Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..BRILLIANT!! ONE OF THE BEST FILMS OF 2011.."
This is without one of the best movies of the year, very original and imaginative Grindhouse style horror movie from Troma films!! If you love the current trend of modern 80s looking Grindhouse style movies then this is a MUST have in your collection, the story is great and is filled to the top with action and violence and very gory and bloody scenes of death and depraved...
Published on 4 Aug 2012 by S. Drury

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts but odd second half (even by Troma's standards!)
I've watched many Troma films so know what to expect but the second half of Father's Day is odd, even by their standards. The usual mixture of tenuous plot, topless women, violence and gore keeps the first half interesting but the religious 'theme' in the second half was slow and tediously plotted. Not one of Troma's best.
Published 17 months ago by G Tuppenney


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..BRILLIANT!! ONE OF THE BEST FILMS OF 2011..", 4 Aug 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father's Day (TROMA) [DVD] (DVD)
This is without one of the best movies of the year, very original and imaginative Grindhouse style horror movie from Troma films!! If you love the current trend of modern 80s looking Grindhouse style movies then this is a MUST have in your collection, the story is great and is filled to the top with action and violence and very gory and bloody scenes of death and depraved torture and rape. This is Tromas best in years, its low budget but great fun in every way, good cast, good dialogue which at some times has some very funny humour, the story has a very unusual twist near the end just when you think its over its not, the very final scene is hilarious. The open credit sequence is very stylish and looks awesome and the whole movie score is very retro horror, this movie oozes so much cool, its trashy but utterly brilliant and must be seen. There are no features which is a crying shame!! If you want to get the ultimate version of this movie get the import U.S version as it has the bluray version and tons of special features plus being troma its region free and has awesome packaging and is limited to 5000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S ASTRON-6 THATS WHY IT'S GOOD,TROMA WOULD BE BAD IN A GOOD WAY SORT OF, 10 Sep 2012
"Father's Day" never went to theaters or at least as you consider it going to theaters. This wasn't made by a big Hollywood studio, it's an Indie film released through Troma by Astron-6,an Indie studio, whose movies go direct to dvd. Movies like this, which are 100x better than most of the crap that the major studios make, only play at Film Festivals, Horror Cons, and at Indie-Theaters.Well worth adding to your collection the 4 disc blu-ray set is regon free so no need to worry about that,the blu-ray looks awesome too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LET'S GO FINISH HIM OFF, 26 Nov 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There is a father serial killer on the loose. The killer also sodomizes the victim as well as removing their manhood with his teeth. This type of killing has happened before. Ahab (Adam Brooks) whose father was killed by this man, Chris Fuchman (Mackenzie Murdock) is summoned to help go after him by a blind priest (Kevin Anderson). He is aided by a lousy Priest (Matthew Kennedy); a Billy Idol looking Twink (Conor Sweeney); and his sister (Amy Groening). Twink is both his name and occupation.

This is a Troma style film. It is a spoof on grindhouse films and perhaps even spoofs Troma films which are spoofs themselves. The dialogue is campy and laughable. The film is on the sacrilegious side of the spectrum.

The film has names such as "Sleazy Mary" who runs the "Low Life Club" a strip joint where Ahab teams up with his sister. My has she grown. I enjoyed the silly dialogue, even the discussion of the metaphor that wasn't a metaphor.

Perv guide: F-bomb, sex, male rape, ample nudity including male full frontal which may or may not be real. I would guess this film would have less appeal than "Toxic Avenger" but more appeal than "Blood Sucking Freaks."

$3.99 Mountain View Movies Blu-ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incest , The Rape of father's , Murder & Laughs this films got it all, 28 July 2012
This review is from: Father's Day (TROMA) [DVD] (DVD)
Iv gave this movie five stars because i think its one of the funniest things iv ever seen its subject matter is dark (Father Rape & Murder) but its extremely funny the acting is great this film has some of the best cheesy dialog iv ever herd. This film was made for $10,000 im incredibly impressed ASTRON-6 have made this movie look like it was made for so much more than that. So if your looking for something abit different or you are a fan of TROMA movies then Fathers Day is the way to go i highly recommend this movie. p.s if you love kick ass stop motion then buy this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius in modern exploitation cinema, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father's Day (TROMA) [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Troma films such as the Toxic Avenger, you will love this! It is produced by Troma and made by Astron-6 who produce their own independent cinema in a similair style to Troma. Very heavily influenced by the mock exploitation films that made Troma such absolute cult hits.
The humour is dark, warped and very bad taste. Most definitely not for the easily offended. However, if thats is your kind of humour, buy it, you will laugh heartily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie with guts, 14 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father's Day (TROMA) [DVD] (DVD)
It' a Troma film so you know what to expect... Low budget, comedy, horror, all-out weirdness, violence, blood, gore & guts, nudity and basically a film with so many elements that are wrong on every possible level... that it just feels right.

Very loosely based on the urban myth about the "Father's Day Killer" it's your typical Troma-fare. And just when you think the movie's finished... they actually turn it up a notch! Unbelievable!

For me this is a very entertaining 4-star feature. Great film, although personally I prefer "Poultrygeist". That's my favourite Troma, worth 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts but odd second half (even by Troma's standards!), 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father's Day (TROMA) [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched many Troma films so know what to expect but the second half of Father's Day is odd, even by their standards. The usual mixture of tenuous plot, topless women, violence and gore keeps the first half interesting but the religious 'theme' in the second half was slow and tediously plotted. Not one of Troma's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you're high, you'll like it., 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father's Day (TROMA) [DVD] (DVD)
I watch a lot of horror and I must say, this was the weirdest movie I've seen in a long time. I could not decide if it was "okay" or if I "didn't like it". I suppose if you like really weird movies like Basket Case or The Item, you might love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Father's Day (TROMA) [DVD]
Father's Day (TROMA) [DVD] by Adam Brooks Jeremy Gillespie (DVD - 2012)
£7.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews