Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light and fluffy
I suspect this is more aimed at younger readers than middle-aged ones, but I still enjoyed it. The characters are delightfully silly, and who can fail to enjoy a teddy hugging demon or a midget sized teenage girl who wants to be a knight...? Its light hearted, but with something of a deeper undercurrent. Worth the money.
Published 23 months ago by Kess

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoof
I really enjoy fantasy fiction but this is a spoof of the genre, it could work as a film but not really my cup of tea, having said that I did read the whole series
Published 14 months ago by Mr WAE Dent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light and fluffy, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wand of the Witch (Misfit Heroes Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I suspect this is more aimed at younger readers than middle-aged ones, but I still enjoyed it. The characters are delightfully silly, and who can fail to enjoy a teddy hugging demon or a midget sized teenage girl who wants to be a knight...? Its light hearted, but with something of a deeper undercurrent. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wand of the witch, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wand of the Witch (Misfit Heroes Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another great story by Daniel, he certainly delivers some great story's ,
I've recommended this to a few of my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Spoof, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wand of the Witch (Misfit Heroes Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoy fantasy fiction but this is a spoof of the genre, it could work as a film but not really my cup of tea, having said that I did read the whole series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wand of the Witch - disappointing, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wand of the Witch (Misfit Heroes Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is not one of Daniel Arenson best it does not capture or enthrall hard to read and stay engaged in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A truly enjoyable sequel, 12 Aug 2012
This review is from: Wand of the Witch (Misfit Heroes Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the first book, it simply offered everything that a fantasy book should. Strange yet fascinating creatures, main characters that are both funny and inspiring and the feel of a Dungeons & Dragons game. This sequel perfectly continues along that line. The plot is very enjoyable and I still really like that he shifts between the narration of different characters for the chapters. That means you can develop different story lines for the different characters and keep the reader in suspense about one character while telling them about another. It also means that within the same situation, you might get two different viewpoints, allowing the reader much more freedom in how he feels about the book.

Arenson succeeds in showing that what is on the outside doesn't reflect the truth. Not only does he prove this to us through Jamie's continuous battles against her height but also through the Spiderlings, whose almost fairy-like being is revealed as having much more depth. Madrila herself is a great example of Arenson exploring the role of the 'evil guy'. Yes, she is an evil witch who commits horrible crimes. But what makes a good antagonist is that there is more below the surface than one might expect. It is a sign of an good author when he chooses not to go for the ultimate, unexplained evil. It is too easy to decide things are black and white because that is not what it's like in real life.

Romy remains one of my favourite characters. She is full of innocent humor and in a fantasy novel it is good to have a character who gently mocks everything. It keeps the fun in it. I was ecstatic about her and Neev's trip to Hell. Not only is the imagery very unusual ina good way, it also forms a bit of a "breather" before we go into the final part of the book. There are many new creatures to be discovered in this novel, not all of them equally nice to our protagonists, but equally imaginative and fascinating!

I am really starting to appreciate the character of Jamie. As the only girl and the smallest person in the Thistle family she constantly feels she has to reaffirm her position. Although each of them has their doubts, I can relate especially well to Jamie. I always wanted to be a knight and in our society it has become much harder for girls to be interested in "manly" things. To have such a strong female character is refreshing.

A truly enjoyable sequel to an entertaining first book. The book is filled with beautiful fantasy creatures and settings and the characters are given more space to develop. The only question is, how will he top this in the final book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wand of the Witch (Misfit Heroes Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another jolly good fun type read. Not to be taken too seriously but a great way to pass a few hours away from daily worries. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye of a wizard!!, 21 May 2012
This review is from: Wand of the Witch (Misfit Heroes Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I thought this a compeling, well wrote book,well wrote and well thought out,
giving explaination where needed and at the same time not losing the thread.
A story of long long ago with wizards and demonic beast's but also finding
laughter and fun within, A great read.thank you Daniel Areson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews