Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars27
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2012
Too many compilations recycle the same old well known tracks, time after time. This is an excellent selection of tracks which biases to the lesser known but still well worthy tracks. The Ronnettes tracks are a perfect example, taken from their days with the Colpix label, pre Spector. Don't be put off by this. Remember that the record charts have one number one track, and then a host of others below it - all worthy of respect in terms of music quality and sales achieved. Too often the 'others' just get ignored. I'm sick of hearing number one's! The only drawback to this album is the single side of comentary. There are enough groups here to justify a dozen pages easily, plus photos. An industry insider should be able to tap on resources for data and photos that an enthusiast could not. You could have found more on wikipedia than was written here. Great CDs though, and highly recommended.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
THERES good and bad with this 50 track double CD.Bad first, around about half of the tracks here in all honesty are real clunkers that should never have seen the light of day again some approaching a standard below B side filler.Good news the remaining tracks are in the main top class gems. Most listeners will be aquainted with the classic Will you Love me Tomorrow by the Shirelles this is joined by Please Mr Postman ,The Marvelettes and Down the Aisle of Love, by the Quintones all top class A couple of other gems worth mentioning are I Love How You Love me, The Paris Sisters and There's No Other Like My Baby ,The Crystals ,both outstanding generic successors to The Teddy Bears ,To Know Him is To Love Him ,all bearing the unmistakeable stamp of Phil Spector.Early Supremes tracks show the talent that was to come and the Angels please with A Moment Ago and Til.For the money I paid under £3 not too bad ,good for putting on whilst getting ready for a night out or cleaning the car.If One Day Music could have just strengthend their track list they would have had a real winner on their hands.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
Probably the first girl group was the Andrews Sisters in the 40s but the actual definition of what became known as the girl group was what's on this 50 track CD-black girls,white girls or mixed groups with girl leads.
It was via black girls that the first top 10 hits came-the Chantels,the Bobbettes,the Shirelles and led to the new genre of girl groups in the 60s
While there'll always be arguments to say the first girl groups were white-the Poni Tails,the Paris Sisters,the Lennon Sisters the facts are that after the Shirelles topped the charts in 1960 America had found something else to copy and the copying went into overdrive as the now mass amount of girl group CDs show many purposely ignoring the hits and concentrating on the failures
While critics think the British Invasion saw off girl groups it was in fact just the opposite as the Beatles drew attention to what America may have just seen as a craze.Though their cover of the Marvellettes' Please Mr Postman was unsuitable lyricwise (listen close enough and you note the guy is overseas)there would be more British groups covering girl group hits and even outselling the originals eg Manfred Mann,Hermans Hermits
The sleeve note describes each girl group except the Rosebuds who are the most unknown here and are listed on GEMM as having made 2 singles on the Apex and Lancer labels
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This new 50 track tribute to the girl groups of the 1950s and 1960s brings back familiar sounds along with some that you may well have forgotten. The 124 minutes are quite a nostalgic listening experience and an enjoyable one for this listener. I like the approach of One Day in bringing together material that might not be on offer elsewhere at such a great price and in such an attractive format. The 2 CD set is a gatefold style with photographs and record labels to expand on the theme plus Brian Parks informative liner notes.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
I love the fifties groups & there ARE some great tracks on this CD , such as "Born too Late" by the Poni-tails and "Will you still love me tomorrow" - the title track by the Shirelles. However, I was disappointed that a lot of the tracks are definitely B-sides and little heard songs. Still, a good price for a lot of tracks.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2012
This is an absolute treasure trove of music from those bygone girl group days of yesteryear. Open the box and take your pick; there are some old familiars like the Shirelles and the Ronettes (pre Spector) some real rarities (mostly soft centres) like the Clickettes and The Delicates and many favourites in their prime outings ~ The Chiffons, The Cookies and the wonderful wonderful and totally underrated Marvelettes, Motown's premier group.

Be careful you dont overdose on this delicious confectionery which is unnervingly moreish, but you will be going back for more and more. Listening, for the first time, to only dreamed of recordings such as The Starlets "Where is my love tonight" or "Down the aisle of love" by the Quintones I am wondering where are they now?, why have I never heard this before? but like any musical archaeologist I revel in these treasures revealed and thank the great god of music that the archives are at last giving up all these lost magical recordings.

Any music fan of this era will delight in the lost and found here and forgive the "hits" often overused but, in truth, were the standards of their day. Lovely lovely yummy, pass the box, please.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
This a pretty good compilation and includes some tracks that you will not hear even on some of the American oldies stations. I was especially pleased to see included three tracks from The Bobettes, one of my favourite girls groups. Some acts however are notable by their very absence, Martha Reeves and the Vandella Sisters and The Orlons being two of the more obvious girl groups not represented on this album. I have taken another star off due to the fact that the track 'Buttered Popcorn' is credited to Diana Ross instead of Florence Ballard, another member of the Supremes, who actually sung on the version included on the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
The Girls from the 60's you cant go wrong buy it, it great its a real good music factor will make you feel good when the memories start to fly back .Taking you to your youth once more .I love it . Kirk from Knutsford
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
A very comprehensive collection of the Girl groups of the 50's & 60's. Some I already have, some I have always wanted and some I have never heard before. All in all a superb collection and worth having at the price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Track on disc one listed as Diana Ross on "Buttered Popcorn" . . Not Diana Ross singing lead but the late and lamented Supreme Florence Ballard on lead. Diana is on back-up with Mary Wilson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)