Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not take things too seriously
The five stars are for entertainment value for this is an amazingly crafted and fast moving cop show with excellent production values. If you find the Shield riveting then the two seasons of Braquo will definitely appeal to you. That said The Shield always retains some semblance of reality even when the lives of Vic and his strike team start to unravel. Season one of...
Published on 1 July 2012 by trottman

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles annoying
This I suppose is the problem with buying foreign language DVDs/Blu-Rays of TV series from Amazon UK.
Buying from Amazon France there's a good chance that you get a menu-based option of no subtitles or French subtitles. Buying from Amazon UK you get presumably what was shown on UK television - French sound and compulsary English titles (again brighter than I'm used...
Published 12 months ago by M. N. Walsh


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not take things too seriously, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The five stars are for entertainment value for this is an amazingly crafted and fast moving cop show with excellent production values. If you find the Shield riveting then the two seasons of Braquo will definitely appeal to you. That said The Shield always retains some semblance of reality even when the lives of Vic and his strike team start to unravel. Season one of Braquo does just about keep within the reality guideline but such is not the case with season two which, despite being edge of the seat stuff, has a complex multitude of plot lines, a massive body count and such a large cast of characters that it is at times difficult to keep track. Suspend reality and enjoy the two seasons as well made thrillers. Morse is dull when compared to Braquo but his stately promenades are certainly nearer the truth.

Trottman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J'aime beaucoup, 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you, like me are fed up with the dross that is served up as entertainment on TV these day - Give this a try. Read the blurb if you want to know what its about but if you've been a fan of The Wire, The Shield etc but with that Gallic Film Noir twist and you like your thrillers fast paced and exciting just buy it and you won't be disappointed. But be warned if you idea of a good police drama is 'Heartbeat' then this isn't the series for you. In this the good guys are bad and the bad guys are really really bad and as for the body count? it's enormous But at the end of every episode we're saying shall we watch just one or maybe two more before we go to bed.
Really hoping that Series 3 is in the pipeline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 23 July 2013
This review is from: Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing series. Don't think you could find a better programme anywhere. Knocks the socks of anything from the States and is comparable with the best of British TV. This is a gutsy, violent police drama where sometimes it is difficult to tell the police from the criminal. The plot\storyline is well thought out and thoroughly exciting. I could not wait to see the next episode and by the end of the series I was dying for more. Can't wait for series 3. If you like Spiral I am sure you will love this. If only there was more of this quality programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make sure you have something to grip hold of!, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Braquo definitely takes the Euro-noir to a new level. Complex plots, universally flawed characters, tragic inevitability - it's all there but be prepared for a level of brutality that goes beyond Spiral. People brought in for questioning are routinely knocked around the room. People die in their dozens at chain gun massacres. This is NOT Sweden! It is pure French. Everyone eats all the time. Cars are glorified (in an understated French sort of way. The French education system has even left its mark on the society's outsiders - two policemen have an argument about the meaning of life which is trumped by quoting Pirandello. Thinking (wo)man's Reservoir Dogs or post-apocalyptic Wild Bunch? I just loved it and can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French Noir Is Better Than Nordic, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great acting. Extraordinary character development. Writing and story line make you keep wanting to go on to the next episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a show that must be watched, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a superb series and excellently film and the characters although police are more like anti heroes with there suspicious dealings to get there suspects at all costs and even breaking there own laws living by there own code. An excellent if not mostly well known cast. well scripted and well acted and very gritty and dark, the way the french can only do. If you dont mind violence and subtitles then buy this. It will show you that this is how cop shows should be made. roll on season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive crime series, 6 April 2014
By 
Mr R Rae (Sheffield, South Yorkshire Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Our Adult French Class teacher suggested we got the series if we wanted to hear French as she is spoken, including some of the riper language in modern use.
We watched the first disc from beginning to end, glued to the screen. It's a bit like Dirty Harry meets the Eagle Has Landed. A bunch of deeply flawed cops, almost out of control, yet you end up rooting for them as their best efforts to extract themselves from the "merde" leave them deeper in it.
Now we're working up to watching it again, without the sub-titles - which don't reflect some of the earthier phrases quite as accurately as they might!
Incroyable - C'est a mourir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TRES VIOLENT, 23 Mar 2014
By 
John Duerden (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is great fun. It is, however, extremely violent and bloody with lots of graphic scenes depicting torture and worse. And whoever put together the asinine subtitles should seek alternative employment. But once we've developed a liking for the series' four very flawed protagonists (and we will) and forgiven some of the more unlikely storylines (ditto) it all becomes unputdownable. Can't wait for the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Braquo - makes even the French Connection fuzz look like rookies!, 14 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD]wow! this series is perhaps the best cop show to ever come out of France and that's saying something. I thought that 'Spiral' was pretty hardcore - especially series 3 - but this beats that hands down. Makes 'Wallander' look like a cosy 'Inspector Morse' type cops show and even gives "The Killing' (original Nordic version, forget the cheap US cashin) a run for its money.
"Braquo" is not for the faint-hearted,: police brutalty and corruption is highly visceral and no-holds barred. And even though you hate these cops at first, you do eventually realise why they work the way they do. Answer: Noone else will or would do their job...
So this is a highly recommended show. Buying series 1 and series 2 in this box set works out cheaper. Trust me, book a week in and watch both series back-to-back. You won't regret it but your high blood-pressure and stress levels might :-)
Roll on series 3....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Similar to the Sweeney but so much better subtitles help you to concentrate on a first class programme.watching series 3 on fox now . Best programme on box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Braquo Season 1 & 2 [Blu-ray]
Braquo Season 1 & 2 [Blu-ray] by Frédéric Schoendoerffer (Blu-ray - 2012)
£28.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews