Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Conclusion to the "Star Carrier" Trilogy
"Singularity" (Star Carrier Book Three) is one of the better examples of military space opera science fiction I have read lately. As entertainment and as writing, it surpasses David Weber's latest "Honor Harrington" novels with regards to literary quality; he also has in Rear Admiral Alexander Koenig, a vividly realized character as memorable as Honor Harrington. I also...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by John Kwok

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good read
Overall a good read and kept me interested throughout the whole book. Some of the language is a little repetitive though.
Published 9 months ago by Anders


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Conclusion to the "Star Carrier" Trilogy, 13 Mar 2012
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Singularity" (Star Carrier Book Three) is one of the better examples of military space opera science fiction I have read lately. As entertainment and as writing, it surpasses David Weber's latest "Honor Harrington" novels with regards to literary quality; he also has in Rear Admiral Alexander Koenig, a vividly realized character as memorable as Honor Harrington. I also have to commend William H. Keith (writing here as Ian Douglas) for having a firm grasp of astrophysics in his realistic depiction of wormhole travel. "Singularity" is definitely a memorable addition to military space opera science fiction; one which should appeal not only to David Weber fans, but also those familiar with Jerry Pournelle's "Co-Dominion" series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good end to a good series, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singularity ((Star Carrier, Book 3)) (Kindle Edition)
The pacing of the book is uneven but it is an exciting journey nonetheless. Recommended if you liked the first two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Singularity, 9 Oct 2013
By 
A fine follow up to books 1 & 2. Although I thought this was a trilogy, there is obviously a 4th book to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Singularity, 9 Oct 2013
By 
S. Pentney "The Scribe" (The English Riviera) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singularity ((Star Carrier, Book 3)) (Kindle Edition)
A sequel to a long story by Ian Douglas. I have read most of them and enjoy them immensely. Perhaps you will as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good read, 7 Oct 2013
This review is from: Singularity ((Star Carrier, Book 3)) (Kindle Edition)
Overall a good read and kept me interested throughout the whole book. Some of the language is a little repetitive though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More Space Battles, 22 July 2013
By 
Mr. A. Phipps (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an enjoyable read that concentrates on action from a space fighter pilot's perspective. The book is a good read but the repetitive explanations of the same technology in several places in the book can be jarring. The read is not totally immersive and some of the attempts to make social comment in the book fall a bit flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable series, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singularity ((Star Carrier, Book 3)) (Kindle Edition)
This series was enjoyable to read, but falls over by the continuous repeating of how the technologies work, by book 3 the reader has a grasp of workings of the ships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good story to much description., 28 May 2013
By 
Mr. Derek J. Irwin "Mr V" (The Midlands,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singularity ((Star Carrier, Book 3)) (Kindle Edition)
Great story but spends so much time describing people and places you get very bored and it makes you want to give on the main story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good SF, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singularity ((Star Carrier, Book 3)) (Kindle Edition)
Brought the series as I love Science fiction stories. there is one disappointing aspect to Ian Douglas style and that is repeating the same explaination too many times for the equipment in the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read if a little predictable, 27 April 2013
By 
Robert (Uxbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Star Carrier series carries the reader along. Although the battles get repetitious, and the author goes over the same stuff about weapon type or time-dilation as a function of c, the story still speeds along. It would be an undiscerning reader who does not see by the second book of this series that as far as tactics are concerned, the aliens are a bit dim. Whilst the heroic Humans a bright enough to spot glaring holes in alien strategies. Smacks of vulnerable heat vents and Death Stars.

But put that aside. Iain Douglas writes a ripping yarn. So what if only the main characters seem to exist whist everyone else is a red shirt. It doesn't matter because you root for the human fleet. Best of all there is an army of lickspittle bureaucrats back on Earth seeking to appease the nasty Galactic Empire and clap Admiral Koenig in chains. But he has a loyal crew, does our Admiral, and they will take the fight to the enemy, arr and get the booty, arr Jim me lad. So it is a very salty space opera but it is fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews