Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant French TV
Firstly, this is fiction. French policing is not really like this. However an adviser on the original story was actually a policeman at the centre of a scandal on which the programme is based.

Yes, there are plot holes but you get that in every programme, even the best ones that last along time. CSI, The Shield and The Wire were not perfect in themselves...
Published on 24 July 2012 by J. E. Parry

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A hastily written mess
Season 1 was fantastique, so I couldn't wait for Season 2. What a shame to report that it does not match up.

The problem isn't the actors, it's the plot. It's a mess, clichéd and ridden with so many holes I could write for a solid day on them. To reveal them would reveal the plot, so I won't, other than to say that the least of the problems is 'who is...
Published on 26 Jun. 2012 by Polly on film


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant French TV, 24 July 2012
By 
J. E. Parry "Jeff Parry" (Pontypool, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, this is fiction. French policing is not really like this. However an adviser on the original story was actually a policeman at the centre of a scandal on which the programme is based.

Yes, there are plot holes but you get that in every programme, even the best ones that last along time. CSI, The Shield and The Wire were not perfect in themselves.

However this programme out shines a lot of other crime series. Even my wife, who is not a great lover of the genre, got hooked as I watched this.

The characters are appealing in there own right and the major protaganists are all develooped as the series goes on. It ends on a cliff hanger each week and stories are woven into the plot and later developed. This is a programme that may require a suspension of belief on occasion but what programme or film doesn't?

However this is head and shoulders above most of the things that we see on British TV. AS I said to a French colleague, who also watches the programme, all criminals in France appear to be immigrants, politicians, industrialists or the police themselves. It never seems to be ordinary people :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A hastily written mess, 26 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 1 was fantastique, so I couldn't wait for Season 2. What a shame to report that it does not match up.

The problem isn't the actors, it's the plot. It's a mess, clichéd and ridden with so many holes I could write for a solid day on them. To reveal them would reveal the plot, so I won't, other than to say that the least of the problems is 'who is looking after Caplin's dog these days!'

Whereas in Season 1 we were given quite a broad scope of the lives of our bunch of sultry heroes, in this season we don't get half as much and so instead have more violence. Characters come and go, bang bang bang, and with some of them go any hopes for the plot sticking to credible and believable gangster and police characters for this season and any others to come. Some established characters go, bang bang bang, with the build up, execution and coverage of both the pre and post events far too sudden. Some of these characters were so key to Season 1 and 2 that there sudden exits made me want to hit pause so that I could give them the due moment of silence and contemplation that they, as characters and actors, deserved.

As for the foundations that have been laid for Season 3, it looks 1970s Bond-villain-esque ridiculous. I won't be partaking. Non!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly superb!, 26 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a wonderful follow-up to the first season! You just can't stop watching, it's that good. Not for the faint-of-heart, though! For everyone else: please do yourself a favour and buy this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over the top action, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved series one but this one stretches credibility a bit too far. The opening shoot out in a peaceful suburban street ratchets up the gore factor - plenty of blood shooting out of bodies - but does away with a logical and coherent plot. However, the Eddy Caplan character is cool and the actors play their parts with panache. A third series has been set up, by a preposterous plot device, but I will still watch it even if I have some reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But Magic Bracelets?, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I, Melachi ibn Amillar, being of unsound mind and body, did watch the second series of this very violent French detective drama, on bluray discs, and I am not sure my mind was improved by the watching. Large sections of this series could be taken directly from a horror film, particularly the many torture sequences. The plot revolves around numerous criminal gangs and police factions seeking gold and weaponry in Paris, is in parts ludicrous, and at all times extremely difficult to follow. This is not aided by most of the characters being similarly dark, greasy, unshaven, and wearing black leather jackets. And that is just the women. Buried in here somewhere is quite a good story about a colonel seeking revenge on those who betrayed his soldiers in Angola. Any sympathy for him is countered by the tendency of his men to shoot any civilian bystander in the way. Compared to Spirals, the other recent French detective drama, the characters are here far less engaging, and the ambience is much more brutal, though the writing is better. Rather an ordeal than a pleasure then, though appealing to those who like this sort of thing, or wish to brush up on their French obscenities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic French drama, 20 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoying series 2 of Braquo after reading some mixed reviews.

Series 1 ended on a cliff hanger and this series follows right where we left the team and just gets better. That means more tension, more violence and more trouble for Caplan. This series features strong acting from all the leads and an exciting ( if somewhat unlikely) storyline which this time benefits from script by the writer of A Prophet and Mesrine.

French drama, both TV and film is just getting stronger and making UK stuff look Like a poor copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh oh!, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After having enjoyed Series 1, I expected more of this series. Unfortunately, the central idea that made the first series so enjoyable appears to have run its course. The acting and direction are still to the same high standard but credibility has gone out the fenetre and the gap between cops and crooks has vanished completely. That last point is not necessarily a killer, but when the cops are as bad as this it is hard to empathize with any predicaments they encounter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Braquo Series 2, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Fabulous !!! It doesn't need anymore words than that, Series 1 was superb, on the edge of your seat stuff and this series is just as brilliant, the only problem is that I watched it all in one sitting and now have to wait for Series 3 !! Such a shame we don't produce programmes as good and gritty as this over here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Braquo, 17 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Good service and will have no hesitation in using this service again. this is a great programme to be intersested in but you must watch it from the first serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars braquo -series2 (DVD), 15 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
tgreat2nd series of fast moving "le flic"crime busters.only complaint being caused a very late night trying to watch the full series.to be highly recommended at a very good price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Braquo - Series 2 [DVD]
Braquo - Series 2 [DVD] by Eric Valette (DVD - 2012)
£8.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews