Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read
If you like Cornwall and Goldsworthy then this book is for you. I found it a little predictable but that's probably because I've read Snow's 'To War with Wellington' (which is excellent) and as Mace's book is based on fact (and Snow's book) then its not realy surprising. At the end it brings a lump to the throat......sniff!
Published 22 months ago by Kevin Lawrence

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good
the service and product were good that's all I want to say but this box needs twenty or more words
Published 7 months ago by Mr M J Little


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 19 Nov 2012
By 
Kevin Lawrence (Benfleet, Essex. GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forlorn Hope: The Storming of Badajoz (Kindle Edition)
If you like Cornwall and Goldsworthy then this book is for you. I found it a little predictable but that's probably because I've read Snow's 'To War with Wellington' (which is excellent) and as Mace's book is based on fact (and Snow's book) then its not realy surprising. At the end it brings a lump to the throat......sniff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True battle, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forlorn Hope: The Storming of Badajoz (Kindle Edition)
James Mace True account of the battle for Badajoz and the part played by the Forlorn Hope Storming of Badajoz.
Very good read and enlighten as to extreme hardship suffered by the forlorn hope.
I would highly recommend this book.
Mr. Michael Steel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars factual, 4 May 2013
By 
Geoff Woodland (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Napoleonic history is a hobby of mine, and Wellington's battles of the Spanish Peninsular is a must read for me. I read `Forlorn Hope - the storming of Badajoz' quite quickly as it is a short book of 108 pages. Overall I enjoyed the story, but as a novel there is nothing new having read Bernard Cornwall's Sharpe books. The battle was factual, which gave it a textbook style to some extent. For those interested in Napoleonic battles it is five stars, but for those looking for the battle to be the background of a adventure or romance story it leaves a lot to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forlorn Hope, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book that I have read by James Mace, who was a professional soldier in the US Army, and now I believe serves in the US National Guard. He has previously written a series of novels about the Roman army but has now turned his hand to the Napoleonic period, of which Forlorn Hope was the first in the style of a novella. This short but incredibly accurate story tells the horrific true story of the siege, storming and aftermath of the battle of Badajoz during Spring 1812.

Clearly an awful lot of study went into this tale much to the authors credit, which he has cleverly combined with fictional and real characters to produce a very well written, engaging, thoroughly enjoyable, yet disturbing story of what we are capable of doing to each other during times of conflict. Well done Mr Mace, now I'll have to find the other novels!

I've read a few books about this period both factual and fictional, I should say fictional but based on historical fact and this is right up there with the best of them, it's a great story and highly recommended.

John Salter
Author of Blood of Rome: Caratacus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An account of carnage., 30 Mar 2013
By 
Xenophon. (Fife, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forlorn Hope: The Storming of Badajoz (Kindle Edition)
A well written book ,which is as close to the actual history of the siege and storming of the breach at the Badajoz as is possible..
I normally stick to pure factual history,but this excellently written book gave a human element to this famous event,and does not fight shy of the terrible waste,and carnage that occurred, or of the terrible events in the city once it fell.
The book does not glorify the events, and leaves one with plenty to consider.
An exciting and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a great story based on a true battle, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forlorn Hope: The Storming of Badajoz (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this well written book which is based on a real battle and was a good read, Very like a Sharp story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forlorn Hope: The Storming of Badajoz (Kindle Edition)
This book is almost as good as Bernard Cornwell, the details & descriptions put you there, would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forlorn Hope, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forlorn Hope: The Storming of Badajoz (Kindle Edition)
Thank you James, what can I Say? Another fantastically descriptive journey through a battle with an engaging main character. Very much enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forlorn Hope: The Storming of Badajoz (Kindle Edition)
the service and product were good that's all I want to say but this box needs twenty or more words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The series improves, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forlorn Hope: The Storming of Badajoz (Kindle Edition)
There is too short a time scale to build believable people, the second book seems to work much better. Still if you aqre to read on you must take this book. "I stood with Wellington" is the rounded conclusion to a good start. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews