Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, useful time and again
It's not the first time that I've read a Mark Coker's publication, I quite often refer to my Smashwords Style Guide (don't be fooled it's not just relevant to Smashwords), and therefore I was quite excited to find the time to read this one.

Not just one off reads, they are useful over and over again to bone up. Full of words of wisdom, tips and tricks and...
Published 13 months ago by Toodles Book Club

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Simply an ad for Smaswords
I did not like the book as is an add for Smashwords rather then a book about successful publishing an eBook. The advice is so Smashword bias it could be a user manual for the site.
Published 1 month ago by Mark Owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, useful time and again, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets to Ebook Publishing Success (Smashwords Guides) (Kindle Edition)
It's not the first time that I've read a Mark Coker's publication, I quite often refer to my Smashwords Style Guide (don't be fooled it's not just relevant to Smashwords), and therefore I was quite excited to find the time to read this one.

Not just one off reads, they are useful over and over again to bone up. Full of words of wisdom, tips and tricks and examples of how his information has been successfully applied by others, his work is a must for anyone looking to publish, market and sell ebooks.

As the Founder of Smashwords, he has proved he knows what he's talking about.

I was particularly interested to see that he mentioned Shayne Parkinson, who has successfully managed to increase sales by offering the first in the series (Sentence of Marriage) as a free download in hooking the reader in to buy the remainder of the series. That is in fact what happened when I read it.

He also mentioned Ruth Ann Nordin as somebody who offered An Inconvenient Marriage for free download, and the fact that some reads didn't like it, but others liked her work enough to actively seek out and pay for other titles she'd written. It's a long time ago now, but I think I was particularly kind about her book, but saw something in her that has made me purchase some of here other titles.

After reading his book, I now feel totally vindicated about banging on endlessly about cover images ..... get a good one and it will help to generate interest from somebody who has never read anything by you before!!

Rating:

On the basis that I started it quite late in the evening and then couldn't put it down until the early hours - always hard to believe for a non-fiction book - plus the wisdom and insight to be gained I gave it a the full big Five-O ... it can be useful even if you don't use, or never intend to use Smashwords. Highly recommended.

Errors/Bug Bears:

None, as this was an excellently delivered and executed product. Kudos Mr Coker.

Full Blog #429 March 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Checklist for my eBook., 18 April 2013
This review is from: Secrets to Ebook Publishing Success (Smashwords Guides) (Kindle Edition)
Having recently ventured down the eBook path, I can unreservedly recommend this book as a great guide.

It is not merely a 'how to' text, but an ongoing document of reference and renewal once your eBook is published. It is in that context that I continue to refer to 'Secrets to eBook Publishing Success' as my eBook '50 Tales of Flight' goes from strength to strength.

Thanks Mark. Highly recommended.

Owen Zupp
Author: '50 Tales of Flight'
50 Tales of Flight: From Biplanes to Boeings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars required reading, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Sajad Jiyad (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets to Ebook Publishing Success (Smashwords Guides) (Kindle Edition)
If you are thinking of writing/publishing an ebook then this guide is an excellent way to start your journey. Mark does a good job of explaining things in simple terms and getting the key points across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definite must read for an aspiring publisher or a seasoned vet looking for new ideas, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets to Ebook Publishing Success (Smashwords Guides) (Kindle Edition)
Great book. Fantastic read. Full of great ideas and makes you think how simple it actually is to make money from kindle publishing! Highly recommended and I am only a newbie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is a clear guide and would be very valuable ..., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets to Ebook Publishing Success (Smashwords Guides) (Kindle Edition)
It is a clear guide and would be very valuable except that I think it was aimed at bigger publishers than I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Simply an ad for Smaswords, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets to Ebook Publishing Success (Smashwords Guides) (Kindle Edition)
I did not like the book as is an add for Smashwords rather then a book about successful publishing an eBook. The advice is so Smashword bias it could be a user manual for the site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you write, read this book. No excuses., 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets to Ebook Publishing Success (Smashwords Guides) (Kindle Edition)
This is a data-rich, clearly written 'how-to' book for anyone interested in or considering Independent Publishing. Coker’s passion and interest in Epublising and the changes it brings to communicating the written word, are clear and invigorating. Although Coker is the founder of Smashwords, currently the largest ebook distributer, this book is by no means a mere advert for his company, he mentions it very infrequently.

I learned loads. For example, I hadn't realised that paper books shipped to brick and mortar bookstores only have a few weeks to sell, after which time they are shipped back to the distributor for a full refund to the bookseller. And then they are 'pulped' or remaindered, hence the term 'Pulp Fiction'. Yet with electronic books, not only do they have the more organic time frame of…forever to possibly take off, you can tinker with them even after they are placed with the ebook sellers.

Although of course, as Coker advises repeatedly, it is very important to make your book the best it can be BEFORE placing it on the electronic book shelves. You are your brand when you are a writer, and you only get one chance to make a first impression. Ebook publishing is a real revolution in the very way writers and readers interact, truly democratising the process into an ongoing conversation. No excuses. If you write, read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets to Ebook Publishing Success (Smashwords Guides) (Kindle Edition)
A really helpful guide. Mark Coker leads you through the process and makes each secret an inspiration. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent information, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets to Ebook Publishing Success (Smashwords Guides) (Kindle Edition)
As a debut author I needed all the information available to me to publish and promote my book, therefore these guides from Smashwords were essential. They are clearly written and useful to a novice self publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top tips, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: Secrets to Ebook Publishing Success (Smashwords Guides) (Kindle Edition)
Really useful read if you have written a book and are marketing it. Read this with the free smashwords book marketing guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews