Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'difficult' second album? no problem here, mate, 2 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beat Wha'ppen? (Audio CD)
This was the first Beat album I actually owned (I'd only taped
'I Just Can't Stop It' from a mate)and it still has a special place in my musical affections. 1981 - the Beat had been consistently in the Top Ten and been around the world on the back of that. This comes across on this album - their punk influences are less apparent, the reggae/dub now more to the fore.
It seems the public weren't too enamoured by this shift, judging by the chart performances of 'Doors Of Your Heart' & 'Drowning/All Out To Get You' & no third single release from the album. However,there are very few weaknesses on 'Wha'ppen?'. 'I Am Your Flag', 'Walk Away' & 'Get-A-Job' would all have made excellent, more commercial singles than those released ('Get-A-Job' appeared as a Double-A-Side with'Doors Of Your Heart' but was largely ignored - apparently the band were keen to release it on it's own but thought the title would be misconstrued as some kind of Tory propaganda!)
Other album tracks of real quality are 'Monkey Murders' & 'The Limits We Set' (boy/girl paranoia & shoplifting tackled respectively). That was one of the attractions of the Beat to me: great tunes coupled with thought-provoking lyrics. Highly Recommended - the CD also includes 'Too Nice To Talk To', a single released between the first two album; A real gem, and the first 7" single I ever bought!(Oh, take me back.....)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Door of My Heart, 7 May 2008
This review is from: The Beat Wha'ppen? (Audio CD)
By 1981 the wheels were coming off the Two-Tone band wagon and so The Beat shorn the urgency of Punk that had propelled the ska of their debut album for a more relaxed blue beat tinged stroll through second album `Wha'ppen?' (a Jamaican pronunciation of what happened?).

The album opens with pop reggae single `Doors of Your Heart' which typifies the new Beat sound before moving into the brilliant `All Out to Get You' and the Latin tingled `Monkey Murders'. The politics of `I Am Your Flag' is next up followed by `French Toast', the only cover of the set, before side one is closed by the downbeat paranoia of bizarre single choice `Drowning'.

Side two is a fantastic journey through the world of The Beat from `Dream Home in NZ' through the perfect pairing of `Walk Away' and `Over and Over' to the brilliant trilogy of social consciousness `Cheated', `Get a Job' and `The Limits We Set'. A fantastic album which is allowed to breath without the stylistic constraints of its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You just have to love them..., 6 Oct 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wha'ppen (Audio CD)
The second album from the truly marvellous band that was (is) The Beat.
This album has less of an out & out ska influence, compared to the first album but this doesn't mean it isn't worth getting a hold of.
The Beat were adept at putting together collections of infectious, good time tunes & this record continues that trend.
Some of the tracks are some what less frantic than the driving ska beats of "I Just Can't Stop It" but they still hit all the right places. As the previous reviewer so accurately states, no "difficult second album syndrome" here - just top quality music all the way through. My bias knows no ends though, I think they were one of the best bands to have ever walked the planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s rule, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wha'Ppen (Audio CD)
This is one of the best 80 s bands and one of there best albums if brings back so many memories of early beat gigs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 6 May 2013
This review is from: Wha'ppen [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Quick & prompt delivery, the cds work absolutely fine. Would order from the seller again. Bought the album because i'm going to see The Beat in July so wanted to remind myself of all their songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wha'ppen [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
My favourite band of the late 70's and early 80's. Probably one of the most underrated bands of this time, although started of as a 2 tone band totally unique sound which developed over the time they were together. This CD took me back many years - totally fantastic! Now all be need is for the original line up to reform... oh well you can always dream! Nice that here are a few extra tracks etc, however if you have the original standard version you might have to be a Beat freak to justify!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars childhood gem let down by DVD, 30 Jun 2012
By 
Ms. Sarah E. Tarrant (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wha'ppen [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Was really looking forward to this product, packaging is superb and the CD's are great. However let down by DVD where whe you select 'Bonus Features' the disc freezes and you cannot select any option or return to previous menu.

This has happened with two items that I have received which have now been returned. Amazon have provided great returns service but the problem remains with the DVD.

Looking for a refund and the decision to reluctantly 'walk away' from this title. Maybe I just wasn't meant to get it so will go back to my audio cassette for the time being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant set but flawed DVD, 27 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wha'ppen [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
This is a short review of the 2012 2xCD/DVD edition.
Cannot fault the 2 CD's, fantastic album and some great bonus tracks consisting of 12" mixes, Dubs and John Peel Radio Sessions. Sound is great on both CD's and cannot be faulted. My only gripe is the DVD, don't get me wrong the Promo Videos and TOTP clips are fantastic, what is wrong is that you cannot access the DVD bonus feature "World In Action Documentary". I have tried and tried and tried on different DVD players and the play button will just not work at all on this extra bonus content. I have sent my copy back for a refund and hope edsel sort out the faulty DVD soon, then i will buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wha'ppen [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
they don't make them like this any more - I think the deluxe edition is worth the extra money for diehard fans like myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the (english) beat - 2nd album (remastered/reissued) 2012, 26 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wha'ppen [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
ska/2-tone music of the highest calibre with lots of echo chamber sound affects by the producer(B.Sargeant) + engineer().

NB: if you need a 12" vinyl record to test a record deck then grab this one to audition your selections in your quality local hifi shop.

originally on vinyl, cassette and then in mid80's an early un-re-mastered CD from USA, then remastered in 2004 on CD in UK/row.

this (2012) deluxe-edn-CD is 2CD+DVD long in a digipack sleeve plus extensive notes in a neat booklet now all on budget Edsel (sub-Demon) (sub-Warner) label.

CD1 => original album

CD2 => various 12" singles(dub+12"mix) As+Bs + 2 non-album 7" singles(A+B) + john peel radio2 session(4 tracks).

DVD => Video singles + TOTP + ITV documentary(4 songs).

overall ultra-high VFM reissue (long awaited) - will sell out very quickly i reckon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wha'ppen [Deluxe Edition]
Wha'ppen [Deluxe Edition] by The Beat (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews