Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TomTom VIA 130
OK, so first the bad news. I bought this as a replacement for my old TomTOm One which I'd had for a few years and had given me excellent reliable service. The first thing I thought I'd do on purchasing the Via 130 was a backup. Downloaded MyTomTom from the website. Backup not possible with this model/software. Still had my old TomTom Home software on my PC so tried this...
Published on 26 Dec. 2012 by Sean

versus
43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problems downloading maps
I am happy with my VIO 130 but dissatisfied with the support I'm getting trying to download the guaranteed free lifetime maps of Northern Europe that were promised.
Published on 11 Oct. 2012 by Brian Hinett


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent exactly as described. Fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not charge through USB cable provided, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Via 130 EU GPS Unit (Electronics)
Saw this heavily discounted and bought one despite mixed reviews. First one arrived promptly as all Amazon orders do. Pugged it into computer to update maps which took a long time but no hardship as unit is supposed to charge when connected to PC. Left it connected for several hours and then checked battery charge through the settings menu and it was still showing zero charge. Then tried charging it using the car charger and still no joy. I assumed I had been unlucky so ordered a replacement and guess what exactly the same issue. I now have to stay in a day while Yodel come to collect it. It appears from reading reviews elsewhere that this is not an isolated issue. I would avoid buying this sat nav until this has been resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Via 130 EU GPS Unit (Electronics)
Constantly asks for map updates by connecting to PC but the updates are too large for the Unit, and it doesn't come with a memory card place!! Very disappointed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 23 Nov. 2012
By 
MikeH "Michael" (Peak District UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought, in spite of mixed reviews, as a replacement. Great improvement, with flashing arrows to help get in right lane at roundabouts/junctions and naming of roads as you turn into them. But don't throw away mapbook and be quick to back your judgement when it tells you to go in diametrically opposite and wrong direction.
Unconvinced about how up to date their maps are. Locally, speed restrictions and a ring road that were changed some 3 years ago may act as elephant trap to visitors.
But overall an asset, glad I bought it. Pluses outweigh minuses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not too expensive but basic, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Via 130 EU GPS Unit (Electronics)
updating the maps and software is very slow and the touch screen
interface not too quick either
.feels like older quality electronics or undesrspec'd somehow, but the maps are quite clear and responsive
voice recognition is , unsurprisingly, a lottery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars happy to have, 14 July 2014
This review is from: TomTom Via 130 EU GPS Unit (Electronics)
Lovely, happy to have it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TomTom Via 130, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My model failed after about 10 uses, when the power system / battery has failed. It also does not work correctly with the RDS TMS receiver, getting intermittent connection. Sent back for repair, not a happy bunny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Handsfree sounds poor when in use, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Via 130 EU GPS Unit (Electronics)
Handsfree sounds poor when in use.
The rest us fine apart from connection to pc would not work either?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Via 130 EU GPS Unit (Electronics)
very good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just a little better than useless, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom Via 130 EU GPS Unit (Electronics)
This was my second TomTom I love the device when it is working but it is less than useless when you get problems. My Drive the system used by TomTom to update the machine is awful. It takes forever for the device to be recognised and then when you update a map it takes over 3 hours whist the device and computer says 15 secs to go ........ This is not just me check out the Tom Tom Users page. My Drive is a joke.

When the device is working it is brilliant, and I would give it 5 stars but the frustration involved in downloading maps, trying all different ways to get the start button to switch on then waiting for the device to find a GPS signal is something you must avoid. Please do not buy this device ..... when it works it is great but when you try to do anything with it like install new maps or speed cams it jst breaks down. Steer clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TomTom Via 130 EU GPS Unit
£69.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews