Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


137 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray is stunning
It's a shame that Amazon have included the DVD reviews under the blu ray product because although the stories are the same the product is completely different. I just received the blu ray box set of season 1 today.

The Next Generation was shot of film (both live action and special effects) however both were immediately transferred to standard definition tape,...
Published on 24 July 2012 by M. Palmer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb Picture, (Some Audio Issues)
UPDATE: Hey tvshowsondvd.com just posted a replacement program is in the works!!! CBS posted the following:

Dear Star Trek Fans,

We have discovered an anomaly in the English 7.1 DTS Master Audio track in our Star Trek: The Next Generation Season 1 Blu-ray Box set. There are some episodes that inadvertently had their front channel designations...
Published 24 months ago by PabloPawelPaul


‹ Previous | 113 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good ending..., 30 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great ending to a great show, highly enjoyable season, great picture quality and good sound, this will do until season 7 hits blu ray, whicj i imagine will be quite a while off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars to boldly go, 24 Oct 2011
By 
K. Beech "ranger1250" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
if your a trecky fan this is for you, its exactly one for the spacer everywhere,i bought it for my wife ho loves john luke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STAR TREK THE NEXT GENERATION SERIES 1, 3 April 2011
By 
Andrew H. Baird (Stewarton East Ayrshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I AM VERY SATISFIED WITH MY PURCHASE OF STAR TREK THE NEXT GENERATION SERIES 1 AS IT ADDS ANOTHER SERIES TO MY COMPLETE COLLECTION OF STAR TREK AND ANOTHER SERIES BOX SET CLOSER TO COMPLETION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars packaging, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
for 50 you would have thought there would have have been a slip inside to show whats on which disc? instead what you get is a guide under disc one thats hard to read!!! a slight niggly is the bars on each side!!! that aside the picture is absolutly stunning well worth the money!!! hav'nt got 7.1 surround just 5.1 but even so stunning sound!! can't wait for season 2+ hope they don't get messed up to???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trek official alternatives, 20 Sep 2007
By 
Kdj Lander (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If it is Star Trek fix you are looking for, then you really ought to browsers and look for the high fan series that have been created.

Star Trek Hidden Frontier has recently finished a 7 season run,
Star Trek Odyessy looks set to take over, taking Trek to Andromeda
Helena Chronicles another spin off from Hidden Frontier set aboard the USS Helena featured in the latter episodes of HF.
Trinity a UK post production looks to be taking a darker look for a 4 part mini series at the post Nemesis era.
If you are a fan of the Original series Check out the Star New Voyages which are the continuing adventures of the Enterprise from the end of The Original Series, George Takei and Walter Koenig have both featured in recent episodes.
Starship Farragut takes Trek aboard the USS Farragut set in TOS era.
Star Trek Intrepid another UK production of high quality. with a cross over with Hidden Frontier special coming shortly.
Star Trek Of Gods and Men a by the stars of trek from the fans movie directed by Tim Russ (tuvok) featuring many of the cast of various Treks.

For all things truly Trek, look across the vastness of the internet to discover what is really going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2012: 51 are you serious ! 2013: 38 - getting there !, 30 Jun 2012
By 
A. Ball (West Sx UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A year ago I thought this was worth 30 against the 51 demanded then - nice to see it's falling at a sensible speed. Sorry early adopters (or thanks ?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 101 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feminized and quite poor, 24 July 2010
Having watched all three seasons of the Original Star Trek (with Shatner and Nimoy, which was brilliant), I was looking forward to watching Star Trek 'The Next Generation', but I couldnt have been more disappointed.

Apparently, alot of the old trekkies that watched TNG didnt like this first series, but they only have a vague reason why..

Here's why.

TNG started in the late 80's, a good 15-20 years after the feminist movement began in the US, and it really shows in this first season of TNG.

In this version of Star Trek, alongside the Captain, there is a female 'empath' called 'Troi', who can physically 'feel' emotion from crew mates and aliens. Everytime something happens, Captain Picard turns to her, and she contorts her face and says things like "I feel great sorrow, captain...". The Chief Medical Officer is now also female, but considering 'Bones' from the original series behaved like an hysterical female, there isnt much change in the charactor. Head of Ships Security Lieutenant Yar, is, again, female. One of the oddest things about this first season is the first 6 episodes. In 2 of those episodes, the female Lt. Yar talks about 'rape squads' when she was a young girl on her home planet. Why that needed to be injected into Star Trek, I really have no idea. Whats more, in these opening episodes, the aliens that the enterprise encounter are male barbarians, who say things like "FEMALES?! CLOTHED?! SERVING ABOARD A STARSHIP?!", while the crew of the enterprise smugly look down on them. Theres a definate misandric undertone to those first 6 episodes.

It gets less man-hating as you go through the season, but episodes keep popping up where female charactors are seen as victims of the 'male' charactors/aliens, who are backward savages.

The best example of the feminization in this first season, is in episode 18 'Home Soil'. An alien is onboard the Enterprise, and the ship starts to lose power, and the female engineer says "WE CANNOT STOP IT CAPTAIN! IT MAY AFFECT THE SURGERY.. OR THE NURSERY.." !! hilarious.

There are no real male charactors (other than the Captain, and thats debatable). Commander Riker's face looks asthough he's just been divorced by his wife, and Lt. Commander Worf, an alien from the Klingon warrior race, seems to have been neutered.

Also, The crew seem to be godless, and look down on 'primitive' alien religions, which I found quite annoying. Personally Im not religious, but I didnt like how matter-of-fact and condescending they were about it.

There are a couple of episodes which arnt overly feminised, 'Arsenal of Freedom' is particularly good.

If your buying this as a present for a young boy as a christmas present or for a birthday, better to get Star Trek - The Original Series (with Captain Kirk, Spock, and bones).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad discs, 21 Sep 2011
By 
Thomas Hughes "grissom" (wallasey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being a fan of Star Trek: TNG since I was younger, I decided to buy some of the seasons as I saw that the price was cheap. And I have to say that I was very dissapointed. The quality of some of the discs was terrible, some of them where scratched, some had loads of fingerprints on them, and one had what appeared to be burn marks on the back of it. Almost every episode on every disc crashed for several seconds when I tried to watch it. I sent for replacements, but the ones that arrived also crashed. All in all, a very dissapointing purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To high a price for a transfer that will not improve the story lines, 25 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As someone who already shelled out 350 pounds plus for the series on DVD why would I shell out another for the same content. Sorry trek and paramount but you have lost a customer. I will only shell out for the new trek film and maybe on this if it ever reduces in price. But I would not hold my breath as the original series has never reduced to a price that I would consider reasonable. As none of the other series lived up to the standard of TNG it does not bode well for any Blu ray future for trek. If you have not gotten the series before you r in for a treat although it is starting to show it's age. But the final frontier has been reached for TV trek I' m afraid:((
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
31.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews