Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£8.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2015
This is just superb, the acting is compelling and the entire production is expertly crafted by the flawless Carnival Films (Downton Abbey, The 7.39 etc) and a mention must go to the director Jon East, and of course the writer Blake Morrison. Set in East Anglia and many of the shots are filmed there.

This is a deep and tangled story of unrequited love (two couples meet at the cottage of the wealthier pair for a weekend), two friends who studied law at university together, one becoming a barrister (Ollie - Rupert Penry-Jones) and the other (Ian - Shaun Evans) dropping out and becoming a primary school teacher. Ollie is living with his wife to be (Daisy - Genevieve O'Reilly) who just happens to have been Ian's first love at uni and who left him to take up with Ollie, but Ian, rightly or wrongly believes he meant more to her and he can't get over his feelings of unrequited love, even though he is now married and his wife (Em - Claire Keelan) is with him.

The story works well on Ian's jealousy, possessiveness, deluded thoughts about Daisy, and unrealistic aims of maybe becoming her lover and partner, an emotional roller-coaster ensues that spins into a dangerous game, with Ollie and Daisy's son Archie (Hugh Mitchell) throwing an occasional spanner into the works.

The tale unfolds with Ian at times dropping into off-shot b/w mode (actually 3 months into the future and reflecting back on the events and his feelings) to turn to the viewer and give a creepy narrative, describing his,often deluded, ideas about how much Daisy really adores him, he will say things like `see that smile, that meant something, she still fancies me'. The plot is compounded by Ollie revealing to Ian that his has a brain tumor and only has about 6 months to live but hasn't told anyone but him. This should cause his best friend to feel empathy, but his thoughts turn to Daisy and who is going to take care of her when the crunch comes, further twisting and tweaking his unrealistic desires. Woven into the story is a bizarre `triathlon' the two friends compete in to score points over each other and win a cash prize. To add more anguish for love-lorn Ian, a business partner of Daisy's (Milo -Alexander Karim) arrives with his children and it appears (to Ian's deluded sense of reality) that Daisy is attracted to him. The plot becomes wickedly tangled and devious. It is psychological, serious but so funny at times and it brings to life the reality of relationships and unrequited love. There is even a touch of something Shakespeare-ish about it.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
I have ordered the book of the same title written by Blake Morrison.
A psychological thriller that will have you sympathetic in turns with each of the
characters and will leave you gasping at the end
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
This is a very good and interesting story. I liked to see both Shaun Evans and Rupert Penry-Jones in the same play. It was especially interesting to see Rupert Penry-Jones in another kind of caracter than I have seen before. Here you can realize what a good actor he is. The story is interesting as it is built up in different levels and there is a lot to think about. It is a pitty that there are no English sub-titles. If English is not your native languge it can be difficult to follow the dialogue in such a complicated story.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
I loved this film. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in psychological thrillers. Not being a Rupert Penry Jones fan I've nothing to say about his performance except that I think Shaun Evans owned the entire show. He (Evans) does creepy very well, and he does not disappoint in The Last Weekend. I'd like to know the significance of the color each character wore throughout the film (Daisy = yellow; Ollie = blue; Em = red; Ian = green) and why the final scene with Ian was dominated by Em's color, red. Does anyone have any theories about that?
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
OK, an ordinary story - college friends reunited at an old country house - is given a twist by the recounting of the story by one of the characters from a grey and misty world - limbo, perhaps? His interventions provided a sense of foreboding: we know something unpleasant is going to happen, and his increasing unreliability as the narrator became clear as he unfolded a tale of his own jealousy. I was disappointed by the denoument (which I'll not give away here) but perhaps more dedicated viewers than can explain the relevance of the references to Shakespeare's Othello - eg Ollie (Othello); Ian (Iago); Daisy (Desdemona); Em (Emilia) sickly green painted house ("jealousy, the green-eyed monster").
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
For those people with Hard of Hearing .....this DVD of The Last Weekend does not have SUB-TITLES of any description ..
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a min series more than a movie and as I love to watch Pupert Penry-Jones I was definitely going to have this.

I had seen it before on TV but I was more than happy to watch it again. The story revolves around couples getting together for the weekend. One of the men becomes delusional and imagines that he is in love with the wife of Rupert Penry-Jones and she loves him. It's not the case of course but the weekend turns nasty and the action begins.

I don't want to give too much of the story away but there are twists and turns in this dark take which is well worth watching,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Bit of a strange ending, will have to watch it again. Super quality film.
That aside it arrived earlier than expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
Perfect viewing particularly if you like Rupert Penry-Jones and Shaun Evans, quite creepy and not what I was expecting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I have just watched this and thoroughly enjoyed it.Shaun Evans and Rupert Penry Jones play old college chums whos relationship is based on rivalry and antagonism,this soon becomes clear why that is.The story has lots of twists and turns,i particularly liked Shaun Evans who is a very good actor and remembered him in Endeavour.Excellent.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)