Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars62
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 July 2012
Utterly love this series, but what possible justification can there be to release the season in two parts to DVD?

Other than making us fork out between £25 - £30 to get the whole series?

It's wonderful how the writers take chances with the characters, unsettling the audience's expectations, yet always keeping faith with the viewers, until the money men decided to rip off the paying punters as much as possible.

Maybe there was an excuse to release season 3 in two parts, as I believe there was a hiatus in production due to strikes, but there's no justification for continuing this policy.

Such a shame as it's a wonderful series, made with love and acted by a brilliant ensemble cast who really seem by all accounts to appreciate the devoted fans.

Everyone deserves a better DVD release policy but I can't bring myself to mark down the series because of that - I still love it.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 September 2012
From the first episode of season 1 this has been excellent. Quirky and full of humour, with great characters, this has been one of the most surprising and welcome series to find its way over the Atlantic. 4.5 is really good.

4.5 continues the story of the alternative time-line, with Sheriff Jack Carter and Dr Allison Blake now, at long last, a couple, Henry and Grace exploring their own unusual relationship, Jo and Zane working through their issues and Fargo getting a bit of romance of his own. Beverley Barlowe is back, attempting to manipulate events from a distance, Taggart re-appears and Zoe turns up for one episode.

This time the main theme that brings all the threads of the plot together is a planned mission to Saturn's moon Titan, with all the fun and games that surrounds the recruitment process, the manufacture of the ship and the various things that can go wrong in Eureka as that happens. All the usual eccentric events occur - a bank robbery where its the whole bank that is taken, contact lenses that predict threats to security, the accidental launch of Zane and Fargo into space, and a rather unfortunate glitch with the FTL drive for the Titan mission.

Three new characters are introduced. Senator Wen is brought in to put the pressure on the GD team (SGU's Ming-Na). Wil Wheaton is a self-satisfied scientist at loggerheads with Fargo and in competition for a place on the Titan mission. Felicia Day plays a consultant who is a bit of a mixed blessing, pushing the boundaries of silliness and, on the same note, the character sent to audit Jack and Alison's relationship is irritatingly slapstick - but neither character is annoying enough to spoil anything. Season 4.5 is great.

4.5 finishes on a real cliffhanger and a couple of interesting situations with some of the personalities.

I was pleased to see that the Holiday (Christmas) Episode was listed on the box as one of the Bonus Features - and then had trouble finding it. For those who expect it to be on the 3rd DVD with the Gag Reel and Mythology features, you're in the wrong place - it is in the Bonus menu on the 1st DVD (one of the weaker, sillier episodes, but it's nice to have for the sake of completeness).

If you like deleted scenes, they are shown in the Bonus menu on all three DVDs.

Like most of the other reviewers I was frustrated that both seasons 3 and season 4 were released in two parts. I seriously hope that they refrain from doing that with season 5.

I understand that season 5 will be the last one. As so many stories in the alternate timeline were abandoned without resolution (what was that blue mind-altering thing from section 5??) I'm really hoping that all the threads will be brought together to provide a good conclusion to the series.

I loved it, and if you have enjoyed the previous series I am certain that you will love this one too.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
The idea of the inmates taking over the asylum is never more true. Eureka is innovative and gripping television for those with a love on science and the spirit of discovery.
Season 4.5 doesnt fail to please, as with all previous incarnations and in a humble opinion, this is perhaps the best season of Eureka simply down to the way the cast seemed to have settle in to their characters, excellent writing and personal dynamics, and of course, this part has perhaps some of the funniest episodes from the entire show.
I am a fussy type of person, and I know from past experience watching series that the writers will occasionally get it wrong, and you end up with a "duff" episode. Perhaps one of the quirks of Eureka is that while other series tend to have 2 or 3 "duff" espisodes in a season, Eureka through out season 1 to 5, only had a handful of these episodes.

The bad side of Eureka has nothing to do with the show itself, but more the short sighted and narrow minded attitude of the American networks who did what they usual do with brilliant television - they cancelled it. No idea why - they claimed it cost too much to make... and there is no wonder they arnt making that much money when they after 12 months cant be bothered to release Eureka Season 5 in Europe, when the American market got the DVD release 1 day after the final episode (April 2012).

Overall, both myself and my daughter adore this show. The characters are genuine, the plots are within the realms of science, it makes you laugh, it makes you want to cry and it makes mad science accessible to "Joe Normal", putting it in the realms of understanding.
Worth every Star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
I loved A Town called Eureka. excellent series and thoroughly enjoyable fun escapism. yep great series. interesting fun charactors with fun scientisty crazy idea stories. 4 stars is because I found it extremely annoying that I go and buy all the series individually, long time after they were originally released in case they bring the series out as a box set. didn't look like they were going to bring it out as a gift set so I start buying the series in the series 1, 2,3, 3.5, 4 and 4.5 then yes you guessed it - they brought out the box set at a fraction of the price I paid so not happy with the people who distributed this at all. only reason I give it 3 stars. for content the series gets 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
The main problem with Eureka is that it can be hard to work out what's going on, I'd seen occasional episodes on TV which were all jumbled up - some new, some re-runs - and hadn't liked the look of it at all. Then I saw a really good episode, made a note to watch the next and just like flipping a switch, I was addicted and bought the whole lot. And LOVE it. So this was my Season 4.5 purchase, and while perhaps the earlier seasons were better, I've watched this a couple of times already. If you're a Eureka fan, you weren't even looking at this review. If you're new, start at the beginning and watch them in order. Brilliant stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Having purchased all the previous episodes, I was eagerly looking forward to receiving this latest release. Although only about half way through watching all the three disc set, I am once again amazed and pleased with these programmes. It is unusual these days to be able to purchase a series that is fun to watch, challenges the intellect (a bit) but without the violence or bad language. It is ideal family viewing. Once again the Sheriff is not only able to tackle the outrageous problems created by science but able to solve and quite often outsmart the brains at "Global Dynamics". A thoroughly excellent series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Picks up well from where the previous frist half left off and maintains the timeline dynamic. The "big bad" is well wrapped into the entire list of episodes and does leave a person questioning in the end who the big bad was exactly.

One of the things that I have always enjoyed about Eureka is that there is always an overarching storyline for the entire season even though the individual episodes could stand by themselves. Very much in the BtVS vein. The finale cliff hanger is suitably depressing and leaves you wanting to see the final season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
As always the impossible is sorted out at the end of the day by the Sheriff. That is how we know it and enjoy it. Glad to see they will make another series. At the end of each episode you feel a little left in the air and something do not carry over to the next episode. But all in all I find this series among the best offered in entertainment. Yes and I gave it 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Eureka is simply brilliant a funny sci-fi series and absolutely brilliant
One of my most favourite TV series ever
Funny action packed romantic it has a bit of everything in
For any sci-fi fan or comedy fan it is a must watch!
You dint have to understand the science to enjoy the show
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Loved watching this series (loved watching all of Eureka). This series is lighter than Season three but just as enjoyable and has more humour. All the cast are brilliant and can't recommend it highly enough. Just so sad they didn't go on to make a lot more seasons of this great series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.