Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half a season for no real reason - 'cept money?
Utterly love this series, but what possible justification can there be to release the season in two parts to DVD?

Other than making us fork out between £25 - £30 to get the whole series?

It's wonderful how the writers take chances with the characters, unsettling the audience's expectations, yet always keeping faith with the viewers, until the money...
Published on 4 July 2012 by S. Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars subtitles where art thou?
There are no subtiles on the English edition of this Eureka DVD. Buy the german DVDs of Eureka instead, which have both german and English subtitles.
Published 12 months ago by oyvind


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half a season for no real reason - 'cept money?, 4 July 2012
By 
S. Jones (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD] (DVD)
Utterly love this series, but what possible justification can there be to release the season in two parts to DVD?

Other than making us fork out between £25 - £30 to get the whole series?

It's wonderful how the writers take chances with the characters, unsettling the audience's expectations, yet always keeping faith with the viewers, until the money men decided to rip off the paying punters as much as possible.

Maybe there was an excuse to release season 3 in two parts, as I believe there was a hiatus in production due to strikes, but there's no justification for continuing this policy.

Such a shame as it's a wonderful series, made with love and acted by a brilliant ensemble cast who really seem by all accounts to appreciate the devoted fans.

Everyone deserves a better DVD release policy but I can't bring myself to mark down the series because of that - I still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, as ever, with some new characters and lively episodes, 19 Sep 2012
By 
A. Byrnes "Andie" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD] (DVD)
From the first episode of season 1 this has been excellent. Quirky and full of humour, with great characters, this has been one of the most surprising and welcome series to find its way over the Atlantic. 4.5 is really good.

4.5 continues the story of the alternative time-line, with Sheriff Jack Carter and Dr Allison Blake now, at long last, a couple, Henry and Grace exploring their own unusual relationship, Jo and Zane working through their issues and Fargo getting a bit of romance of his own. Beverley Barlowe is back, attempting to manipulate events from a distance, Taggart re-appears and Zoe turns up for one episode.

This time the main theme that brings all the threads of the plot together is a planned mission to Saturn's moon Titan, with all the fun and games that surrounds the recruitment process, the manufacture of the ship and the various things that can go wrong in Eureka as that happens. All the usual eccentric events occur - a bank robbery where its the whole bank that is taken, contact lenses that predict threats to security, the accidental launch of Zane and Fargo into space, and a rather unfortunate glitch with the FTL drive for the Titan mission.

Three new characters are introduced. Senator Wen is brought in to put the pressure on the GD team (SGU's Ming-Na). Wil Wheaton is a self-satisfied scientist at loggerheads with Fargo and in competition for a place on the Titan mission. Felicia Day plays a consultant who is a bit of a mixed blessing, pushing the boundaries of silliness and, on the same note, the character sent to audit Jack and Alison's relationship is irritatingly slapstick - but neither character is annoying enough to spoil anything. Season 4.5 is great.

4.5 finishes on a real cliffhanger and a couple of interesting situations with some of the personalities.

I was pleased to see that the Holiday (Christmas) Episode was listed on the box as one of the Bonus Features - and then had trouble finding it. For those who expect it to be on the 3rd DVD with the Gag Reel and Mythology features, you're in the wrong place - it is in the Bonus menu on the 1st DVD (one of the weaker, sillier episodes, but it's nice to have for the sake of completeness).

If you like deleted scenes, they are shown in the Bonus menu on all three DVDs.

Like most of the other reviewers I was frustrated that both seasons 3 and season 4 were released in two parts. I seriously hope that they refrain from doing that with season 5.

I understand that season 5 will be the last one. As so many stories in the alternate timeline were abandoned without resolution (what was that blue mind-altering thing from section 5??) I'm really hoping that all the threads will be brought together to provide a good conclusion to the series.

I loved it, and if you have enjoyed the previous series I am certain that you will love this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great price, 3 July 2014
By 
This review is from: A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD] (DVD)
Love this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another brilliant series, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD] (DVD)
to enjoy this dvd you have to love averything to do with science fiction. if you dont like sci-fi you may not like this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A town called Eureka, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD] (DVD)
One of quite a lot of series I collect. Riddled with techno babble, but interspersed with witty humour and situations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eureka!!!, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Rachel Strong (Belfast Northerrn Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD] (DVD)
Love it, love it love it. Great show, amazing cast and even better storylines. Scifi that everyone will love. There is comedy, romance, family fun, horror, thriller, cop drama, its all there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eureka fan, what can I say., 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD] (DVD)
The main problem with Eureka is that it can be hard to work out what's going on, I'd seen occasional episodes on TV which were all jumbled up - some new, some re-runs - and hadn't liked the look of it at all. Then I saw a really good episode, made a note to watch the next and just like flipping a switch, I was addicted and bought the whole lot. And LOVE it. So this was my Season 4.5 purchase, and while perhaps the earlier seasons were better, I've watched this a couple of times already. If you're a Eureka fan, you weren't even looking at this review. If you're new, start at the beginning and watch them in order. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And now we have part 2, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD] (DVD)
Picks up well from where the previous frist half left off and maintains the timeline dynamic. The "big bad" is well wrapped into the entire list of episodes and does leave a person questioning in the end who the big bad was exactly.

One of the things that I have always enjoyed about Eureka is that there is always an overarching storyline for the entire season even though the individual episodes could stand by themselves. Very much in the BtVS vein. The finale cliff hanger is suitably depressing and leaves you wanting to see the final season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars subtitles where art thou?, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD] (DVD)
There are no subtiles on the English edition of this Eureka DVD. Buy the german DVDs of Eureka instead, which have both german and English subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars why i like a town called eureka, 26 July 2013
By 
Martin J. Bird "Martin JB" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD] (DVD)
see review of season 4. The stories just get better as the season progresses. this has to be one of my favourite sci fi programs .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD]
A Town Called Eureka - Season 4.5 [DVD] by Colin Ferguson (DVD - 2012)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews