Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2012
This is a hugely capable gaming board that's not even classed as one!

Features
- mSATA Onboard: You can use a small ssd for either drive caching or as a boot drive itself. As a cache drive I've found it to be really helpful as I've got 4 mechanical drives aside from my ssds. Its speeded up a lot of the indexing tasks quite noticeably.
-VirtuMPV:(Ivy Chips) Think V sync on steroids that actually works without performance loss and that eliminating tearing completely.
-UD: This stands for Ultra Durable and It shows in it's construction. Very well built overall. The PCB material is much better quality than other boards as well as all the capacitors being Japanese made. It has power protection and all the features you'd expect for a more expensive board.
-On board power and reset switches: Very handy if you're doing bench work.
-Dual BIOS!: This is one of my favourite features you can switch between two lots of different bios settings by flipping an onboard switch absolutely ideal when messing around with overlocking.
-3D BIOS: Whilst advanced users may not care much about this people who are learning are sure to find it helpful. The bios UI itself is presented graphicly which is a nice touch.
-A true GEN3 board for Ivy bridge chips: It utilises PCI-e 3.0 at higher speeds. It's worth noting that whilst still compatible with Sandy Bridge processors that bottom PCI port will not be available to use as well as VirtuMPV software as they're reliant on an Ivy Bridge CPU.
-x2 6 Gbit/s SATA: If you're using a top of the line SSD like a vertex 4 or anything with the Everest 2 controller you see will blazing fast speeds it's quite staggering.
-SLI and Crossfire support

The board overall is just outstanding for its price and performs amazingly over clocking with easy. At this time this is probably the best value board for gamers on the market as the features are what you would expect from something that would cost about £100 more. As a long time ASUS user I actually think this board is much better than anything they're currently offering. This is well worth buying.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
Dual Lan (yes they actually have it unlike the others!!!)
PCI Express 3.0
Glass Fabric PCB with 2X COPPER
Sound Blaster Audio 192 kbps!!!
Intel Rapid Response
Overclocking BEAST!!!

Simply, this is the best board on the market right now. The price is right also. The overclocking features are great. The bios is very user friendly and easy to navigate. It offers load line calibration on virtually every component on the board. On board power, reset and bios reset buttons make bench testing and overclocking even easier. No boot loops or any other nonsense, it just works or tells you to try again ; ).

Lots of features, very well designed, and reasonable priced.

I recommend this board to anyone who is considering IVB and or Z77.
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
I tend to upgrade my system every 5 or 6 years. I usually buy Gigabyte boards because of reliability-they never let me down. I've only recently bought this one so future reliability of this one is unknown. This one has great features, a simple bios management and all the features I need. Ok, it's not the cheapest on the market and some features like mSATA I may never use. It's nice to know that future expansion capabilities are there however.
It was very easy to install and allowed easy access to all the necessary connectors and slots. CPU, RAM, graphics card, HD SATA all slotted in easily. One exception being the connector pins for front panel stuff, power, reset etc. With my eyesight it can be difficult. I think most MB's I've come across are the same though.
Everything booted up correctly. As mentioned I liked the 3D BIOS feature, but the installation disk provided was OK but not brilliant
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Here are some aditional specs for the Video editing & Gaming types.

SATA 2: 4x
SATA 3: 5x
Max RAM: 32GB DDR3 (1066, 1333, 1600)
RAM Voltage: 1.5v
CPU Type Socket 1155: Core i3, Core i5, Core i7
USB 2.0: 2x
USB 3.0: 3x
Internal Graphics card: Intel HD Graphics OpenGL v3.2 Max Shared RAM 1696MB

For ultimate Gaming
Recommended CPU Intel i5: 3570K Ivy Bridge LGA1155 Quad 3.4GHz
Recommended CPU Intel i7: 3770 Ivy Bridge LGA1155 Quad 3.4GHz
Recomended RAM: 2x Corsair CMZ16GX3M2A1600C10 Vengenace 16GB 1600MHz 1.5v DDR3 Memory Two Module Kit
Recomend to use a 250 - 500GB SSD as primary HD
Recomended Graphics card: Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3GB DDR5 PCIe 3.0
Recomended Sound Card: Sound Blaster ZxR
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Put this motherboard in my recently built gaming computer. Easy to install and the instructions are clear and concise.The bios once set boot from CD and the CD inserted it led you through all the details. I had never installed a motherboard before but this was so easy, i was not carrying out any overclocking the CPU or changing the bios settings, just a basic install. Great Motherboard with lots of features good value for money. Get one its great!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
The motherboard is well built and apart from the fact my evga graphics card wont fit into to last pci slot it does fit into the normal pci slot and overall seems to be one of the fastest, most stable and easy to configure motherboards ive had the pleasure of working with.

will defiantly be coming back to the gigabyte brand next time i build a computer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Great motherboard, the other reviews say it all.
I'm using this with an I5 3570K and it's stable even when overclocking it to 4.58GHz.

There are a few things to note:
The connector for the front panel lights and switches is at the bottom of the board, so make sure your case wiring is long enough.

There are no IDE ports, so if you are going to install XP you will need a USB floppy drive to install the Z77 and SATA drivers.

Similarly, if you are reusing a disk drive with an installed operating system (XP), be sure to install the Z77 and SATA drivers before removing it from the donor computer, otherwise you are going to get a BSOD error.

No dedicated keyboard and mouse ports - USB only.

The PCH runs a bit hot (about 40C) so you will need a lot of case cooling, but the board does support 4 system fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Two LAN adaptors so you can use another PC on the same LAN line (Bridge mode)
Up to 10 USB3 + 6 USB2, I have 8 USB3 running.
Memory slots are far enough away from the CPU socket to use tall memory with a 3rd party CPU cooler.
Overclocking is a cinch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
awesome board - more features than most will ever need

works well with evga graphics cards and crucial or gskill memory
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
What can I tell Bet it then get i5-3570K and in 3 simple moves U got a Rig whit 4.7 Stabile Solid build For Win Or Hackintosh.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)