Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as feared
I must confess that the first review I read of the recently released blu ray had me spooked.
My pre-order had arrived and was as yet unviewed. Haven't watched the whole movie yet but here are my first impressions of the transfer. The picture quality wasn't the disaster I expected. True there is a degree of grain which is only to be expected on a movie more than 50...
Published on 3 Aug. 2012 by Elric

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...One day we must meet in the flesh, ahem"
The 1960s produced some of the most important works of science-fiction in cinematic history - features which have influenced generations, pushed boundaries of technique and storytelling. La Jetee, 2001: A Space Odyssey and Planet of the Apes stimulate the cerebrum and represent a master class in allegorical exploration of what it is to be human - but only Barbarella saw...
Published on 25 Jan. 2013 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as feared, 3 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbarella (1968) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I must confess that the first review I read of the recently released blu ray had me spooked.
My pre-order had arrived and was as yet unviewed. Haven't watched the whole movie yet but here are my first impressions of the transfer. The picture quality wasn't the disaster I expected. True there is a degree of grain which is only to be expected on a movie more than 50 yrs old, and to be fair there are much better preserved examples of similar or older vintage out there (e.g. Zulu) but the mastering job is actually fairly decent. Those who like to make a correlation between video bit rate and image quality will be pleased to hear the video rate is continually nudging the 40 Mb/sec mark. (Something this film shares with Zulu and other top transfers). The grain is quickly forgotten after a few minutes.

Comparing it with the R2 dvd reveals that they've either found a better original or managed to clean it up quite a bit.
The R2 dvd shows a lot of flaws on the master (i.e. white/black "sparklies") which are almost entirely absent on the blu ray.
Resolution is much improved on the blu ray and makes the purchase well worthwhile.
If you have a huge screen and have a tendency to sit too close then the grain might be a deal-breaker for you but for anyone else I say enjoy this version because it's as good as you'll get (for the moment....)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camp as a scout jamboree!, 12 Jan. 2004
By 
DP Stone (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbarella [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
It had been a few years since I watched "Barbarella", and watching it again for a second time recently was joy, like discovering its kitsch joys for the first time all over again!
There's no point dwelling on the plot, because it's as thin and transparent as most of Jane Fonda's outfits! This is pure high camp comedy, wonderfully played up a superb cast. Some wonderful characters, brilliant one liners, and some of the oddest sets and costumes ever seen on film. Highly unenjoyable and would be instantly forgettable were it not for Jane Fonda excelling as our heroine and also for introducing the name "Duran Duran" to the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2012 Blu-ray Review, 10 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbarella (1968) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Nothing special to report here. Being on Blu-ray there is the obvious increase in picture quality to high definition, the film hasn't been restored since its last DVD release, but still looks good. Sadly, this jump to HD is the only reason to buy it. No extras other than a teaser trailer. I think the biggest disappointment is the sound. It's still mono. This is fine for purists as the film was shot and originally presented in mono. I was hoping for an alternative 5.1 mix, but no. Is the movie any good? I think it's an all-time '60s classic, please look at other reviews or IMDB if you want to know about the film itself. This is purely a technical review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...One day we must meet in the flesh, ahem", 25 Jan. 2013
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Barbarella (1968) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The 1960s produced some of the most important works of science-fiction in cinematic history - features which have influenced generations, pushed boundaries of technique and storytelling. La Jetee, 2001: A Space Odyssey and Planet of the Apes stimulate the cerebrum and represent a master class in allegorical exploration of what it is to be human - but only Barbarella saw Jane Fonda get her chebs out in zero gravity as she embarked on an adventure in a fur-lined spacecraft. Nearly half a century on, Fonda still looks incredible - but the rest of the film hasn't aged well.

Barbarella was a flop at the time but has gained a cult following, and although the film is average at best - you can't help but feel defensive about it. With killer lines such as "wait, let me adjust my tongue-box" and "de-crucify him or I'll melt your face" along with a bonkers plot, this is an entertaining film - but not in the way it intends to be. The visual effects are dodgy and some of the sets look cobbled together from whatever was left around the studio (with backdrop curtains which could have been rejects from a school play). It's sometimes hard to believe that this was released the same year as Kubrick's masterpiece. Despite the lack of intelligent plot and the absence of a half decent script, Barbarella does contain some iconic moments - those demonic, biting dolls are still the stuff of nightmares. It's not just the visuals which have dated, the attitudes towards women who are basically just there to look pretty look thoroughly unmodern, especially when Barbarella is coerced into sex with a stranger pretty much just because he says he wants to (a few minutes after meeting).

The Blu-Ray release is impressive however, it's certainly a much cleaner image than the VHS version I watched about 20 years ago (I feel old just typing that). Actually, I'm very surprised at how good the film looks. The picture is grainy in just a few scenes, but that is no doubt from the master and rigorous grain removal would have smeared any detail, on the whole though the film is gorgeous and it enhances the crudeness of the sets and rubbish special effects - and that is where much of the charm lies. Audio-wise it sounds okay, the soundtrack isn't a classic one and there's no atmosphere here to enhance so the film doesn't lose anything from having a score which is effectively sound-effects, beeps, and second rate pseudo-pop.

In a nutshell: Barbarella isn't great sci-fi, it's not even a great film. But all the things which make it naff also happen to be the things we celebrate about it, and with this Blu-Ray release it's never looked so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a note..., 28 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Barbarella [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
It's said that a reviewer asked Vadim why he opened the film with the free-fall strip. He said "Plenty of people who don't care about science fiction will watch it just to see Jane Fonda nude, so I put that at the start so they didn't have to sit through the rest!"

Just to say that anyone who did walk out as soon as the credits had finished floating over Fonda's skin would have missed an erotic treat as well as a comic one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Barbarella: What else do you need to know?, 29 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Barbarella [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Ok, first of all, I'm sure you're just reading reviews of Barbarella for fun, because you have to buy it. Barbarella is a movie you can watch, re-watch and then watch again just for the hell of it. To convey the greatness that is Barbarella in mere text is impossible, so all I can really say is: buy Barbarella, and if for some strange, mystical reason, you don't like it, give to a friend, they will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, Campy, Sexy, 60's Sci-Fi Spoof, 9 Oct. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Barbarella (1968) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I confess that I have a soft spot for this film. It was made the year after I was born, and when it was shown on TV in about 1975/6, it was the first time that I ever saw a naked lady on the small screen. I was suitably goggle-eyed. As a result, the film lived long in my memory.
Barbarella is a gloriously campy and silly sci-fi send-up. The titular lead character, played by Jane Fonda, is a nymphomaniac, intergalactic space agent, who goes on a mission to find a missing inventor. During her adventure, she meets a curious combination of aliens, creatures, eccentric oddballs, and she has to learn about methods of sex which are, if you'll excuse the pun, alien to her.
This movie is definitely worth watching for fans of cult movies, classic sci-fi, and the plain weird "out there" flicks. Jane Fonda is perfectly cast, and she has never looked more beautiful. From the very famous opening scene, where she strips nude, whilst floating about in her space craft, she frequently sheds her clothing. There is lots of use of space age technology, including rockets, lasers, and guns.
There is a vaguely scary scene, where Barbarella is attacked by some nefarious, living, porcelain dolls, with gnashing razor teeth (possibly an inspiration for the much later horror film starring the killer doll Chucky - Child's Play [DVD] [1988] ). There are multiple scenes with bare breasts, naked female bodies in silhouette, implied sexual intercourse, talks about sex, and overall there is a very strong sensation of sensuality and suggestiveness.
It wouldn't be too harsh to describe Barbarella as a very naughty Carry On type of film. If, for example, Carry On Screaming had had the female actresses undressing, the general vibe of that movie would have been similar to Barbarella ( Carry on Screaming [Blu-ray] [1966] ).
Along the way, Barbarella is assisted by a beautiful and blind angel, who, at one point is shown strung up, crucifixion style, by his bloodied wings. It's actually quite disturbing. At another point, a woman writhes, moans and sweats, when she's hooked up to a machine meant to make her orgasm to death (called the Orgasmatron, would you believe it).
The cinematography is marvellous, and the use of colour for the costumes and sets, is both flamboyant and stunning. All in all, this film is a visual treat, with a stunningly beautiful lead actress, a perfectly silly but enjoyable sci-fi spoof storyline, mild but frequent nudity and violence, and suitably quirky sound effects.
I think that this is one of those films, which deserves and is long overdue a modern remake, using state of the art CGI, colourful Austen Powers style imagery, a suitably gorgeous lady like Scarlett Johannson or Kate Beckinsale in the lead role, and a director like Luc Besson or Sam Raimi.
If you watch Under The Skin with Scarlett Johannson (highly recommended), it shows that she is quite happy to do a raunchy sci-fi role, i.e. one where there's a requirement for showing acres of flesh - Under The Skin [Blu-ray] [2014] . Surely such a movie would be a worldwide box office hit?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'STRICTLY FOR THE MEMORY BANKS', 16 Nov. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Barbarella (1968) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The story ? 'Barbarella' is given instructions to seek out and return 'Durand Durand' ( lost in space for five yearS ) back to earth.
along the way she has to submit to now outdated sexual advances ( which makes a change from 'pill' induced climaxes )
Though, when finding him, will he want to return ?
With sexually driven undertones throughout this really is a strange cinematic experience indeed.
Outdated and seriously weird , 10/10 for the sizzling 'Jane Fonda' however----thank heaven for the technology advances of today...............strictly for the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CULT STATUS, 9 Feb. 2007
By 
C. Pierides "Costa58artdeco" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbarella [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Wierd, charmingly innocent,costumes ahead of their time, including the legendary g-string, and a Jane Fonda you actually like because of her innocence. Plastic sets a plenty, lots of dry ice, but in there too are snipets of intellect, silly pink/red pencil sharpener spaceship with fake fur interiors merely add to the enjoyment.Even "the essence of man", for ladies who want to taste rather than feel the sense.Kinky leather robots with whips. Like I said, strange, but pure fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sixties in space, 5 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Barbarella [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
There aren't many films that can compete with Barbarella when it comes to camp sci-fi humour. It can be watched over and over again and never lose its appeal. Most importantly it should never be watched alone. A must for any insane person's video collection and a good video for anyone else. If you feel like an adult trip through wonderland this is your film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barbarella (1968) [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Barbarella (1968) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Roger Vadim (Blu-ray - 2012)
£6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews