Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure at it's Best
"The Settler" was a wonderful tale, rich in the history of a land and its peoples. The characters are well thought out and their relationships intriguingly complex. A second volume would be most welcome, as I found myself not quite ready to let go of Martin (The Settler) and the woman whose heart he has finally won. There are a lot of strong characters in this book, and...
Published on 23 Sep 2012 by Mel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawn.
I can only conclude this book was more fact than fiction. It was exceedingly boring and long winded. I found both Martin and Perry to be weak and rather pathetic. Never able to truly make up their minds about anything, especially woman, seemingly thinking themselves in love with every woman who passed their way. I bought this book because I grew up in Rhodesia/Zimbabwe,...
Published 13 months ago by Sian Stewart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Settler, 24 July 2012
By 
Barbara Ormerod (Naples, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Settler (Paperback)
The Settler is an excellent novel, a story of love and conflict on several levels set against the backdrop of the early pioneers in Southern Africa, and the political and military history of those times.
The period between 1890 and 1902 was a time of upheaval and war between the native African tribes, the Boers and the British and many of the main historical events are captured. The fictional characters are skillfully woven into the fabric of the time as they find themselves involved in these events and meet up with some of the leading contemporary figures including Rhodes, Smuts, Botha, Kitchener, Lloyd George and even a cameo of the young Winston Churchill.
The story is told from the viewpoint of the British settlers and the Boers both of which groups are well portrayed and the author clearly has a good grasp of their history and lives. To some extent this is at the expense of the Native Africans who remain somewhat shadowy figures either as marauding hordes or as servants or workers who play no real part in the development of the story.
The conflict of war is obvious, but Martin, our hero, deals with many personal conflicts including a long running battle with his enforced fellow traveller the rather dilettante American, Perry, whose motivation for being there could not be more different from that of the determined and serious Martin. Their rivalry runs throughout the story and involves their desire for the same woman, and their ideas on whether to drive forward or stay in the comfort of the relatively peaceful major cities. They even contrive to end up on opposing sides when war inevitably breaks out. Martin also finds himself heavily conflicted in his own love life. He finds it quite easy to fall in love, but his difficulty in expressing his feelings together with a strong sense of duty and guilt leaves the women in his life both confused and disappointed. His indecisiveness in love contrasts strongly with his approach to everything else.
This story is too good to spoil by revealing any more of the plot but suffice it to say that there is action and character development aplenty. There is a fast moving and very readable style which coupled with vivid descriptions of the time by an author who has a good understanding of the period, a genuine feeling for the country and who has done his research lifts this novel above the ordinary.
It means that from a relatively slow start in Oxfordshire, the plot builds pace and excitement until the reader just feels compelled to keep going to the end. I can recommend this book very strongly and hope that another one will soon be forthcoming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended....., 8 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Settler (The Lion and the Leopard Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Once you start this well-written novel about war and romance, you'll be hooked to the end.
An intriguing story that takes place between 1890 and 1902 in the frontier lands of the
Transvaal--Rhodesia, Zimbabwe--and South Africa will pull you back in time to a wild
and dangerous life similar to that of the American Wild West. It is a well-woven blend
of history and fiction--I especially like that even the young Winston Churchill had
a few lines of dialogue! Graphic battle action, salacious sex scenes, with the beautiful
grasslands and savannahs of Africa all have the makings of a movie. Intellectually this
is certainly more than a step-up from your typical bestselling novel. Looking forward
to more from this author!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... it was set in Africa and had some very good ratings. I enjoyed the historical and geographical background ..., 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settler (The Lion and the Leopard Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book because it was set in Africa and had some very good ratings. I enjoyed the historical and geographical background hence the three stars. However, In relation to the actual story line and characterization I thought it was almost all totally unbelievable . The main character is weak and pathetic although I believe the story attempts to portray him as strong and courageous . Another character is an extremely wealthy English Lord. He goes to Africa to acquire land and takes a job on a farm so he can learn how to manage a farm ! Why would he do that ? He is not an adventurous sort of man so how believable is this? Fiction has to be credible and this book was not credible for me . I did finish it but it was hard going . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A novel of South Africa's violent past, 29 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: The Settler (Paperback)
Martin dreams of a life outside of England, in Africa where he can explore a new land, settle down someday, and farm. Before he departs, he is asked by a friend of his father, to take an unruly young American named Perry Davenport to South Africa with him. Perry has been tasked with seeking out for an uncle who owns and operates several gold mines. Little is Martin to know that Perry will become a nemesis in many ways.

Set in South Africa during the end of the 19th century, The Settler is an intriguing adventure rich with historical accuracy and a touch of romance. The story sweeps the reader into the heart of the Matabele War, the Mashonaland Rebellion, and finally the Second Boer War. Some of the war scenes are not for the feint of heart, but war is war and the graphic are accurately depicted and feel very real. I found the scenes that concerned the women and children in the concentration camps most poignant of all.

There is definitely something for everyone in this sweeping novel. Nicely written, with plenty of emotional turmoil, I enjoyed this historical novel and learning more about the Boer war in exotic Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book well worth a read, 13 April 2014
By 
Robin S ( Bucks ) "Robin S" (High Wycombe Bucks England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settler (The Lion and the Leopard Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book had me enthraled from cover to cover and I would recommend it to anyone interested in South Africa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb from start to finish!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settler (The Lion and the Leopard Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The Settler is one of those "can't put down" books. The characters are all so real; the story line so vivid and wonderfully colourful. South Africa and beyond. History unfolding.
Congratulations to Brian Duncan. Next one please - and soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settler (The Lion and the Leopard Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book hard to put down especially if you have lived in Africa as I have good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read highly recommended, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settler (The Lion and the Leopard Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent. It was like revisiting all the places I had visited whilst living in South Africa and Rhodesia. Let my interest and wanting to see what happened all the way through the book. I will definitely try other books on Africa by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brill.. Quite a SAGA, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settler (The Lion and the Leopard Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A fabulous story of "A Man's Man". Jam Packed Full of adventure and historic references.
A very easy read.. Very Enjoyable..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put the book down., 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settler (The Lion and the Leopard Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great book, will be keen to find out when the author is publishing another. Enjoyed the detailed history he portrayed throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews