Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really wanted to give 5 stars but ...
Firstly, let me make it perfectly clear that this latest novel from Tamara Allen stands out head & shoulders above most of the sub-standard piffle that is released in the genre of so-called historical m/m romance. The quality of the writing is excellent and the author knows how to pull the reader into the slow-burning romance. I can't swear that it's historically...
Published on 4 April 2011 by Happy Ending Seeker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story but.....
The novel started little bad for me , without wanting to give away any spoilers , Jonah is a bit immature , a sore loser and seriously grumpy . Honey , that is not sexy or endearing. After a while it started to grate a bit and l was shouting,,,Get over it already , you annoying man........ Okay, it gets better as the book picks up pace creating a wonderful , unique and...
Published on 1 May 2012 by J. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really wanted to give 5 stars but ..., 4 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Gold (Paperback)
Firstly, let me make it perfectly clear that this latest novel from Tamara Allen stands out head & shoulders above most of the sub-standard piffle that is released in the genre of so-called historical m/m romance. The quality of the writing is excellent and the author knows how to pull the reader into the slow-burning romance. I can't swear that it's historically accurate, but the plot, characters & dialogue feel to perfectly fit the period of late 19th century. She also knows how to write sexually-charged exchanges without the need for explicit (and ultimately boring)descriptions of endless sex. You care about the 2 main leads Jonah & Reid, but again as with her other work she includes other full 3-dimensional characters (no matter how small their part in the story)which just makes it so much better.
My only reservation to giving this full 5 star rating is the "action sequence" near the end of the novel which jarred with me because I didn't find it very believable. I don't think this is a major plot spoiler for you ... but I struggled to believe that a "bookish" gentlemen who appeared to take no physical exercise apart from the occasional stroll to the office could suddenly race through New York in the worst blizzard in history ... swim in the freezing waters of the Hudson (?) River ... not once but twice... then stroll back thru the snow drifts soaking wet and not catch so much as a sniffle (let alone frostbite or hyperthermia). Also the unexpected arrival on the scene of a certain female character in said blizzard seemed a weak and poorly explained plot hook.
Those 2 negative comments aside, I still recommend this book to you and also strongly urge you to read her other historical m/m romance novels "Downtime" and "Whistling in the Dark" which I give 5 stars to without any hestitation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gold with some fool's gold, 27 Jan. 2013
By 
Furio (Genova - Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Only Gold (Kindle Edition)
There can be no doubt about Ms Allen's being a gifted author: her shorter "If It Ain't Love" is stuck in my memory with its rich setting and fine writing.

A rich setting and a fine writing are what I have found in here as well.
Miles away are those unprofessional penpushers that clutter the M/M romance subgenre with outrageously expensive, one-size-fits-all booklets worth much less than the time it takes to forget them.
Ms Allen's language is deceivingly simple but it is fluid, precise, concise and she proves it here as well: the first half of the book is hardly compelling, being set in the banking world and with the main characters still not involved. And yet, while the pace is sedate, it never drags and, while the life descripted is an everyday sort, the words flow sedately but unerringly one after the other.

Honesty forces me to point out the random mistake that must have escaped proofreading: there are just a handful of them and I am sorry I did not note them so as to be able to report them in a note to this review.
I must also admit that the fights -there are some, it is not all about banks after all- are not as neat in writing as the rest of the book. The final confrontation on the floe, while breathtaking, sports several unclear sentences and could use a revision. Said revision could also take care of the fact that freezing water is bound to incapacitate a healthy man in less than a minute so that all Jonah's actions are quite hard to believe.
Other points of the plot could use some fine tuning as well, especially how the police deals with bank robberies.

Jonah is the book's main problem, there is no way around it.

I think Ms Allen meant to portray a child of order and habitude, someone who uses routine to landscape the world around him into something less threatening. Jonah needs order to shield himself from the hostile outside world but by doing that he renounces his life which is just as well as he feels he has to shield himself from his own frightening desires as well. There is nothing wrong in this characterization but Jonah really borders on the neurotic -which is always a problem in the lead of a romance- and his reactions to Reid are extremely childish, wholly unexpected in a manager.
In a romance the leads are supposed to have sparkling exchanges, to be at odds with each other to add to the interest, but here Reid seems always in control and Jonah always petulant and unreasonable.

This leads to the second problem: why is Reid attracted to Jonah in the first place? A pretty face is surely not enough to make up for his behaviour.

So the book ends by being divided in two parts: in the first Jonah is hostile, apparently not "interested" and Reid is very charming and very patient (and the board of the bank never thinking about concocting some sort of excuse for Jonah? Never afraid of him resigning?); in the second they are involved and Jonah no longer unreasonable.
Both parts are good in themselves but the required transition between the two is missing and this undermines the credibility of the plot as a whole.

I think a revision could improve an already good book immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story but....., 1 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Gold (Kindle Edition)
The novel started little bad for me , without wanting to give away any spoilers , Jonah is a bit immature , a sore loser and seriously grumpy . Honey , that is not sexy or endearing. After a while it started to grate a bit and l was shouting,,,Get over it already , you annoying man........ Okay, it gets better as the book picks up pace creating a wonderful , unique and great read.

Then , back to square one , the implausible robbery , that is a list of comedy errors , spoils the book for me . Which is a shame as l thought the realistic way that the love between both men is potrayed perfectly reflected the attitudes of the time.

Did l love it , No, But it was a breath of fresh air , with the only fault l could find being a grumpy Johan and a confused ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Time Travel Romance, 30 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Gold (Paperback)
This was a free download for me.

I found the romance story quite enchanting, all the characters, not just the main ones were strong and interesting. For me the story lost something when it embarked into the Ripper story. I would have preferred weaving the story around the wonderful characters.

On the whole a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jacks, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Gold (Kindle Edition)
This is a wonderful read. A book I could not put down. A lightness of touch by a writer who has won me over previously in other works. I it were to be made into film, who would play Jonah? Reid?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful book, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Gold (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of Tamara Allen's books and they all are fantastic. I have thoroughly enjoyed The Only Gold too. There are not many M/M books set in that time period, so it was good to see how Jonah and Reid overcome the difficulties to hope for a future together. It is a pleasure reading Tamara Allen's books and I can't wait for her next book to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars favorite book, 10 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Only Gold (Kindle Edition)
Loved it. One I read again and again. This is my favourite by this author but all her books are good. You will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginitive historical novel, 16 May 2013
By 
Mr Duttz (Ormskirk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Gold (Kindle Edition)
This was a period in US history I knew little about but the book has inspired me to learn more about the great storm, banking systems of the time, the way people dressed, social customs and life's challenges for certain sections of the community.
The storyline is fascinating and well put over; the many peripheral characters being developed better than might be expected. It was so good I decided to buy the paperback as well as the kindle edition. I think I will reread this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Gold (Kindle Edition)
Nice characters, good plot and thoroughly enjoyable book. Heart warming and engaging, to the point of no stopping until the book is finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story, 31 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Only Gold (Kindle Edition)
I truly enjoyed reading this. The characters are well developed and likeable. First you get a slowly building romance and in the second half of the book a bit of adventure and excitement.
I loved New York of days past and the cold of the snow storm. Very nicely written.
I am definitely buying other books by Allen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Only Gold
The Only Gold by Tamara Allen
£2.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews