Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gut wrenching End!
My partner and I were deeply shocked by the end of this movie. We both felt it was a memorable South Korean film, well acted by the housemaid herself.
It raised profound issues regarding how the servant class are treated by the rich, regardless of the culture of individual countries.
I am stunned by the poor reviews this film has had at the hands of the critics...
Published 22 months ago by Lord P

versus
31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay in parts but over all didn't add up to anything for me.
Being a huge fan of Korean cinema, I kind of felt disappointed with this latest release by director Im Sang-soo. The Housemaid was an elegant and nicely shot Korean thriller/drama film, a remake based on the 1960 original which I haven't seen yet so I can't make a comparison. Jeon Do-Yeon plays a sweethearted and kind housemaid that grew up in a harsh environment and...
Published on 17 July 2011 by Puzzle box


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gut wrenching End!, 8 July 2013
By 
This review is from: The Housemaid [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
My partner and I were deeply shocked by the end of this movie. We both felt it was a memorable South Korean film, well acted by the housemaid herself.
It raised profound issues regarding how the servant class are treated by the rich, regardless of the culture of individual countries.
I am stunned by the poor reviews this film has had at the hands of the critics on this Amazon page, since I thought the film was brilliant.
I didn't know there was a 1960 version, and I will look out for it. But I thoroughly recommend this film to anyone happy to watch subtitles, as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine film, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Housemaid [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I enjoyed this. Erotic, but without lapsing into soft porn. Disturbing in places, too.

I assumed at the beginning that the Housemaid would be the innocent victim of a manipulative boss, but she gives as good as she gets......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can you Guess Which Ones?, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Housemaid [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I'll try to review this without spoilers.
packaging, condition, delivery whole transaction hassle free.

I quite like subtitles - I find they focus attention. Although I have to admit I often wonder how accurately they convey the moment.

It's only my opinion but I generally find that Cinema outside the USA and UK has a different feel. A more examining attitude. Even their 'frothy' light-hearted offerings have a less glitzy and more 'judge me' feel.

This was not light hearted. It's a blunt view on a slice of life. Contemporarily set its the story set over about a year. the lead lady is a young woman living her mum and their daily grind of working at fast food stall. A significant event is witnessed and the young girl wanting more from life - or at least a different life - goes to work as a maid for VERY wealthy family. Here we are introduced to the Father, a successful business man who has everything. There is the beautiful, heavily pregnant wife, and the adorable, hones, although not spoilt child, the aged lady who runs the house the house and has been with them forever, and finally there is the wife's mother.

what follows is a fairly good examination of human motives and failings. I liked this.
I also thought I knew from early on where it was al going but I was wrong, I did however realise how it would end, but the intriguing thing was how was it going to get to that point?

I also like the fact that every one is not all good or bad - the days of the white hats and the black hats seem so old as to make me question if they ever really existed.

I also liked one part where one of the characters spoke and behaved in a manner so as to make me re-assess where the story was going BUT only at the end did I realise that they were not being altruistic but merely self absorbed.

Having said that I like not all good not all bad I do not like it when directors or story tellers tell us contradictory plot points and do not give upthe background as to why. If they don't then it just makes the story pointless. An example would be a who dunnit where the big reveal is not one of the cast of characters/suspects you've been analysing for 2 hrs but a random killer never before alluded to.
I found a bit of this with the aged governess. I really wanted to know more about why she was as conflicted as she was.

Trying no to be patronising with this, and I realise that I'm no position to preach, because I perhaps don't know enough about eastern cultures to know that the Aged Governess acted perfectly in keeping with what would be expected, but (now for the patronising bit) I suspect that to get the most out of this film you have to have some inkling of the eastern culture and how very different from the western culture it is (or at least was) especially in terms of honour and respect. Perhaps we had it here once but then again I'm not so sure the past we are shown ever really existed like it was supposed to. Perhaps it was very like now but with different clothes, different speech, less labour saving devices and less awareness of the broader world.

To sum up I thought all the character were good - I found them all well done. I particularly like the lead characters mum. I thought she was perfectly captured - the world weariness and wariness was right but not clichéd or over done.

PERHAPS A BIT OF SPOILER HERE - what I say now will not tell you exactly what happened but might give you hint but I feel I must say it as it gives another reason to watch this film.
The ending left me very thoughtful, sad, angry and reassured. Quite brew.
to expand a little - not too much - It made me think about society, I felt for 3 and a half of the characters ( can you guess which ones?), It made me angry because of the inequity/injustice and the reassurance I got was 'yeah that about sums up the way of the world'.

As for the nudity it's minimal and not overly explicit. and the language/subtitles have occasional moments, but in the main it's the story. It really does hook you.
After all this a story the Americans churn out at a staggering rate starring some moderately successful tv soap actress for weekday afternoons - in other words god awful clichéd pap. The difference here is there is a realism.
ACID TEST: would I buy it again/recommend it - YES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay in parts but over all didn't add up to anything for me., 17 July 2011
This review is from: The Housemaid [DVD] (DVD)
Being a huge fan of Korean cinema, I kind of felt disappointed with this latest release by director Im Sang-soo. The Housemaid was an elegant and nicely shot Korean thriller/drama film, a remake based on the 1960 original which I haven't seen yet so I can't make a comparison. Jeon Do-Yeon plays a sweethearted and kind housemaid that grew up in a harsh environment and tries to make a living by becoming a housemaid for a rich and influential family. Her performance was amazing and Seo Woo did a decent job of playing the spoiled brat as well. And later gets tormented by the wife and the wife's mother of the house, in a very vicious manner. In fact the whole family is crazy except the daughter. This is a dark movie with a handful of sex scenes and graphic parts. There are few foreshadowing in this film, and some characters reactions seemed obvious but the ending was weak, because karma does not come into play, but then again it just shows the dark side of reality I guess. Director Sang-soo Im had the privilege of building a full house of his dreams to describe the environment the rich live in, which contrasts sharply with the few realistic shots in the modern city environment. The visuals he created, sets and colors are excellent and are part of the quality of the film. However the film loses points for weak character development and that bizarre and over the top ending. Still Housemaid was a pretty decent film and I'm sure that some Asian film fans will enjoy this for its great cinematography and top notch acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Housemaid [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Even better than the original (well thats my personal opinion anyway). This film is gripping and really shows the haves and have not divide to its fullest which is the same no matter what the culture....Brilliant Director
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seduction, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Housemaid [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Totally different film from Korea a very different ending with strong meaning, Great photography throughout , The master of the home has his way but the family want revenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute gem, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Housemaid [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a real gem. The filming, the look and feel, are all excellent. The story is well told with strong characterisation and lots of twists and turns. This is not a 'titilating/ blue' movie. Why it has "A Sexy Thriller" splashed over the cover is a mystery. Its not sexy and its not a thriller. It is a beautifully crafted piece of cinema - moving, gripping and with extremely high production values. Can't praise it enough really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant south korean film, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Housemaid [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
One of the best films I have seen in a long time and a totally shocking ending . Its the story of how servant girl is abused as the women of the house take their revenge when they discover her affair with the all powerful husband . I guess if you are looking for a late night film with lots of graphic sex then this isn't for you as its more world cinema to make you think than to titillate .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mundane film, 18 Oct. 2014
By 
algy (UKssex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
True the film is sexy in parts but I did not feel the tension that the story was supposed to have engendered. The story, apart from the ending, was predictable and mundane. The acting was good an the production competent. The scenes between the maid and the young daughter were in fact high lights for me. Not in the class of Dirk Bogarde's The Servant: now that is a twisted story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars get out!, 14 Nov. 2014
By 
James Koppert (Scarborough England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Housemaid (DVD)
Although based in one house, this is a real class war movie trying to demonstrate why the rich, being ruthless to get what they want almost psychotically, are rich in the first place. Great film, dark and well acted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Housemaid [DVD] [2010]
The Housemaid [DVD] [2010] by Sang-soo Im (DVD - 2012)
£5.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews