Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible Force: Fate, Felix and Felixitations
In a recent bog posting Roger keen wrote, "... Felix bears no hidden agenda, does not choose when or where he materializes - all happens by felicitous chance..." Readers and reviewers keep wanting to define the book. Is it a novel or a book of short stories? It is this "felicitous chance" or serendipity that defines the book. The serendipitous happenstances that occur...
Published on 3 April 2013 by Tom(C)

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual but it left me cold
There's a lot of sex in Felixitations, which is never a bad thing. Felix pops up (no pun intended) in many parts of the world at many times through history and the future. And what Felix does is bring people together through the power of sex.

I like the concept and there are some good ideas in the book but I am afraid the sex just left me cold. A big dose of...
Published on 25 July 2012 by Martin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible Force: Fate, Felix and Felixitations, 3 April 2013
By 
Tom(C) (Upstate, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Felixitations (Paperback)
In a recent bog posting Roger keen wrote, "... Felix bears no hidden agenda, does not choose when or where he materializes - all happens by felicitous chance..." Readers and reviewers keep wanting to define the book. Is it a novel or a book of short stories? It is this "felicitous chance" or serendipity that defines the book. The serendipitous happenstances that occur throughout Feixitations changes the destinies of the lives of the gay men Felix touches. Felix is very good at one thing: sex. He uses his seductiveness as a tool to change destinies and it is this factor which unifies the book. The universal nature of serendipity or life changing luck is emphasized by the stories taking place throughout history from the period B.C. to modern times and on into the future. I got the impression that the author might have experienced a fleeting encounter that altered the course of his life and he was showing us how this may be so in many if not all our lives so lets examine them. And examine them he did with great mastery of language and storytelling all tied together by a universal element of destiny (or doom) in our lives that he has personified by creating Felix. I didn't read this book as simply sexy short stories but as the workings of a universal power of fortune, karma, kismet in the lives of gay men specifically and people in general. It is an irresistible force just as Felix is an irresistible character and Felixitations is an irresistible book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A romp through history and love, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Felixitations (Kindle Edition)
I like romps. Though it can be a throw away description, Felixitations is most definite a romp through history, the present day, a bit of future with a glint in its super cute eye, and topped with a knowing smile. However, the lightness has sturdy foundations; with each chapter the periods that Kean transports our hero through are detailed in the history (or future, natch) of each that leaves the reader reluctant to leave at the end of a chapter. But - yes, there's a but! - within a couple hundred words of a new chapter and period, you've fallen in love with a new period and a new Felix all over again. Now, time for a dry martini before dinner... Unless you're in North Wales, obvs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Travel With a Twist., 11 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Felixitations (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the most intriguing books I have ever read.
It is essentially a collection of short stories set in various times and locations-including ancient Greece, sixties London, the eighties and the distant future. Although some characters reappear in different guises- particularly members of the Braithwaite family, it is the mysterious and alluring Felix who binds it all together. Felix the Felicitator, interfering in other men's lives, being a catalyst for changing those lives, helping them find their true nature usually succeeding, sometimes failing. Always having an impact. Who is he? What is he? Where does he come from? And where does he go?
A well written, highly erotic book that is different to any m2m literature I have ever read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Award yourself a hug, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Felixitations (Kindle Edition)
This book is a sheer delight As is its central character Felix, the pivot on which these interconnected tales all hang... By the end of the book you'll feel you've known Felix all your life. Actually, you probably have. The stories are set in many different times and places, throughout history and the present day. In addition to using his own voice, Roger Kean is a master of pastiching other styles, with delightful and entertaining results. From Mary Renault to... well, pretty well everybody else.
I had my favourites among these tales. I won't tell you which they were. Yours will be different from mine, of course. At the end of each of them you'll want to give yourself a little hug. Or better still, somebody else. Felix, perhaps...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars l read a sample and liked what l saw, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Felixitations (Kindle Edition)
an enjoyable and uncomplicated read.well written and with situations that are believeable.This book is well worth investing a couple of cosy hours with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual but it left me cold, 25 July 2012
This review is from: Felixitations (Kindle Edition)
There's a lot of sex in Felixitations, which is never a bad thing. Felix pops up (no pun intended) in many parts of the world at many times through history and the future. And what Felix does is bring people together through the power of sex.

I like the concept and there are some good ideas in the book but I am afraid the sex just left me cold. A big dose of eroticism would have helped.

And some of the sex scenes (especially the pedophilia) were unpleasant. I am sure some people enjoy the glorification of abuse, but not me.

It's a shame because it could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Felixitations
Felixitations by Roger M. Kean
£2.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews