Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars59
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£13.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 24 July 2012
Firstly, this is fiction. French policing is not really like this. However an adviser on the original story was actually a policeman at the centre of a scandal on which the programme is based.

Yes, there are plot holes but you get that in every programme, even the best ones that last along time. CSI, The Shield and The Wire were not perfect in themselves.

However this programme out shines a lot of other crime series. Even my wife, who is not a great lover of the genre, got hooked as I watched this.

The characters are appealing in there own right and the major protaganists are all develooped as the series goes on. It ends on a cliff hanger each week and stories are woven into the plot and later developed. This is a programme that may require a suspension of belief on occasion but what programme or film doesn't?

However this is head and shoulders above most of the things that we see on British TV. AS I said to a French colleague, who also watches the programme, all criminals in France appear to be immigrants, politicians, industrialists or the police themselves. It never seems to be ordinary people :-)
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 14 November 2013
I, Melachi ibn Amillar, being of unsound mind and body, did watch the second series of this very violent French detective drama, on bluray discs, and I am not sure my mind was improved by the watching. Large sections of this series could be taken directly from a horror film, particularly the many torture sequences. The plot revolves around numerous criminal gangs and police factions seeking gold and weaponry in Paris, is in parts ludicrous, and at all times extremely difficult to follow. This is not aided by most of the characters being similarly dark, greasy, unshaven, and wearing black leather jackets. And that is just the women. Buried in here somewhere is quite a good story about a colonel seeking revenge on those who betrayed his soldiers in Angola. Any sympathy for him is countered by the tendency of his men to shoot any civilian bystander in the way. Compared to Spirals, the other recent French detective drama, the characters are here far less engaging, and the ambience is much more brutal, though the writing is better. Rather an ordeal than a pleasure then, though appealing to those who like this sort of thing, or wish to brush up on their French obscenities.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 13 July 2012
I loved series one but this one stretches credibility a bit too far. The opening shoot out in a peaceful suburban street ratchets up the gore factor - plenty of blood shooting out of bodies - but does away with a logical and coherent plot. However, the Eddy Caplan character is cool and the actors play their parts with panache. A third series has been set up, by a preposterous plot device, but I will still watch it even if I have some reservations.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 26 September 2012
What a wonderful follow-up to the first season! You just can't stop watching, it's that good. Not for the faint-of-heart, though! For everyone else: please do yourself a favour and buy this series!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 20 June 2012
Really enjoying series 2 of Braquo after reading some mixed reviews.

Series 1 ended on a cliff hanger and this series follows right where we left the team and just gets better. That means more tension, more violence and more trouble for Caplan. This series features strong acting from all the leads and an exciting ( if somewhat unlikely) storyline which this time benefits from script by the writer of A Prophet and Mesrine.

French drama, both TV and film is just getting stronger and making UK stuff look Like a poor copy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 25 February 2013
After having enjoyed Series 1, I expected more of this series. Unfortunately, the central idea that made the first series so enjoyable appears to have run its course. The acting and direction are still to the same high standard but credibility has gone out the fenetre and the gap between cops and crooks has vanished completely. That last point is not necessarily a killer, but when the cops are as bad as this it is hard to empathize with any predicaments they encounter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on 26 June 2012
Season 1 was fantastique, so I couldn't wait for Season 2. What a shame to report that it does not match up.

The problem isn't the actors, it's the plot. It's a mess, clichéd and ridden with so many holes I could write for a solid day on them. To reveal them would reveal the plot, so I won't, other than to say that the least of the problems is 'who is looking after Caplin's dog these days!'

Whereas in Season 1 we were given quite a broad scope of the lives of our bunch of sultry heroes, in this season we don't get half as much and so instead have more violence. Characters come and go, bang bang bang, and with some of them go any hopes for the plot sticking to credible and believable gangster and police characters for this season and any others to come. Some established characters go, bang bang bang, with the build up, execution and coverage of both the pre and post events far too sudden. Some of these characters were so key to Season 1 and 2 that there sudden exits made me want to hit pause so that I could give them the due moment of silence and contemplation that they, as characters and actors, deserved.

As for the foundations that have been laid for Season 3, it looks 1970s Bond-villain-esque ridiculous. I won't be partaking. Non!
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 18 July 2012
Fabulous !!! It doesn't need anymore words than that, Series 1 was superb, on the edge of your seat stuff and this series is just as brilliant, the only problem is that I watched it all in one sitting and now have to wait for Series 3 !! Such a shame we don't produce programmes as good and gritty as this over here.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Series 1 explored the characters to show their individual personalities, characteristics, and the levels to which they would descend, not always on the side of the law.
This, the second series, demands a change of mind-set in the viewer. It shows how they respond to specific situations that are bound by a common thread.
They become more law-breakers than law-keepers. The division between good and bad is difficult to define and at times the introduction of more characters requires a high level of concentration on the tentacle of plot lines.
As individuals get their due rewards, bullet or bomb, we are honed down to a point where there is more clarity in the overall plot.
The acting is superb, even from those characters who invite your hatred, such characterisation is one of the disappearing arts of the acting profession. And so, it is pleasing to see that the French film maker retains grit above glamour.
Each episode forms an invitation to compulsive viewing and, like a book you cannot put it down until you know what happens next.
It is a series that is best understood by those who appreciate, or understand, the technicalities of film making.
Not for the feint hearted or the worshipper of Hollywood heros'.
No doubt series 3 will take us in to another, and yet again different, arena of Paris police conflict.
Bring it on Eddy, bring it on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 September 2012
tgreat2nd series of fast moving "le flic"crime busters.only complaint being caused a very late night trying to watch the full be highly recommended at a very good price too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Braquo - Series 1 [DVD]
Braquo - Series 1 [DVD] by Jean-Hugues Anglade (DVD - 2012)

Braquo Series 3 [DVD]
Braquo Series 3 [DVD] by Jean-Hugues Anglade (DVD - 2014)

Braquo Trilogy [DVD]
Braquo Trilogy [DVD] by Jean-Hugues Anglade (DVD - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.