Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant French TV
Firstly, this is fiction. French policing is not really like this. However an adviser on the original story was actually a policeman at the centre of a scandal on which the programme is based.

Yes, there are plot holes but you get that in every programme, even the best ones that last along time. CSI, The Shield and The Wire were not perfect in themselves...
Published on 24 July 2012 by J. E. Parry

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But Magic Bracelets?
I, Melachi ibn Amillar, being of unsound mind and body, did watch the second series of this very violent French detective drama, on bluray discs, and I am not sure my mind was improved by the watching. Large sections of this series could be taken directly from a horror film, particularly the many torture sequences. The plot revolves around numerous criminal gangs and...
Published 18 months ago by Melachi ibn Amillar


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Braquo - a cop tale with a difference., 4 Feb. 2015
By 
Toby T (North Yorkshire, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Wow! Fast moving gritty stuff,not for the faint-hearted. Gets a bit complicated at times as to who is doing what to whom and why, and there is something relentless about it. Have recommended it to friends but if you're not used to watching foreign films with english subtitles,you may find it takes a while to adjust. It helps if you have a basic grasp of french,but not essential. According to critics the third season is better. But you need to watch the first! The french do so much,much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who wrote this stuff?, 25 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 1 was great and although a bit improbable was just about believable. Not as good as the Shield but in the same vein. Series 2 however quickly becomes ridiculous, introducing numerous cliched baddies (Armenian mobsters, Jewish mobsters, German mobsters, renegade mercenary super-soldiers etc), a huge heist of stolen gold and even a sci-fi super-weapon whose bullets magically miss anyone wearing a special bracelet.....where the hell did all this come from?? More like something based on a comic book. Shame as series 1 was really promising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as series 1, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
As good as series 1. Very good Garlic film. The French have a slightly different slant to the Scandinavians. New series of Spiral is on just now. May buy that too when it is available (my computer has "second guessed" me and changed Gallic to Garlic! isn't that cute?
...oh!) Very good fast service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Braquo series 2, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
French violence,bad language, drugs and grunge, and that is just the police officers.
the villains are almost as bad.
But this is a great series (1&2) and 3 just released on tv.
Wouldn't miss a moment of it.
Super !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic French thriller, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Acting is excellent and the filming really captures the mood of the French underworld. I hope that there is a third series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changing the mind-set, 24 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 1 explored the characters to show their individual personalities, characteristics, and the levels to which they would descend, not always on the side of the law.
This, the second series, demands a change of mind-set in the viewer. It shows how they respond to specific situations that are bound by a common thread.
They become more law-breakers than law-keepers. The division between good and bad is difficult to define and at times the introduction of more characters requires a high level of concentration on the tentacle of plot lines.
As individuals get their due rewards, bullet or bomb, we are honed down to a point where there is more clarity in the overall plot.
The acting is superb, even from those characters who invite your hatred, such characterisation is one of the disappearing arts of the acting profession. And so, it is pleasing to see that the French film maker retains grit above glamour.
Each episode forms an invitation to compulsive viewing and, like a book you cannot put it down until you know what happens next.
It is a series that is best understood by those who appreciate, or understand, the technicalities of film making.
Not for the feint hearted or the worshipper of Hollywood heros'.
No doubt series 3 will take us in to another, and yet again different, arena of Paris police conflict.
Bring it on Eddy, bring it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as series 1, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is ok but it was a while since we watched series 1 so it was a bit hard to pick the story back up again as there is no 'previously on....' bit at the beginning. Still better than most stuff on tv but not as gripping as the first series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and gritty, 21 May 2013
By 
M. Reid - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought s1 in my search to follow on from Spiral/Engrenages, and to begin with i wasn't sure i liked it. It's so violent, so corrupt and i didn't immediately get gripped. Suffice to say by the end of s1 i was completely won over, and couldn't wait for s2! I now have to wait for s3, which hasn't even been filmed yet:(

Jean-Hugues Englade, as the lead character, is fantastic - a very complicated character as a cop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Braque 2, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
streches the boundries on violance in the police.a realy thrilling series !!
you need to watch series 1 first ,as this follows on rather than a new theme,
compulsive watching,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very dark, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great series. We enjoyed this black and twisted tale. The last episode was a heart stopped. Can't wait for the second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Braquo - Series 2 [DVD]
Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] by Eric Valette (DVD - 2012)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews