Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time!!!!
It is amazing how this gem of a series has been bypassed by DVD distributors for so long. This classic series was shown only once on ITV in 1978 (episodes 1 - 13) and in 1979 (episodes 14 - 26), and NEVER repeated following the demise of the regional ITV company that made it (for those too young to know, every 10 years, various companies had to bid to transmit their...
Published on 3 April 2012 by Mark Anthony Craig

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well Received
My eight year old daughter watched these dvd's back to back and enjoyed them very much..I tried to watch them with her, but found them very dated. If it had been set in the late 1930's? like the books, somehow the atmosphere would have been more in keeping with the original I think.
Published 15 months ago by R. Kerr


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic boxset, remastered, timeless adaptations, 23 Aug 2012
By 
Lee Peachair (Barnsley, South Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - The Complete Collectors Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Unlike the adventure series I bought recently, the Good old Famous Five, hold precious memories for me. The episodes are good adaptations of Blytons books, the dvds are remastered and the quality of picture and sound are excellentm especially when one considers these were shot back in the 1970s.

Brilliant for kids and adults alike who grew up with the tv show or reading the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic fun, 12 May 2014
By 
P. Rowley-brooke (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - The Complete Collectors Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Nostalgia with a capital 'N'! Certainly the most believable of the 'Five's' with some fine but occasionally variable acting from the main characters. The introduction of the gardener Rodgers allowed for artistic licence as many of the plots were reduced to fit into the time allowed. Still a very good & well presented set with the added bonus of seeing the actors 30 or so years on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - The Complete Collectors Edition [DVD] (DVD)
The books and this DVD keep you in a world without twitter, the internet and other distractions.
Kids love it and I still do.
The DVD is well presented in the box. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reproduction, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - The Complete Collectors Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Had seen this series when I was a kid and wanted it for my kids now. Beats any of the new stuff they show nowadays. Simple and beautifully picturised. Only problem was the amount of time the delivery took, but no regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY WELL RECEIVED, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - The Complete Collectors Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my grand-daughter who lives abroad. She absolutely loved the stories and hoped there were more available, but, from what I can see, there does not appear to be another series available.
By the way, her mother also enjoyed re-living her childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Famous Five Complete Box Set, 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - The Complete Collectors Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I have been waiting quite a long time for this come out and it is an excellent series which is long over due in its release. The only criticism I have with it why has all the Southern TV idents been removed from every programme. It is also good to be able to see every episode again something that I was not able to do in 1978/1979. The last episode was never shown due to the ITV strike and here in the Midlands I remember one of the later series 1 episodes - Five On A Secret Trail or Five on Billycock Hill not being shown because ATV in error showed the previous week's episode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She loved the books so I bought this for her, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - The Complete Collectors Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I wanted to introduce my 9 year old daughter to the retro feeling of the things I watched as a kid! She loved the books so I bought this for her. I remember being the same age and waiting for these once a week on day off school.
She really likes the adventures and off course Timmy!
As adults we can recognised some famous actors that we missed as kids.
Some of it is quite funny and aged!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kept my God daughters busy for hours and made them LOVE their visit to us, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - The Complete Collectors Edition [DVD] (DVD)
kept my God daughters busy for hours and made them LOVE their visit to us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful childrens entertainment., 3 July 2014
By 
J. A. Gillies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - The Complete Collectors Edition [DVD] (DVD)
the kids love it, so do the grownup's, good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to introduce today's children to some of the more ..., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - The Complete Collectors Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Great to introduce today's children to some of the more innocent pleasures of a bygone age. And childhood revisited for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Famous Five - The Complete Collectors Edition [DVD]
15.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews