Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holmes is back!
Paul Gilbert has obviously spent a lot of time with his nose in the Holmes stories penned by the great Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. This book demonstrates a profound understanding of the characters of Holmes and Watson, and an overt knowledge of the smallest details from their original exploits. The author has done well to adopt the language of the period, and has an uncanny...
Published on 30 April 2007 by A. Hills

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful.
Perhaps my standards are too high and I am too fussy in not tolerating out of character behaviour, flagrant anachronisms and sheer absence of writing talent, but when one can find far superior fan fiction on the internet (and, yes, I am aware pastiches are just grandiose fan fiction but I still remain fond) one does resent spending even 80 pence on this bilge...
Published 15 months ago by greenycrimson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holmes is back!, 30 April 2007
By 
A. Hills (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Paul Gilbert has obviously spent a lot of time with his nose in the Holmes stories penned by the great Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. This book demonstrates a profound understanding of the characters of Holmes and Watson, and an overt knowledge of the smallest details from their original exploits. The author has done well to adopt the language of the period, and has an uncanny ability to speak with the voice of Watson, which he does with great reverence. For those of us with a passion for Holmes, you'll recognise that these new stories are inspired by cases discussed by Holmes and Watson in the original tales, that were never fully explored by Doyle. The world's greatest detective has returned with renewed vigor, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A reprint of the author's first collection of Sherlockian Tales, 7 Nov. 2011
By 
Philip K. Jones (St. Clair Shores, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a reprint the author's first collection of Sherlockian tales which has been `out of print' for a number of years. It contains seven novella-length tales.

The first tale is "The Adventure of the Connoisseur." This case starts off as a typical Holmes investigation, but turns into a moderately pedestrian mystery. Holmes' intellectual acrobatics are all interior, with little explanation or insight into the processes or conclusions. The story lacks the `flavor' of Holmes and Watson. The second tale is "The Mystery of Avalon." This tale, too, starts in a typical Sherlockian fashion, with all the usual elements, but it progresses into a dark and tragic story that opens a door on Holmes' past and reveals unexpected depths in the Master.

"The Missing Don Giovanni" falls quickly into the classic Canonical pattern and follows through with an interesting mystery and a believable situation. Watson complains about Holmes' lack of communication and Holmes is focused, impatient and impolite to everyone. The mystery is interesting and well developed. "The Hooded Man" is very much a typical Holmes adventure. It is another case introduced to Holmes by Inspector Hopkins, but occurs after the seven cited in ABBE. Holmes' conclusions and deductions seem obvious in retrospect, but, like Watson, readers will feel themselves in a daze during the investigation. "The Old Grey Horse" is another well crafted and ingenious tale. This one has Watson trying to help a client while Holmes is deep in another case with Lestrade. Holmes saves the day, serves up the usual, impromptu but brilliant deductions and hands the villains over to justice.

"The Adventure of the Conscientious Constable" is something of a departure. Holmes and Watson are called in to find a detective constable who has failed to show up for his turn on a diplomatic `stake out.' The Government and Police are sure his disappearance is part of an international incident, but Holmes uncovers an even more bizarre cause rooted in the constable's past successes. "The Adventure of the Dying Gaul" is the final tale in the collection. In it Holmes is forced to take another look at his actions in FINA and the subsequent, belated appearance of two, previously unknown Moriarty brothers. Theft of a classical treasure in Rome leads to a re-evaluation of the identity of `Professor Moriarty' and his role in the intervening years

This anthology introduces a talented writer's efforts to recreate the Canon. The tales are ingenious and the writing improves through the collection. As the tales unfold and the artist becomes more comfortable with his medium, it is easy to allow oneself to feel as if a new issue of The Strand has just arrived and once more it is 1895.

Reviewed by: Philip K. Jones, December, 2010.

Published in "The Formulary," [#20, 12/2010].
Published in "The Gaslight Gazette," [V 17, Issue # 1-2, 01/2011]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most appropriate name for a book ever!!!!, 24 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is appropriately names the Lost Files. Truly if you do not think that is appropriate then just try finding a copy of this book. I was luckily enough to get a second hand copy after a lot of searching, it was worth the effort. Paul Gilbert writing style is so close to Sir Author's I would not be surprised if this book was released from a lost manuscript from Sir Author. These stories are entertaining and addictive. This book is a must read for all Sherlockians. The thing that separates this books from other attempts at Sherlock Holmes is Paul's eye for details and most of all respect for the source materials (which I am sure is due to his years as a comic fan). Paul chooses the references to the case names and let his imagination go, but he does not contradict anything that has come before his work. His stories slip neatly into the slots Sir Author left open. An excellent book and excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Sept. 2013
By 
SMASK "smask" (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Files of Sherlock Holmes (Kindle Edition)
At last someone who has done their research and doesn't make glaring errors regarding spelling or include things that grate with someone who knows the original Canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very authentic Watson voice, 17 May 2013
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Files of Sherlock Holmes (Kindle Edition)
This was overall a very good collection of seven Holmes stories, with the author managing an authentic Watson voice and making these sound like authentic Conan Doyle stories. My favourite stories were The Adventure of the Connoisseur, The Missing Don Giovanni and the very atmospheric and creepy The Old Grey Horse. On the other hand, the inclusion of Moriarty in The Adventure of the Dying Gaul seemed rather gratuitous and I thought better usage might have been made of the Rome setting. My e-copy was marred by a number of typos and some poor grammar, but I will definitely be reading more of this author's Holmes stories. 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sherlock holmes, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Files of Sherlock Holmes (Kindle Edition)
A very good copy of the style of Conan-Doyle's writing which brings a good view of Holmes and Watson. It is possible to see slight differences between the two authors but it is certainly a good read and follows the style very well, add it to your Holmes collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lost files of Sherlock Holmes, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Files of Sherlock Holmes (Kindle Edition)
Well constructed in the style of Conan Doyle - which is, to my mind, an essential attribute. The author has avoided the temptation to 'modernise' either style or content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Jan. 2013
By 
A. Terry (Devon, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Files of Sherlock Holmes (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book of short stories, fast paced adventure with our favourite detective and faithful companion. A must read for all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good Holmes stories, 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Mrs "I am a readaholic cannot live without bo... (Nr Yeovil, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Files of Sherlock Holmes (Kindle Edition)
Very good stories I really enjoyed them. They were very much in the Conan Doyle tradition Holmes was as brooding and moody as the Conan Doyle Holmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful., 12 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Files of Sherlock Holmes (Kindle Edition)
Perhaps my standards are too high and I am too fussy in not tolerating out of character behaviour, flagrant anachronisms and sheer absence of writing talent, but when one can find far superior fan fiction on the internet (and, yes, I am aware pastiches are just grandiose fan fiction but I still remain fond) one does resent spending even 80 pence on this bilge.

Do not buy if you are a canon geek or want Sherlock Holmes to be himself in more than name only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Files of Sherlock Holmes
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews