommend backing them up just to be safe. Also if you get all of the seasons and put them all next to each other the spine is meant to make an image, but you can only see the spine image if you take the box out of the cover box. also all of the discs have the same image design, now enough of the flaws, onto the good points, the box is very nice, it feels glossy and smooth, it even comes with a book! the book has hero profiles, enemy profiles, episode summaries, and the history of dragon ball z. This is a great set and well worth the money.

Now onto the video. Now you get a lot of people who constantly complain about the cropped aspect ratio and the noise reduction process which occasionally makes it loose some lines of detail, but its really not that bad, it looks perfect, so far i haven't seen any line loss, and you only miss a little bit of footage of the top and the bottom, most of the time it really doesn't matter.

The only alternative to this is the Dragon boxes, but they are rare to find now and incredibly expensive. Just stick to these ones, there cheap, the video and the box looks great, and it even has 3 audio choices! You can pick English with Japanese music, English with English music, or fully Japanese. You don't get that with the dragon boxes!

To summarize: THIS IS DAMN GOOD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Ball Z Season 1 [DVD]
Dragon Ball Z Season 1 [DVD] by Daisuke Nishio (DVD - 2012)
£19.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews