Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality show once again
I bought this from one of the sellers(michasbooks). It came from Singapore. What great quality video. No fussing choosing language. The box is amazing. It has this thin plastic cover that has this blood-like liquid that moves about and drips down the cover.
A small touch but well thought out.
The show once again gives a golden performance. A new storyline. A...
Published on 26 Nov 2009 by Stephen Luff

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fantasy fan
I have always enjoyed Dexter which is full of moral ambiguity, however whilst still worth watching, this is my least favourite series. The character of Miguel is annoying and Dexter's relationship with him unbelievable.I feel the writer's need to take a rest from trying to always make Dexter make an emotional connection with another character.
Published on 23 Sep 2010 by D. Childs


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality show once again, 26 Nov 2009
By 
Stephen Luff "Stephen L" (Worthing, Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this from one of the sellers(michasbooks). It came from Singapore. What great quality video. No fussing choosing language. The box is amazing. It has this thin plastic cover that has this blood-like liquid that moves about and drips down the cover.
A small touch but well thought out.
The show once again gives a golden performance. A new storyline. A move away from the previous seasons. Exploring new facets of Dexter's new confidence and self-exploration.
A friendship forms and leads to pretty dark sharing. Dexter explores such a close friendship that he's never had before.
I was hoping to string this out to 2 episodes a week. No chance! I ended up being a complete glutton with a final 6 episodes feast in one evening.
They develop each episode so well that its nearly impossible not to watch the next one.
I'm going to add though that this is no better than the first two episodes. That's not to put it down but I think sometimes one forgets the excitement of the previous seasons and how one felt with them. All 3 as far as I'm concerned are equally brilliant.
As usual with this though one does have to wonder on the attraction to a serial killer.
Personally I love the inner dialogue. I certainly feel I can identify with his social skills. Also do we all have such love for all our work colleagues and every social acquaintance? Dexter feels he's got dark issues because he feels he's not as attached as he should be. Yet I feel I identify with him in this area.
So although its a horrendous dark side it could be transposed with different things one doesn't want to openly discuss.

If you aren't aware that Michael C. Hall is in Six Feet Under: Complete Seasons 1-5 [2001] then you have 5 seasons of brilliant tv to watch as well. The quality of 6 feet under is just as good as dexter, although on a slightly different slant. I could see how the work of Michael in 6 feet under lead the creators of Dexter to choose him. Although he doesn't have the primary role, the other characters are really strong and interesting in very different ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dexter's brilliance continues, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Chris Widgery (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dexter - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The saga of our lovable serial killer continues in the third season. After the high jinks of season two, where Dexter became the subject of a massive police and FBI man hunt, the action is more low key this time round. The season arc is about the hunt for the Skinner, but the real meat of the story is Dexter's relationship with ambitious, thrusting Assistant DA Miguel Prado (played by Jimmy Smits). Very early on, Dexter kills Prado's brother, but the two soon become close friends. To Dexter's surprise, Miguel's frustration with the rules and process of the criminal justice system lead them both to unexpected places. Set against this is Dexter's home life becoming more complicated; Rita is pregnant and a wedding is on the cards.

As with previous series, this deftly juggles dark humour with genuine emotion, and the very core of the story remains Dexter's search for himself. The relationship with his foul mouthed sister Deb continues to delight, and the cast of supporting characters are all hitting their stride.

This is hugely enjoyable television, and it has more depth than might appear at first glance. Highly recommended (but don't watch this until you have seen the previous two series)

PS Julie Benz has had some work done, hasn't she?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still superb!, 2 Jun 2010
This review is from: Dexter - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit I'm surprised by some of the comments by other reviewers. Maybe this third series was not quite as good as the first couple of series. however, it is still fantastic gripping television and by far better than the majority of programmes showing on UK TV. Dexter is still well and truly amongst the cream of US imports delivering extremely well written, well acted & suspenseful TV. The stories and characters have all developed and it's fascinating watching the evolution of Dexter as life changes all around him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dex 3, 21 Dec 2009
By 
every bit as tense and subversive as the first 2 seasons. depressed now i've finished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dexterous dexter does his thing, 24 Feb 2010
If you have seen seasons 1 and 2 then you know who Dexter is and what he does.
The 3rd season is excellent,as D continues to evolve in unusual ways.His "normal" persona is forming a strong attachment to the children of his girlfriend.So much so,that when there is the hint of a threat to them(in the form of a man D discovers is a pedophile),D breaks all the "rules" that govern his murderous behaviour(only kill convicted killers who got off on a technicality) to dispatch the pedophile before he can act.He also discovers his kind,caring,girlfriend is pregnant by him and is faced with the prospect of fatherhood!At the office,he steers his cop sister through a few cases to boost her chances of promotion,but the most intense part is when he is actually "caught" by an ambitious A.D.A at the scene of his latest victim.The ADA, does not turn in Dexter as he mistakenly believes that D has dispatched the murderer of his own brother.Thereafter, a strange relationship develops between the 2,that D ultimately must resolve.
Anyway ,lots of episodes that take D further.I was given the U.S. version by a friend,so am not sure what will be on the UK version.But the U.S. version has loads of extra's on disc 4.In general,I find the U.S. versions have a lot more on them than those sold in the UK,so if you can,and are a real fan,try to get the U.S. versions of DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Season 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Was fantastic. This show doesn't let me down. The seasons just get better as the show goes on. Look forward to next boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone needs a favourite serial killer., 11 Dec 2011
By 
Mr (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wasn't too sure about the premise of this series, but once I had watched Season 2 I was hooked. The performance by Michael C Hall is nothing short of brilliant, rarely has one actor held together an entire series in such an effortless way. Dexter is for those of us who like smart telly, with a dark twist or two. Warning there is a LOT of blood and some people I have watched the series with have found this off putting, me I don't mind! Dexter doesn't take itself too seriously and the Miami setting is a nice change from darker series that tend to focus on LA or New York. The plotlines develop over the season so with this box set what you are getting is very satisfying and addictive viewing, highly reccomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dexter..the best, 24 Jun 2010
By 
P. Shawyer "Pat Shawyer" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dexter - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Having been told to watch Dexter for a very long time, by family members, we finally got around to watching series 1 just a month ago, we have now watched 4 series (Series 3 and 4 were sent from the US) and all I can say is, its the best programme I have watched for a very long time. Dont be put off by the thought of Dexter being a serial killer, you will get to like him a lot and not want him caught !
Michael C Hall is superb, as are all the characters in this show. I dont understand people saying Series 3 is not as good as 1 & 2..to me, each series gets slightly better than the last, and just wait for series 4! DO NOT look up series 4 on the internet, it will spoil a very shocking finale !
If you are new to Dexter, just buy all 3 series and enjoy, you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ADA Miguel Prado becomes an apprentice?, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dexter - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
After the success of season one and season two we that shows needs to deliver if it is going to build on the first two seasons. There some rather notable new character insertions, the introduction of ADA (also known as Assistant District Attorney) Miguel Prado. The role is played superbly by actor Jimmy Smits. We see through random, yet fateful convergence of paths they become friends. This fiendish is an unknown element in Dexter's life. This is a friendship that holds a costly price. While some episodes seem to stretch the realms of the plausible - I have really enjoyed them as each story is `fresh' and entertaining, season 3 has good acting and great storytelling. My opinion, for what it is worth, if you cannot buy it, at least rent on-line, but definitely give them a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dexter 3, 27 Dec 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dexter - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This third series of Dexter follows the same pattern as previous series. Whilst working in the Miami homicide department Dexter kills deserving criminals who got away with their crimes. Each episode usually has it's own story where Dexter hunts and kills his target and then there is the over-arcing series story, this time the hunt for `The Skinner', that is interwoven.

In this series Dexter and Rita's relationship takes another step and Dexter also finds a new friend, but there may be more to him than meets the eye.

Thankfully this is still written very well and had me second guessing and teetering on the edge of my seat the whole way through. I found the ending had slightly less impact than the previous series' did, but it was still adequate payoff for the time spent watching the DVD. Michael C Hall is as amazing as ever as Dexter and whilst the actress who plays his sister is still pretty wooden and gets annoying due to playing a loud mouthed arrogant character, at least her performance here is better than in series 1 or 2. That's the thing I've found with Dexter overall actually, the story is excellent and keeps you gripped and Michael C Hall is excellent, but the rest of the cast give changeable performances and sometimes are very believable and other times they make you cringe. If you feel the same way as me about series 1 and 2, you will see that nothing much has changed here.

All in all, this is another superb Dexter series and it develops his character, the back story to his life, his relationships and the overall theme very well indeed. You shouldn't be disappointed.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dexter - Season 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Dexter - Season 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Michael C. Hall (Blu-ray - 2012)
£16.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews