Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb sound and easy setup
This is an updated review based on a weeks use with the newly released firmware

**Air Play Update** [If you're experiencing connectivity issues with AirPlay and have an active microwave oven within 6 metres of the Contour 200i Air (or your iPhone/iPad) the microwave may well be the cause. Microwave ovens emit radio waves/radiation that has a very similar...
Published on 10 May 2012 by David

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Aargh!!!!
This is the most frustrating item I have EVER owned. The sound is good when it works but to keep it connected to my wifi is a total nightmare. I have two Apple airport expresses connected to speakers and never,ever have any issues with these. If you use the Contour 200 as a dock it forgets the wifi connection and you have to spend hours reconnecting and often despite the...
Published 11 months ago by Mrs. L. Farr


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb sound and easy setup, 10 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
This is an updated review based on a weeks use with the newly released firmware

**Air Play Update** [If you're experiencing connectivity issues with AirPlay and have an active microwave oven within 6 metres of the Contour 200i Air (or your iPhone/iPad) the microwave may well be the cause. Microwave ovens emit radio waves/radiation that has a very similar frequency to WiFi and will disrupt WiFi connectivity. I tested the Contour 200i Air with an iPhone 4S and an 800w Microwave that was 4 metres away from the speaker. I streamed audio to the speaker using AirPlay without any problem, then switched on the microwave and within 4 seconds the AirPlay connection failed. I could not reconnect AirPlay to the speaker, until I had powered the Contour 200i Air off and on again. So be careful where you situate your speaker if it is in or very near a kitchen. Note, this connectivity problem is not specific to the Contour 200i Air, all WiFi signals are disrupted by nearby microwaves]

Build
The speaker is solidly built, compact (37 x 23 x 17cm), made to a very high specification. It's matte black in colour, bisected by a silver band that houses the buttons. The solid back houses the Ethernet port, 3.5mm Audio in, DC power input, WiFi setup button and a digital coax connector. The front is made of speaker fabric under which are housed the two 9cm drive units (rated at 18W RMS each), between which protrudes a shallow tray on which is the standard Apple dock connector. On the underside between shallow sturdy rubberised feet are two downward firing bass ports. Location of the unit effects the quality of the bass - placed on fabric the bass will be more muted, placed on a solid hollow object (kitchen cabinet) the bass will have more resonance.

The silver band has a Power/Standby on the left and a mute, volume up and volume down on the right. Even if powered "off" the unit wakes up when selected as an AirPlay source. iPhone 4S and 3GS and a first generation iPad all seated easily but firmly, resting against the speaker grill. iPhone 4 bumpers and Apple iPad 1 cases will need to be removed to ensure secure docking. iPhone 3GS dock with a slim case.

There is a coloured LED at the bottom left hidden under the speaker fabric which lights up on activation and shows the speaker status by colour and solid or flashing lights.

Power is provided by a separate block with a fixed approximately 1m cord that plugs into the speaker and a shorter interchangeable UK/European plug lead. A small remote is supplied which provides, stop, play, pause, skip forward and back, menu and volume controls - this only works on docked devices and doesn't work over AirPlay

Setup
Setup is incredibly easy, simply power up the speaker, dock your IOS device, press the WiFi button at the back of the speaker for 1 second, and when prompted on your IOS device, confirm you want to share your connection information and your speaker now has you network security and network configuration. You can also use the speakers built in web interface by pressing the speakers WiFi button for 5 seconds to put it in server mode for manual setup. The web interface allows greater configuration of network settings and the renaming of the AirPlay name. Either method will ensure your speaker is instantly available for AirPlay. It is important to ensure your speaker has access to the Internet via your router as this is how it will automatically update it's firmware and sound profile.

Audio
Voice reproduction is better even than Pure's excellent Evoke 3, providing an uncomplicated, mellow sound which maintains the original voices timbre and detail. It handles pop and rock music with ease, from Jessie J's "Domino" through Professor Green's "Read all about it" to Rush's "Spirit of Radio" it romps along providing a driving bass but never swamping out the other frequencies. I found myself replaying tracks to listen to hidden detail I just could not hear on my other speakers. The speaker is just at home with classical music, showing restraint for the quieter pieces and dynamic energy for the more forte pieces. It's full of life with Gershwin's "Rhapsody in Blue" never loosing the pace and individual elements.

AirPlay
I tested AirPlay with a mid range Netgear single band N router and an iPhone 4S, 3GS and iPad (all IOS 5.1.1) . There is a 3-4 second buffer delay after selecting an AirPlay source before the audio starts. There was no discernible difference in quality with a docked IOS device. Over the entire week I only experienced one dropout (loss of connectivity), and that was probably due to environmental factors.

Review history
The Contour 200i Air which I initially purchased shipped with pre release firmware, which had a very bass heavy, booming audio profile and experienced intermittent AirPlay disconnection. So I returned the speaker and posted a one star review. I was contacted by Pure who explained this was a firmware issue and tried again with a new speaker updated with the new firmware. The new firmware made a dramatic improvement, so if you already have a Contour 200i Air I highly recommend that you connect it to the internet to allow the system to upgrade the firmware.

Conclusion
The Contour 200i Air provides a exceptional full balanced sound for such a small foot print. It proved excellent for voice, pop, rock and classical. Prepare to re-listen to your music to find detail you had never heard before. AirPlay works very well, allowing you to still use your iPad whilst streaming music to the speakers.

Thoroughly recommended, five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing AirPlay speaker!!!, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
I got this item as an exchange after trying the philips fidelio (which doesn't work by the way). I wasn't expecting much after the disappointment with other products but was so pleasantly surprised after all.

First of all, I got this because of the AirPlay functionality, and I'm keeping it because it actually works, even though my wireless router is a bit far off in another room. I found that a couple of times when connection was not flawless it was due to slow internet connection (which made my Apple TV slow to resend the sound data to the device) rather than anything else. Besides my router is crap and still most of the time the connection is excellent. Connection always seems to be best with a computer, Apple TV or iPad. With iPhone, not quite the same. The sound gets interrupted sometimes. I'm putting it down to the iPhone (mine is 4S) which probably is not as fast as other devices and cannot handle the relay of data. I imagine newer phones (5 and future generations) will be better equipped to handle this.

Second. The quality of sound. I was blown away when I first tried it. The sound is clear and completely fills the room. Perhaps this is not enough for musicians who have professional knowledge of sound equipment, but is more than I expected and I am a bit finicky about my speakers and headphones.

Third. It looks beautiful with an iPod, iPhone or iPad docked. I have an old iPod which I no longer use cause I carry all my music in my iPhone, so I just leave it permanently docked. The device readily recognises which device is playing, the one docked or the one over the AirPlay and switches swiftly from one to another.

Now, for the downside. I had half a mind to knock one star down because there's no bluetooth connection with this thing, which is a shame, cause it's always good to have an option and it would make the device compatible with more products besides apple. Of course, you can always use the auxiliary cable provided and plug in any other device, but that's not really ideal. However, especially considering the price + all other pros (and the fact that the AirPlay actually functions) I'm very happy with my purchase. Totally recommend it if you can do without bluetooth for a wireless connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Aargh!!!!, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
This is the most frustrating item I have EVER owned. The sound is good when it works but to keep it connected to my wifi is a total nightmare. I have two Apple airport expresses connected to speakers and never,ever have any issues with these. If you use the Contour 200 as a dock it forgets the wifi connection and you have to spend hours reconnecting and often despite the white light suggesting all is well, it will not work. It cuts out mid song and will not reconnect. Then for some reason despite not touching anything it will just work. If I had issues with the Airport express connectivity I would blame the router but it is only ever this I have issues with. Not fit for purpose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound With Good Build Quality, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Great sounding speaker, packed with everything you need.... Even without an Apple product!

I was looking for a DAB radio for my son's Christmas present but stumbled on this, mainly due to the apparent price cut (60 quid). I already own a Pure DAB and it sounds amazing, so I thought this might work out better for him since he has an iPhone so can listen to internet radio in stead!

As a docking station, simply plonk the device on to the cradle and off you go. It sounds amazing for the size and has a great frequency response, kicking out some low end rumbles but remaining clear and not boomy in the slightest.

Wirelessly, it can connect via wifi or ethernet to your router and once on the network, shows up on most devices as a media device. Android phone for example I use BubbleUPNP (available on Play store) to cast music to it wirelessly and it works great! You can use other dlna players too I guess although I haven't tried.

Apple devices can connect without any additional apps using Airplay function but the speaker must be on the network first. Just follow the instructions which are simple enough.

Build quality and design are good. feels solid with no nasty vibrations when cranked up a bit. There is a single aux input for wired connections. This takes a small headphone sized jack plug, so useful for connecting other devices if you wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fanstastic bit of kit, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
This bit of kit is brilliant and sounds fantastic. not well advertised is the reason why not many sold. software is excellent too..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Bought this for my son and he is really pleased with the quality of the sound and the look of it. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning for Spotify users, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
I mainly use Spotify for listening to music however I was annoyed to find that this does not support playing music via spotify while docked.

If you attempt to play music on spotify directly (i.e. just docked) it will play then speakers will simply enter sleep mode after about a minute.

You can use Airplay in conjunction with Spotify to play audio through the speakers
However attempting to do this while docked just results in the behaviour outlined above.

The ability to disable the automatic sleep would be very handy!

I would not have purchased this product had I know, though it's my own fault for not checking supported services ahead of time.

Not used the speakers much due to these issues so can't really comment in that department.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy contender, 10 Aug. 2012
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There's fierce competition in the airplay market right now and Pure, a leading DAB brand have turned their considerable skills to good effect. The Contour 200i will play directly from a docked iPod/iPhone or iPad, an auxillary source or from any Airplay product (Apple devices or a PC with iTunes plugged in to a router). Whichever method you decide on, the set-up is very easy, even with Airplay. I have used many Airplay docks I can honestly say that this dock is one of the easiest to establish the initial link with (several of the competitor docks are very complicated to set up and drop the connection very easily, even in the high-end range). There is no LED display on the unit and it communicates via a multicoloured light - handily a guide to the colours is printed on the base (so there is no need to keep an instruction booklet nearby). After many hours of testing the Contour 200i it never dropped the connection once and easily switched from a docked iPhone to an Airplay iPad or the PC (via a wireless router cabled to the PC) with ease (you need to stop playing the other other device first).

The sound outperforms similar priced products. It's capable of party level music, with out any distortion whatsoever. The Contour 200i is not scared of bass, delivering a pounding vibe from club, dance, pop etc. Nu-metal and alternative played well, although some of the vocals where not as crisp as higher end Beats or Bose players as bass impeded vocals on a few tracks (those with deep vocals). The Pure is significantly cheaper though, so hear them first if you'll be playing predominantly guitar based music. Buyers looking to play mainstream music should be delighted with the output.

It's easy to place in the room due to the curved footprint and is smaller than the cheaper units, which use a larger size to compensate for poorer technology. No cables other then the power supply are required. As with all Airplay docks there are no visible wi-fi aerials.

Pure do supply an App {Pure Lounge) for Apple devices giving access to internet radio, an option to buy music, and oddly, bird noises and ambient sounds. The Pure Lounge doesn't scale on iPads where it looks fairly awful and the logging system is remarkably unhelpful if you forget your password. These niggles aside, there is some handy catch-up radio available on demand and it removes the need for a DAB radio too.

It includes a fairly basic remote which is usual for these products. The iPhone/iPod case needs to be fairly flush should you want to dock it in the case. It does charge the devices whilst docked.

Sitting mid-range this is a solid choice, an all rounder with the option of cranking it up without loss of quality. A welcome addition to the household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
Ok, so I was a little worried after purchasing this and reading some other reviews, esp as I use a BT homehub5 and I am really only going to use it for Airplay upstairs, its not the main sound system.

BUT....less than 10 minutes of it being delivered, it was up and running, and running brilliantly...

No drop out and sounds delicious...ok a tad bassy and I was about to say it prefers rock, but now listening to Katie Melua and its creamy and luxurious.... it probably has to be run in like any other decent speaker, it has only been running for an hour or so now,

If you can get this for fifty quid, then its a total bargain and well worth the money.

I am sooo glad I bought it....just need to convince the wife that its another gadget we needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works for me..., 13 May 2012
By 
StephenSEUK (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Contour 200i Wireless Digital Music System with AirPlay and Docking Station Speaker for iPad 1 2 3 4 / Iphone 1 2 3 3gs 4 4s / Ipod Touch Classic Nano (Electronics)
On the whole I am pleased with the Pure Contour 200i Air speaker.
As some of the other reviewers have mentioned the sound output is heavy on the base, however for my needs (speaker in the kitchen) it's adequate and compliments my AppleTV hooked up to the entertainment system in the living room.
It should be noted that multi-play on more than one Airplay speaker can only be sourced from iTunes on your PC/MAC, iOS does not support Airplay multi-speakers, however by using the Remote app on your device and remotely accessing the PC/MAC iTunes library multi-speaker output can be achieved via your Apple device.
I have an iPhone 4S iOS5.1.1 and the Airplay wireless connection to my BT Homehub 3 is flawless, very stable with no drops outs. The wireless set up is straightforward with clear instructions in the accompanying Owners Manual. The speaker and wireless connection is always `On' and easily available from the list of speakers on iTunes or the device within the Airplay "button". During set up the name of the speaker can be changed for ease of id.
The supplied remote has a number of useful features and works well, handy for volume control amongst other functions; the battery (CR2025) is easily accessible in the event of change.
The speaker itself has weight and feels substantial. It has a rubber footing on the base that suppresses any vibration.
I have a silicone skin cover on my iPhone 4S and I do not have remove this when docking into the speaker, which by the way has a very positive connection and when docked my iPhone charges up.
It is approx 36cm/14" in width and 23cm/9" high. The button on top LHS switches between Standby and Sleep and On, however the speaker status will auto wake up when it recognises Airplay from the device/PC/MAC. On the RHS on top you'll find three buttons: Mute, Volume Down and Volume Up.
On the front of the speaker, to the left of the docking point you'll find the unobtrusive status LED which can be seen through the speaker mesh, it's multi-functional with 7 different colours and light activity depending on status; these are defined in the Owners Manual.
Its mains powered only.
As I say suits my needs with good features and no connection issues, if I had more control of the base output I would give it 5 stars, hence a 4 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews