Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One can never have too much Sondheim.
Sondheim's passion and dedication for his older works is admirable. Rather than cast aside those works that didn't reach the heights of Company or Sweeney Todd, Sondheim is a committed artist, willing to experiment and bring on new collaborators to bring out different nuances in his works. Moreso than Follies or Road Show, this spirit of innovation is most evident in the...
Published on 24 July 2012 by Oliver49

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
London recording would have been much better...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One can never have too much Sondheim., 24 July 2012
This review is from: Merrily We Roll Along (Audio CD)
Sondheim's passion and dedication for his older works is admirable. Rather than cast aside those works that didn't reach the heights of Company or Sweeney Todd, Sondheim is a committed artist, willing to experiment and bring on new collaborators to bring out different nuances in his works. Moreso than Follies or Road Show, this spirit of innovation is most evident in the evolution of his score for "Merrily We Roll Along".

The quality of the recording is excellent. Some of the vocals on the album aren't technically polished and I must confess I am still rather partial to the Original Broadway Cast recording. But the fact remains that Merrily... will never be a huge blockbuster musical, and this is the case with many Sondheim works. They are nevertheless gems for avid theatregoers and fans of the musical theatre who desperately wish for the artform to continually evolve, with or without the co-operation of mainstream commercial interests. As such it is always a treat to have a recording of a Sondheim score. The Merrily recording preserves a lot of the revisions, along with much dialogue.

This recording reflects the New York Encores! staging of the work, which I unfortunately didn't get to see. It has, however, renewed my interest in seeing this show performed and this score given the audience it deserves, and as such I enthusiastically await the staging at the Menier Chocolate Factory in London at the end of this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Sondheim Musical, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merrily We Roll Along (Audio CD)
This double CD gives just about the whole of the musical. I saw the musical recently in London and wanted to hear the entire show again and this CD does the trick. Wonderful Sondheim musical, must be seen and heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merrily We Roll Along (Audio CD)
London recording would have been much better...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Merrily Rolls Along, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Robin Hinton (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merrily We Roll Along (Audio CD)
a fair recording of 2012 Broadway production however not as good as the London production, which should have been recorded to show how it should have been played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merrily We Roll Along (Audio CD)
Awesome show, great revival cast, can't fault anything. I have previous original cast recordings of this show and this one is by far the one that most draws me in. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great CD, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merrily We Roll Along (Audio CD)
A must for anyone who wants to relive their night out. It was also much cheaper than at the theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merrily We Roll Along (Audio CD)
Excellent re imagining of one of Sondheims most innovative musicals
Great performances from all concerrned including the orchestra and a quality recording
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An updated version of a Sondheim classic, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merrily We Roll Along (Audio CD)
I have the original cast recording and purchased this updated version because of the recent Broadway revival and now West End revival that I saw.

Includes new songs that the old one doesn't. A must for anyone who's a Sondheim fan to have in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good video, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merrily We Roll Along (Audio CD)
Good video, much enjoyed by the entire family. Some good, foot-tapping songs and good photography. It surpassed my expectations. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Merrily We Roll Along
Merrily We Roll Along by Stephen Sondheim (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews