Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!
I love this book, its been a great addidtion to my library of nutrition books and the recipies in it are fantastic!

Dr McDougal's plan works wonders and this stuff really should be thought in schools to our kids, the book has helped me loose lots of weight and bring my BMI down to around 21 all without doing any exercise! I really dont think i could ever go...
Published 11 months ago by Philip Demetriou

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The starch solution.
Slightly disappointed with this book. Most of the info. is the same as in his other books. The only redeeming feature are the recipes that his Wife has put in.
Published 16 months ago by Patricia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Philip Demetriou (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book, its been a great addidtion to my library of nutrition books and the recipies in it are fantastic!

Dr McDougal's plan works wonders and this stuff really should be thought in schools to our kids, the book has helped me loose lots of weight and bring my BMI down to around 21 all without doing any exercise! I really dont think i could ever go back to the standard diet after reading this and Dr Graham's 80/10/10 book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a whole food plant based nutrition book that doesn't turn out cranky., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Starch Solution: Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good! (Kindle Edition)
I have recently read a number of books in the area of whole food plant based nutrition and they all seem to start out well but then in some way leave me feeling I can't share that with friends for fear of being branded some sort of a freak.
For example Eat For Health by Joel Fuhrman starts out great, but seems to advocate living on 1300 calories a day - surely madness for an active person?
The Starch Solution gives the health benefits of a plant based diet whilst providing all the energy you need to live an active life.
For an entertaining but opinionated advocate check out Durianrider on YouTube!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but not well written, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with most of what Mcdougall says in this: whole starches really are the solution to most of our health problems. I believe that Mcdougall is one of the best nutrition experts out there and that he promotes a practical, inexpensive, healthy diet that can solve many health issues (as well as promote compassion to animals, protection of the environment and better stewardship of resources). As a general rule (there are exceptions) vegetarians normally tend to fail when they don't center their diets on starches and don't get enough high quality calories from carbs, i've seen this in my own personal experience when i tried to follow a diet high in vegetables and lower in starches: i felt weak and without energy, i simply wasn't consuming enough calories and when i reverted back to a starch based diet my energy shot right up again and i began feeling great. All major civilizations have always based their diets on starches and have thrived and all endurance athletes have always had to follow a starch based diet in order to win. My only criticism is that the book is not very well written and certain chapters are actually just parts of mcdougall's newsletters (some are really great but he could have rewritten them). Overall i would say the China study is probably a better book but the Starch solution has some superb information and is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take control of your health, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been following the Starch Solution nutrition plan for two months and after 7 years of statins and blood pressure medication, with my doctors astonished agreement, I am now completely off them. The whole food plant based diet is completely brilliant, and scientifically verified, and this is to my mind the clearest and fullest explanation of what is involved in taking charge and regaining your health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book by a sincere and amazing pioneer., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John McDougall is one of a bunch of pioneers who advocate a plant based diet as being the healthiest diet for us all to adopt. It is not a diet book however but it explains how our ancestors survived on a starch based diet as many still do today. There are also many amazing stories by people who have been cured of many different illnesses by making the change to a starch based diet. Overall a very interesting book and proof that by changing your diet you can enjoy a healthier life. I can vouch for this as I changed initially to a vegetarian diet and then to a complete plant based diet a couple of years ago and wonder why I didn’t do it years ago. The benefits have been enormous.
I would also recommend you see his many videos on YouTube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for those already convinced but requiring a battleplan, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A perfect introduction to some of the essential paradigms of good health, aimed at an overweight and sceptical audience who have 'heard it all before' from low-carb gurus, supplement vendors and high-carb advocates. Mcdougall provides a framework for understanding who you should listen to when it comes to your health. In sum the admonition is: follow the money.

He does well to cram the science information and also a rather comprehensive game-plan into just one book, but just by the nature of such an endevour the science may not be as thorough as some readers might desire. However that is not to say the science information is very dissatisfactory or lacking. If you come to this book with a certain stubborness, you will find the science insufficient so therefore if it's a greater volume of proof you want then The China Study by T Colin Campbell should pass the test.

In general though if you want to possess a considerably greater control over your own health then this book is about as good a place to begin as you're likely to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Usual Standard, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought the book to be his usual high standard but repeated a lot from previous books. I was disappointed though when if came to the recipes, there were so many for 6 or 8 servings! Excellent book to buy if you are thinking of going on a plant based diet. Tells you everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener !, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Starch Solution: Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good! (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant. It's a pity that the sound advice will be missed by the majority.of people who are all brainwashed by the food industry and
Government for the sake of money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to read and follow, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very easy to read and follow: it includes recipes, a seven-day starter programme, and stories of lots of people who have lost lots of weight and regained their health by following the advice (including some striking before and after photo). As someone with some understanding of scientific method, I do believe John McDougall is right - when you look at the evidence, this way of eating is the right way for health, and this book makes a great deal of sense.Don't be mislead by the promoters of low-carb diets. The Author, John McDougall, has made hundreds of his patients well by using nutrition rather than drugs. You can watch his lectures on YouTube and on his excellent website. If this way of eating can reverse disease, it can certainly play a major part in preventing it. John McDougall is not the only doctor in America who has healed his patients with nutrition, and there is now a great deal of evidence that a plant-based diet where you get the majority of your energy from complex carbohydrates (based on whole foods, not refined, processed foods) is the healthiest way to eat. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars READ THIS BOOK ..., 14 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Starch Solution: Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good! (Kindle Edition)
If you've ever tried to diet - and failed... READ THIS BOOK. If you're curious about vegetarian/vegan lifestyle and what it could do for your health READ THIS BOOK.... If you're on already on a plant based diet but feel you can't eat enough - RAED THIS BOOK... Ere are many many reasons to READ THIS BOOK.... It's written in plain English for all/any to understand., it's full of facts and figures to "backup" what it's stating., it's peppered with real-life examples / testimonials and has recipes at the back of the book to whet your appetite & get you started... (I've already ordered this for one friend as a gift and can think of at least one more person whom ought to read this!!) final thought READ THIS BOOK ;) no really., do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews