Customer Reviews
301


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Bow for E.S.T
The previous album, leucocyte, took the band in a new, mininal direction with sparse melodies and repetition. The initial couple of tracks are similar, with a gentle piano track giving way into a soundscape of thumping bass, electronic sounds, and mysterious piano chords. The fantastic backing provides intense tension as Svensson's melodies build up and break...
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by The Soft Machine Operator

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Leucocyte
Bought this cd on the recommendations of previous reviewers, but cannot share their enthusiasm at all. Already did not care much for Leucocyte, but ok, that was a unique look behind the scenes - us listening in on how many of their compositions originate from jam sessions. Now we get a second helping of that same session, even though E.S.T.'s management solemnly swore not...
Published on 11 Sep 2012 by MusicMyLife


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Bow for E.S.T, 26 Mar 2012
By 
The Soft Machine Operator (COVENTRY, WARWICKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The previous album, leucocyte, took the band in a new, mininal direction with sparse melodies and repetition. The initial couple of tracks are similar, with a gentle piano track giving way into a soundscape of thumping bass, electronic sounds, and mysterious piano chords. The fantastic backing provides intense tension as Svensson's melodies build up and break through.

This new album has more of the trademark E.S.T melodies than the previous album and some absolutely outstanding moments of ensemble playing, especially on Three Falling Free Part II, which builds up to a percussive climax. This is a superbly exciting track. The final track, is a slow ballad led alternately by Berglund's bass playing and Svensson's piano, with a touching melody running through it. It's similar, in style, to believe, bereft, below.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More musical magic fromEST, 3 April 2012
By 
M. Harding (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just received this last night and find myself playing it for the third time (notice another reviewer had a similar experience!) and can only add to the enthusiasm already expressed. On one hand hard to listen to and deal with the ongoing sense of lose I feel at Esbjorn's death, but happy to have been able to see them once and more happy still to be able to listen to such a wonderful posthumous offering. Amazing - and I have to agree that "... Three Falling Free Part II, which builds up to a percussive climax..." is an awesome track. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUSICAL MAELSTROM MASTER MUSICIANS, 29 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only reeceived this about six or seven hours ago,and this is the fifth time i have listenend to it in its entirety,if you want dull predictable and boring,then this is definately not your thing.
The album starts with the solo pino tune "Behind the stars"a reflective piece that seques into the magnificent"Inner city city lights"a long brooding malevalant track,this ios then followed by another 12 minute track"The left lane" that features great playing by Esbjorn,very fluid in tempo until about half way through,when the tempo slows right down with some fine Bass solo work by Dan Berglund.the drummerMagnus Ollstrum is no slouch either.
"Houston the fifth"a short electronic sound scape follows,withits out of this world ambience,which then melds into the plaintive"Tree falling free part one" which has some wonderful playing on it by Esbjorn,this is followed by "Tree falling free part two" which at over 14 minutes is the longest track on the album,which is good because it gives the trio time to express themselves and extend thier creativity,which within this trio was immence,the whole thing builds to a stunning cresendo of sound.
The whole album is bought to an end,by the stunning 8 minute track"The childhood dream",a slower paced tune that stand up well.
I own all 13 EST albums,as well as the solo releasesand i feel that Esbjorn would have rated this amongst the best had he still been alive today,i miss him not only as a master musician,but a human being.

ESBJORN SVENSSON......GRAND PIANO,ELECTRONICS,TRANSISTOR RADIO
DAN BERGLUNDDig It To The End - Tonbruket.....DOUBLE BASS,ELECTRONICS.
MAGNUS OSTROMThread Of Life - Magnus Ostrom.....DRUMS,VOCALS,ELECTRONICS

61.04

RELEASED 2012

ACT

ESBJORN SVENSSON....R.I.P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you have the rest, you have to have this, 3 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its hard at first to listen because it feels like a new cd. I can't believe they had so much music to offer.
i am so used to listen to my heroes, so many passed on. est were probably the most exciting jazz trio ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final bow for a great pianist., 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of e.s.t.'s greatest albums, and even arguably their ultimate work, in every sense of the word.
It represents a colossal achievement, as they take their final bow. The 2007 material might be extremely varied in tone and approach, partly out of necessity, doubtless governed by the available recordings, but this circumstance works to the album's advantage. It's a summation of where the trio had been, and also of where these perpetually evolving players were heading next.
(Martin Longley 2012-03-12; [...])
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellento!, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended. E.S.T. doing their thing at the top of their game. The 'Childhood Dream' is a peach. What a tragedy to lose such a great musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EST another smash, 27 Oct 2014
By 
No Scandinavian jazz collection is complete without this EST masterpiece.
They were one of the foremost piano/drum /bass trios and I believe this is music from 2007-8
It is beautifully crafted and to my mind more approachable than Leucocyte
I rate EST as high as Marcin WasilewskiTrio (Polish) & Brad Meldhau Trio and Esbjorn piano /leader was at the top of his game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leucocytes Sister, 21 Oct 2012
By 
Dennis Jakobsen (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a huge loss when Esbjörn checked out from planet earth, especially afer listening to Leucocyte and the musical direction that EST where going towards,I was looking forward to many more years of fantastic music from EST. I was so exceited, when I listend to 301, which is a great statement to leave behind. 301 is a MUST buy for all fans of great piano trio music,even for all human beings with intrest in exploring great music with no boundaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Leucocyte, 11 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this cd on the recommendations of previous reviewers, but cannot share their enthusiasm at all. Already did not care much for Leucocyte, but ok, that was a unique look behind the scenes - us listening in on how many of their compositions originate from jam sessions. Now we get a second helping of that same session, even though E.S.T.'s management solemnly swore not to cash in on Esbjórn's demise. The only thing I can hear (again) is what could have been, should several pieces have been condensed and knitted together into one song. How many more jams, out-takes, live recordings are going to follow...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Sep 2014
By 
Dt Henry Carr "Henry" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well played & produced, just not my type of music. Bought on a whim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

301
301 by e.s.t. Esbjörn Svensson Trio
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews