Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant sound, beautiful looks and interesting features.
This product is very easy to set up, simply follow the quick set up manual and your ready. However, location of the speakers can make the difference between a good cinema experiance and an amazing cinema experiance.

The system has it's pros and cons, as does every product:

Pros: Brilliant sound quality, blu-ray player, 2x hdmi ports and, built-in...
Published 23 months ago by Christopher

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1,2,3,4,5 - Odd.
We just purchased a Samsung LED Series 8, very impressed with the TV 5/5, so we bought this to go with it for our living room, not so impressive.. Firstly the base to stand is one of the worst fittings I have ever had the pleasure to fit, in fact I heard the plastic crack when screwing it (Someone at Samsung needs to pay attention to this as I see the same issue online in...
Published 21 months ago by D. Spencer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant sound, beautiful looks and interesting features., 30 Aug 2012
This review is from: Samsung HT-E5550 1000W Smart Home Cinema System with 4 5.1 Channel Tallboy Speakers and Built in Wi-Fi (Electronics)
This product is very easy to set up, simply follow the quick set up manual and your ready. However, location of the speakers can make the difference between a good cinema experiance and an amazing cinema experiance.

The system has it's pros and cons, as does every product:

Pros: Brilliant sound quality, blu-ray player, 2x hdmi ports and, built-in wireless that allows you to stream music, films and pictures from a laptop or phone.

Cons: No ability to shorten or tilt speaker stands, no caps to plug the bottom of the speaker when wall mounted (just looks less appealing) and, little option to adjust system settings.

I would to give this product 5 stars but these few cons prevent me. But, this is a very high 4 star product in my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good piece of Tech, 4 Oct 2012
By 
V. Biswas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung HT-E5550 1000W Smart Home Cinema System with 4 5.1 Channel Tallboy Speakers and Built in Wi-Fi (Electronics)
I bought this product direct from Amazon and would like to mention a few things step by step:

1. Unboxing and setting up the 4 tallboys and connecting all the rest to the bluray takes abut 45 mins. All cables are color coded, you need a star head screwdriver. You will need to buy a HDMI cable, no cable in box.
2. WIFI works out-of-the-box unlike what other reviwers have said. It DOES NOT need a wifi dongle at all. Software setup is important as well. I updated the software to the latest version by following simple steps on screen. The wifi connects very easily but the update takes time. Only thne can you download the other apps (e.g. BBC iPlayer etc).
3. If you are connecting a sky/digibox, make sure that one HDMI from skybox goes to the TV and one Optical audio cable goes from the skybox to the Bluray. Keep the TV volume to 0 if you want to use the 5.1 surround. You will not get 5.1 without the optical cable which you need to buy separately. A second HDMI from the bluray to TV is required for bluray/dvd/smart features and upscaling. Audio files will work as stereo and not 5.1, I guess most most of us know why.

Likes: Good looks with 4 tallboys, ease of setup and use, ability to play music and video from any device that is connected to your home network. RDS quality is good. Video surround is good and so is the upscaling. My old DVDs have come to life. Abilty to control the system through my android app is also a cool feature. I'm guessing its loud enough to annoy the neighbours, have tested it till about 30% and ist pretty loud without distortions. Ipod and USB if connected can be controlled through one screen, DIVx plays too. Haven't checked 3D content yet. My telly is still a 2D :-(

Dislikes: No lighting connector for the iPhone5. You will need a adapter for newer generation apple devices. Too slow when updating apps or starting them. The space provided (MBs) for APPS is way too less and I know mine will eventually be full. Music quality as expected is not good as stereos and I shall not not complain. This isn't a device for listening. One would need a high end amp and steros speakers to get music anyway. The remote is hard to use unless you are tech savvy already.

Overall: I would recommend this to anyone, particularly to those buying a home theatre for the first time and want SMART capabilities on their telly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I forgive them for sponsoring Chelsea, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung HT-E5550 1000W Smart Home Cinema System with 4 5.1 Channel Tallboy Speakers and Built in Wi-Fi (Electronics)
That's how much I like this system. Matched with an Optoma 3d projector I am having a true home cinema experience. This comes with smart tech wifi giving on line access to BBC iplayer, Love Film and a host of other apps to widen the entertainment.

The design is stylish with tall elegant (albeit plastic) speakers. Life is too short to become an audiophile but bangs are loud, dialogue is clear and the surround effects are great.

I may never leave the house again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HT-E5550, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung HT-E5550 1000W Smart Home Cinema System with 4 5.1 Channel Tallboy Speakers and Built in Wi-Fi (Electronics)
Wow is all i can say,i brought this to replace an LG system i had which was only a dvd home cinema with a blu ray connected to it.Having just purchased a 60" 3D LED TV i thought i would upgrade to a 3D Blu Ray home cinema.Im not disappointed at all.The clarity of the picture on Blu Rays is far superior to my old Blu Ray player the colors are so vivid and the picture razor sharp.Sound wow blow u away is all im going to say.Now 3D Blu Ray again fantastic picture and sound.

Im not one of these that goes on about disk reading time etc i brought purely for an all in one system,it does have the capability for internet but again i have a laptop for that and for music cd again i have a hifi for that.All in all for a entry level system you cant beat i love the look and neatness of it.

Don't hesitate to buy its a great system,easy to use,easy to set up if i had to say a negative about it then that would be unlike my LG it does not show on the display what the sound is ie;Dolby,DTS etc but i can assure you it does switch automatically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1,2,3,4,5 - Odd., 25 Oct 2012
By 
D. Spencer "R1" (Cleveland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung HT-E5550 1000W Smart Home Cinema System with 4 5.1 Channel Tallboy Speakers and Built in Wi-Fi (Electronics)
We just purchased a Samsung LED Series 8, very impressed with the TV 5/5, so we bought this to go with it for our living room, not so impressive.. Firstly the base to stand is one of the worst fittings I have ever had the pleasure to fit, in fact I heard the plastic crack when screwing it (Someone at Samsung needs to pay attention to this as I see the same issue online in a few places) 1/5 for this. Secondly as someone else mentioned Sky+ plugged into HDMI 1 has to be selected which is a real pain in the backside, on a plus side 2 HDMI Feeds, so here we connected a CAT5 to HDMI receiver running over our mains from our movie room with feeds from a HDMI selector (other devices). 2/5 for this.

I must also say having had a similar system DVD based on the old TV which was Sony DMZ something or other it was similar but much better quality but sadly only DVD not 3D Bluray - the tall boy speakers, whilst shiny shiny are plastic so will attract dust pretty quick, in fact within 1 day when you have a toddler wandering around, my rating for the speaker looks are 1 out of 5 they remind me of cheap Chinese speakers and don't have a weight or quality feeling - other than the bases bottom which is heavy to hold the speaker upright (if you manage to get the screws in).

Sound quality, reasonable for a sub <400 system, for music forget it as others said [Incidently at the time of this review Samsung offered 250 cash back for 2nd Samsung item purchased if you buy certain models of TV... however Amazon and certain auction sites are excluded from this offer - so this system ended up costing about 200 from another online site which was part of the promo].

I suppose the iPhone connection is a bonus and usable but in reality I don't think we will every use it, although the DLNA function is good for streaming from the laptops around the house, so there maybe some use there.

The Apps side, good if you don't have a smart TV, if you do... well you now have two of them - confused, the wife is !

Btw, this device is Wireless out of the box as some suggest, it does not come with wireless adapter for the speakers you need to buy that separately it plugs into the back of the player and sends the signal to the two rear speakers (although they still need a cable running between them) it will save 2 long cables cutting across the room behind you !

So adding up the average I would say 3/5 I think in 12 months I will be replacing it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars saved my tv, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung HT-E5550 1000W Smart Home Cinema System with 4 5.1 Channel Tallboy Speakers and Built in Wi-Fi (Electronics)
Bought this to go with my tv that i bought new from amazon that i suspect was a return with blown speakers. This means e can have our tv up loud enough to hear without the tv vibrating. It only seems to play film sound thru the speakers and not tv even tho ive tried all kinds of cables etc it doesnt work. The tv seeks and finds the speakers but wont save them so im stumped there (i reckon its another problem with the tv and not this system. But when they do work thru the tv this system is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung HT-E5550 1000W Smart Home Cinema System with 4 5.1 Channel Tallboy Speakers and Built in Wi-Fi (Electronics)
when setup correctly this unit has amazing sound
3d movies bring it to another level
the system looks great also
i would recommend this item

DB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Won't Play latest Disks or Lovefilm - no firmware updates, 11 May 2013
This review is from: Samsung HT-E5550 1000W Smart Home Cinema System with 4 5.1 Channel Tallboy Speakers and Built in Wi-Fi (Electronics)
The sound on my Samsung Home Cinema is great but the menus are clunky and it won't play the latest Bluray Disks like Spiderman and Hunger Games. Samsung haven't delivered a firmware upgrade since March 2012. Also Lovefilm streaming does not work. Search the internet for stories of other unhappy customers before you consider purchasing - you may regret it when your left with a brick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound shame about the Smell, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung HT-E5550 1000W Smart Home Cinema System with 4 5.1 Channel Tallboy Speakers and Built in Wi-Fi (Electronics)
Have sent 3 units back now as the first secound and third had bad smell, when on for only half hour. I am hoping it is just the newness and that it will go eventually. All that said the sound is great and it look good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab system, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung HT-E5550 1000W Smart Home Cinema System with 4 5.1 Channel Tallboy Speakers and Built in Wi-Fi (Electronics)
after watching instructions on line for this product it was easy to install, has been great so far, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews