Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drive Soundtrack.
I have been a big time movie lover for many years now. After watching the brilliant " BRONSON " Directed by Nicholas Winding Rfen i knew i would continue to like his films. I would strongly suggest buying Bronson and Valhalla rising. In fact you know what the Pusher Trilogy are worth getting aswell. Anyway back to the matter at hand not only is Drive a great arty flick...
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by Jimmy gore

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed delights!
This soundtrack starts well with some very good electro-pop tracks, ones which you may have heard in certain commercials. Then after the first five tracks it settles into the atmospheric orchestration which underpins the film. Its good to drive to in the twilight of a hot summers day, and its gentle, sinister, and suspenseful but not necessarily very dynamic.
Published 22 months ago by Deimos


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drive Soundtrack., 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: Drive (Audio CD)
I have been a big time movie lover for many years now. After watching the brilliant " BRONSON " Directed by Nicholas Winding Rfen i knew i would continue to like his films. I would strongly suggest buying Bronson and Valhalla rising. In fact you know what the Pusher Trilogy are worth getting aswell. Anyway back to the matter at hand not only is Drive a great arty flick which shows the inner workings of a reclusive man (Ryan Gosling) slowly arguably loosing his sanity, it features great landscapes shots of LA. Which are complimented by a phenomenal soundtrack with the likes of NightCall and Desire in the mix. I guess what i am saying is buy a shiny eighties jacket, pretend you have a cool American Muscle car, buy this soundtrack (and play it loud) and finally get a tooth pick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed delights!, 2 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This soundtrack starts well with some very good electro-pop tracks, ones which you may have heard in certain commercials. Then after the first five tracks it settles into the atmospheric orchestration which underpins the film. Its good to drive to in the twilight of a hot summers day, and its gentle, sinister, and suspenseful but not necessarily very dynamic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drive - ost, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive (Audio CD)
This is a typically good Cliff Martinez ost and it stands up against sex,lies and vt, Narc and Solaris. So CM is clearly one of the best film composers at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: Drive (Audio CD)
If you've loved the movie and if you like depeche mode, you will probably love this soundtrack. I have been listening to the first 3 tracks in loop for weeks now, Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very mellow listening, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film and great soundtrack. Amazing compositions that are melancholic and mesmerising. Would highly rate for anyone looking for a great chill out album irrespective of whether you like the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Music, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband said this was the best present I've ever given him - we've been together 22 years so that says something...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful..., 5 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Glenn Dollard "Glenn" (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drive (Audio CD)
If you've seen the movie you will understand this soundtrack. In my opinion this movie, despite some of its gruesome scenes is a love story.
Just listen to "A Real Hero" and you will realise the movie is about a reltaionship. Even the opening track along with the pink text makes you feel if you've been
around in the 80's this movie is not a stranger to that era.
The movie is, well 'Hazy' and various tracks from Cliff Martinez makes you feel this throughout the entire score.
I can relate this movie and soundtrack to another violent but romantic tale from Mr. Tarantino, namely True Romance.
This album is a must for any discerning collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star soundtrack for 5 star movie: well deserving of all the accolades, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Cliff Martinez, the ex-drummer of Red Hot Chili Peppers who has become a much sought after film composer, has been doing soundtracks for quite some time. He came on my radar screen in 2000 when he scored the movie "Traffic" (the drug drama from Steven Soderbergh starring Michael Douglas). I bought that CD all those years ago and thought to myself "this is something different, something special". But one can make a plausible argument that Martinez's true mainstream breakthrough actually came only years later when he scored the 2011 crime thriller "Drive".

"Drive: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack" (19 tracks; 70 min.) contains both the Cliff Martinez soundtrack (the last 14 tracks) and the 5 songs that appear throughout the movie are bunched together upfront to start this collection. I love that the score is uninterrupted by the songs. The score starts with "Rubber Head", setting the stage for a fantastic movie score that is at time pulsing, at times claustrophobic, at time melancholic, at time moody and dark. It all blends together perfectly, making this soundtrack thoroughly listenable and enjoyable in its own right, apart from the movie. My favorite tracks include "He Had a Good Time", "Where's The Deluxe Version?", and towards the end "On The Beach", inviting comparisons to some of Tangerine Dreams' movie scores from the mid/late 80s.

In all, the "Drive" soundtrack is an outstanding score from Cliff Martinez, well deserving of all the acclaim it has gotten. Martinez is a prolific movie composer, and if you liked "Driver", I would encourage you check out some of his other movie scores, such as "Only God Forgives" (in which Martinez reteams with the director of "Driver" and Ryan Gosling), "Arbitrage", "Traffic", "Spring Breakers" and "Contagion", just to name some obvious ones. Meanwhile "Drive: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this CD and I cannot lie, the tracks are super fly,
it is really good and sets the mood - to go and drive my car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 1 Mar 2014
By 
H. Nicholson (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the movie the soundtrack was so distinctive and hypnotic I had to buy. love it and listen to it regularly, a great 80's feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4891ea0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews