Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible.
What an absolutely incredible record this is!
Its like the whole folk movement of the 60s didn't happen till now.
Fragile beauty runs seamlessly through each track.
Joan Baez and Bob Dylan must be the TEENAGE sisters grandparents.
A timeless classic that gets better with every listen.
Maturity far beyond their years just what the future bring is...
Published on 20 Feb. 2010 by Paul Price

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
I expected something better from this nice band
Published 15 days ago by tommkat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible., 20 Feb. 2010
By 
Paul Price "ironicbliss" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an absolutely incredible record this is!
Its like the whole folk movement of the 60s didn't happen till now.
Fragile beauty runs seamlessly through each track.
Joan Baez and Bob Dylan must be the TEENAGE sisters grandparents.
A timeless classic that gets better with every listen.
Maturity far beyond their years just what the future bring is anyone's guess.
Going by this record life can only help enrich an already well executed take on life's twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Sounds - New Voices, 31 Jan. 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This beautiful album by Swedish sisters Klara and
Johanna Soderberg displays extraordinary musical
maturity and technical dexterity given that they
are only 16 and 19 years old respectively.

The sound they make, however, is as old as Methuselah.

The radiant simplicity and purity of vocal tone displayed
in these twelve economical arrangements is magical.
Their voices combine in harmonies which possess the
capacity to express complex and convincing emotion.

The Roches (sisters Maggie, Terre and Suzzy) in their
glorious heyday come to mind from time to time and
that is no bad thing. It has everything to do with
the combination of pathos, gently quirky humour and
soaring vocal pyrotechnics.

The album flows from A to Z in a seamless
line of inspired and flawless artistry.

It's difficult to pick out highlights when everything is
so good but standout tracks would have to include :
the whistful 'A Window Opens' with its waltz-time melody and
terse laconic narrative; the heart-wrending country-folk
lament 'Ghost Town'; 'I Met Up With The King', with its
hauntingly surreal imagery and curious instrumental decoration
and the blissfully plaintive reflections of 'Wills Of The River'.

The true beauty of this music arises from the simple fact
that everything we hear is exactly in the right place.
Balanced, coherent and consummately performed, First Aid Kit's
debut album is, a truly remarkable and memorable achievement.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 9 May 2013
By 
M. Hirst "M the Saxophonist" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this CD. I know others have said it isn't so good, it being their first one, but if you listen to it more than once you will see how wonderful it is. Highly recommend a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, damn good., 17 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yeah - pretty and damn good just about sums them up I'd say. Some amazing vocal harmonies in deceptively simple songs. For those who like voice, you'd be hard pushed to find a stronger pair anywhere in the current musical universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric Swedish folk, 13 Aug. 2010
By 
Sarah Butler (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw First Aid Kit at Lounge on the Farm and was mesmerised - I came straight home and bought this. The CD's not quite as fabulous as the live act, but three of the tracks are magical and it's worth owning just for them (In the Morning; Hard Believer; I Met Up With The King). First Aid Kit are two Swedish sisters - 16 and 19 years old, I believe - who sound as though they've been singing together for centuries yet are at the same time wonderfully fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deserving of plaudits, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The single "I Met up with a King" and "Hard Believer" are stand out tracks on this album. That's not to belittle the rest of the album which more than holds it own and is consistently good throughout. The beautiful harmonies and crafting of the melodies is deserved of four stars - the 5th star is only missing as their are a couple of tracks which seem a little off the feel of the rest of the songs.

Its a huge improvement over the debut EP which was still a great start for these girls and it sits perfectly between that and the latest Lions Roar album which is even better. still the quality of the songs here is reflected in their live performance of which many of these songs still feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vocalistically genius, 15 Mar. 2010
By 
Paul Mitchard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent album from the two teenage sisters from Sweden. Musically well beyond their youthful years. Superb vocalists it will draw you in and consume your soul.Deserve and hopefully will achieve the recognition their talents warrant. They are even better LIVE.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fist aid kit naff name brilliant music, 12 Feb. 2012
first heard acouple of years ago doing a tribute to fleet foxes on you tube.these girls have developed their own style of singing.refreshingly different to run of the mill pop music around.a cross between folk,country,and pop.both albums are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prodigious, 12 Feb. 2010
By 
Sandman "Sandman" (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since buying this a few days ago, I have listened to little else, and only then because I know I ought to. These two really are something: both are good singers individually, but when they combine in harmony, it's almost supernatural. When you consider how young they are, and that they are singing in a second language, then this album and the earlier EP, are phenomenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, beautiful, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Black and The Blue (MP3 Download)
Beautiful, beautiful,beautiful. I love this album. If you like gorgeous female voices joined in perfect harmonies singing haunting and lyrical songs, this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Black and The Blue
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews