Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately tonight Josephine!!
Based on this album alone,long may the current European electro swing movement continue.I think it is safe to say the UK has a bit of catching up to do in this area,although I notice Sky TV slipping in the odd bit of swing during various trailers these days.
This is classy swing dance music of the highest order.For those familiar with this type of music the name...
Published on 28 Sep 2010 by Archie Grimwald

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit seventies
It's a bit disco ,the cover sleeve deceives I don't think there are any songs that I would remember the following day after listening to them
Published 15 months ago by Terry


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately tonight Josephine!!, 28 Sep 2010
This review is from: Tonight Josephine (Audio CD)
Based on this album alone,long may the current European electro swing movement continue.I think it is safe to say the UK has a bit of catching up to do in this area,although I notice Sky TV slipping in the odd bit of swing during various trailers these days.
This is classy swing dance music of the highest order.For those familiar with this type of music the name Brenda Boykin should be enough to justify a purchase! Electro swing is not really to sit and listen to;its intention is to get several parts of your anatomy moving to the beat. A blend of swing jazz with electro disco funky beats to spice up the mix.Upbeat tempo abounds with a few suprises in the form of Far Far Away-yes this is a swing version of the old Slade hit and it works really well and also (I believe) an old classic 'Birds Like It'. A whole album of electro swing can sometimes sound a bit similar but the rhythmns and melodies mixed here are a nice variety.I d.j.ed a party recently and electro swing music goes down a storm.I suspect people are just glad to hear decent beats that don't sound like products of TV show talent factories. Recommended for anyone born with rhythmn in their heart!If I could I would award a sixth star for the sexy girl on the cover-RAAAARRR!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, fun and delicious., 25 Oct 2011
By 
D. A. England (west sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonight Josephine (Audio CD)
Like other reviewers, I was brought to this album via Caro Emerald's excellent 'Deleted Scenes from the Cutting Room Floor'. The comparison is a good one, but as delightful as Caro Emerald's album is, this offering from Tape Five is quite simply stunning. The strength of the writing, both musically and lyrically, combined with exquisite production is a pure joy to listen to. This is, without doubt, one of the best albums I have heard in many years.

Each song stands out, with terrific little nods to swing music of bygone years, even down to vinyl 'scratches' and distortion on the vocals as though they were recorded on those great old microphones that looked like huge Victory V lozenges. Smooth brass, infectious percussion and 'hotel foyer' piano are overlaid with synth noises and sampled vocals; little reprises of some of the musical motifs provide a jaunty reminder, and the whole thing simply oozes sophistication in the production. In places the songs have their tongue firmly in their cheek, but at no time does any of the trickery start to wear thin - everything about the album is perfectly balanced. Having produced a variety of music in the past, I can appreciate the enormous effort that has gone into this album.

Like a fruit pastille (which we know can't be held in the mouth without chewing) I believe it's impossible to listen to Tape Five without a part of you, or indeed all of you, dancing. Whether you listen to swing or jazz or not, if you like good music this should be in your collection. Fabulous fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't keep still!, 31 Aug 2011
By 
H. Jones "Hellsbells" (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonight Josephine (Audio CD)
After listening to Caro Emerald's CD (Deleted scenes from the cutting room floor), I had to buy this one too. And wow, it didn't disappoint. This style of music is just contagious. Upbeat, alive just fab. Get home from work and put this on and I just can't keep still. It's impossible! Value for money and a selection of great artists. More, more, more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Electro Swing, 17 July 2011
By 
P. Griffiths (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tonight Josephine! (MP3 Download)
I discovered Electro Swing after hearing Caro Emeralds 'A Night Like This' on the radio and then downloading Scenes from the Cutting Room Floor Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor. Electro Swing is basically jazz, swing and big band style music from the 20's, 30's and 40's fused with modern genres such as Electro, House and Hip Hop - it works really well. For me some other Electro Swing music goes a bit too far towards the modern but Tonight Josephine stays pretty true to the original swing style and feel.

Normally a bit of Prog Rock fan I find this type of music fun and uplifting and you will find it hard not to tap your feet, fingers and other body parts to the beat! Tonight Josephine is a very fine album, well produced with quality vocals and superb musicians - I love it.

If you like this album also check out Swing Republic Electro Swing Republic which is also a very good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight Josephine - Tape Five, 24 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonight Josephine (Audio CD)
Amazon have this as "frequently bought together with" Caro Emerald's Deleted Scenes from the Cutting Room Floor, which is how I found Tape Five. Intruiged by the other reviews and, lets be honest, drawn by the album cover, I popped over to amazon.com to hear some samples of the album. Another reviewer has written more eleoquently about their music than I can but, suffice to say, Tape Five now have a new fan. Can't recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight Josephine, 17 Oct 2013
By 
G. Hadfield "GH Bolton" (Bolton, Gtr Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonight Josephine (Audio CD)
This is one of Tape Fives best CDs. Modern take on past sounds and all carried out with excellent vocal and instrumental excellence.

Not the cheapest of CDs but I'm pleased with the music and smooth transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Travel, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonight Josephine (Audio CD)
What an amazing CD ! I can't really identify the type of music on this CD other than to say it sometimes sounds like 1920's Jazz which is mixed with electronic input of the 21st century. However, whatever is is it makes for a fantastic and enjoyable experience. when playing this I find if I close my eyes I get transported back to a Berlin nightclub sometime in the pre-war eara.

A great CD, but rather like Marmite, you either love it or hate it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upbeat music, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonight Josephine! (MP3 Download)
Good music to play when you're entertaining or feeling in a good mood. Just let the music improve whatever you're doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonight Josephine (Audio CD)
I bought Swing Patrol, liked it so much bought this , great CD , if you are into this era of music, its for you , will buy others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel the groove, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonight Josephine (Audio CD)
Oh wow!!! Forget Caro Emerald.....this is the bunny. An amazing eclectic mix of trad jazz and 1920's rythmn. Bet you can't stop yourself from dancing to 'Dixie Biscuit'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tonight Josephine!
Tonight Josephine! by Tape Five
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews