Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing AirPlay speaker!!!
I got this item as an exchange after trying the philips fidelio (which doesn't work by the way). I wasn't expecting much after the disappointment with other products but was so pleasantly surprised after all.

First of all, I got this because of the AirPlay functionality, and I'm keeping it because it actually works, even though my wireless router is a bit far...
Published 13 months ago by Fer

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning for Spotify users
I mainly use Spotify for listening to music however I was annoyed to find that this does not support playing music via spotify while docked.

If you attempt to play music on spotify directly (i.e. just docked) it will play then speakers will simply enter sleep mode after about a minute.

You can use Airplay in conjunction with Spotify to play audio...
Published 3 months ago by Conor McGuire


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to set up and great sound quality., 26 July 2012
By 
Runeweaver - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the first ipod dock ive owned and im really impressed,when you read all the features it sounds abit scary and hard work,but once you try and set things up you find its so simple,plug you ipod in the dock wait a few seconds press the button on the back and the wireless connection is set up,then just choose the airplay option on your ipod and after a couple of seconds its playing.

The unit itself looks really good and the build quality is very high same as the remote which is small but very sturdy and has responsive buttons,the sound quality is good and where other people have said its abit heavy on the bass I havent noticed it,could be my EQ settings on my ipod are different from theirs or placement of the speaker or my hearing is different.

One of the other complaints is disconnections,I havent had any problems upto now,there are lots of reasons for disconnections, outside interference ,faulty unit could be either the speaker dock or the ipod , not having the latest firmware on the speaker or ipod my older ipod wouldnt connect till I updated its firmware,and after that it didnt have any problems,so if you buy this unit update your ipod while waiting for it to arrive,as the latest ipod updates are a royal pain as they have to delete everything off you ipod before updating then putting it all back on.

Overall a really good speaker,looks good,sounds good and is so simple to use a child could use it or even and older person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just all round good, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Easy Set Up, Good Sound, Great Airplay features. Great Price. I am very happy with this item, so happy I brought a second!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pure basics, 18 Aug 2012
By 
mfl (london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For sure, Pure have built a sound reputation. But for a brand best known for its DAB digital radios, here is a simple speaker dock, plug in and play, wirelessly or wired with the Pure Lounge app allowing streamed internet radio access.

Functionality is basic even allowing for the bonus of Airplay; no tone controls, bass boost or sound manipulation such as surround or wide. An on/off, mute and volume + / - are top mounted and that's it. Maybe here we have true pure hi-fi?

The dome design has a relatively slim width but it's still a large footprint of 36cm on your desk or shelf and there's no mistaking the PURE branding on the dock face. It's easy to connect too should you Ethernet it direct or press the wifi button on the back. A mini remote control has the usual commands but is particular about position to get the unit to pick up the button selects. Often a few irritable clicks later you may get it to do what you ask.

As there is no display, keep the thick every- language-known-to-man-manual to hand to decipher what the red / blue / white / pink / blue and green / cyan / amber lights that indicate the mode (ipod / Airplay etc), and that is if you really recognise what colour cyan is! You can lift up the unit to see the list too but it's not that lightweight and when it's plugged in, it is a pain. And when you are clicking through via the only means to control it: the remote, it is just a faff. Sure you will get used to it but until then....

So to the crunch, how does it sound? And how does it sound for the price?

Pure have long been darlings of the hi-fi press and a recent What Hi-Fi review gave it a glowing 4 out of 5 stars and claiming it was detailed and exciting to listen to, if a little coarse. They always say too that your ears are king, so judge for yourself. Well to these royal ears, the Pure manages simply to keep the sound embedded in the unit - and that is not a compliment to its abilities. It's also muddy and added to the contained sound offers little room or ear filling capacity. Yes it will go loud, very loud but this adds to the muddle. There are Logitech and even Sony docks at more than half the price that sound bigger and more engaging than this low fi effort. It is just poor for its size and you will not get any stereo imagery; it sounds as if it has a bag stuffed over it and yes it has been taken out of its packaging wrapper.

If you are considering spending this sort of money on what should be a premium dock, even allowing for the convenience of Airplay, think very carefully. At least demo it with your music in a high street shop.

It is not pure and it certainly isn't Pure as we have come to know them. Basic and for the money there is little to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... a gift for my son and he was really pleased. I heard the sound quality and it was ..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Was a gift for my son and he was really pleased. I heard the sound quality and it was excellent. Very good size for his small overfull house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Brilliant value fir money, good sound and easy to set up, download the pure app so u can listen to digital radio too!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 23 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Great product. Easy to set up and I love being able to throw my music at it. Had to upgrade to iOS 7 to stop the pauses, but I've had no problems with doing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Aargh!!!!, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
This is the most frustrating item I have EVER owned. The sound is good when it works but to keep it connected to my wifi is a total nightmare. I have two Apple airport expresses connected to speakers and never,ever have any issues with these. If you use the Contour 200 as a dock it forgets the wifi connection and you have to spend hours reconnecting and often despite the white light suggesting all is well, it will not work. It cuts out mid song and will not reconnect. Then for some reason despite not touching anything it will just work. If I had issues with the Airport express connectivity I would blame the router but it is only ever this I have issues with. Not fit for purpose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Average sound, OK set-up, looks good, great price., 29 May 2014
By 
P. O'Neill (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
I'm using this exclusively as an Airplay device so can't comment on plugging an iPad or similar into it nor understand why you'd do that instead of using AirPlay ( let's be honest sound quality is not going to be a factor). It's extremely well made as you'd expect from Pure and looks good on a bookshelf or similar. Set-up is a bit fiddly as no display on the device, you'll need an ethernet cable temporarily and a working DHCP server to give the device an address then connect to a web server on the device. Couldn't seem to update the firmware via this interface but not bothered. I'd personally prefer to connect via ethernet permanently to save a bit of bandwidth / improve latency but that doesn't appear to be possible.
Sound is OK - there's an improvement in presence compared to the built in speakers on my iMac but you've got to have reasonable expectations for such a small cabinet with streamed music. Probably great for the kids bedroom or some background music / radio for the kitchen. Voice reproduction is good. The best way to describe it would be at the original retail price of c. 200 you'd be disappointed - at 50 (price when I bought it) it's great.

Ultimately 50 for an AirPlay speaker - excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality and easy set up, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Very simple to setup and good sound quality. A bit fiddly to dock the ipad and tricky to get the ipad
to communicate with the dock whilst they are separated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable sound, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Bought from Amazon at a much reduced price -usually around 200 -but bought for just over 50.Sound quality is I think equivalent to docks between those prices. A little fiddly to set up -but once sorted no problems. If had paid full price - 2.5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews