Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excelllent base Scanner
I previously purchased the Uniden EZI33XLT scanner from Amazon to further my interest in aircraft and the airband. I was very pleased with the performance of this product,which I have found useful as as a compact go anywhere unit.I quickly decided to upgrade to a base unit which would be a useful addition to the handheld just mentioned.Browsing through the various...
Published on 1 Jan. 2013 by Oliver

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
What I hoped for.
Published 2 months ago by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excelllent base Scanner, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
Oliver (South Wales UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uniden Bearcat UBC355CLT Homebase / Mobile Scanner (Electronics)
I previously purchased the Uniden EZI33XLT scanner from Amazon to further my interest in aircraft and the airband. I was very pleased with the performance of this product,which I have found useful as as a compact go anywhere unit.I quickly decided to upgrade to a base unit which would be a useful addition to the handheld just mentioned.Browsing through the various options available on Amazon I decided to purchase the Uniden Bearcat UBC355CLT scanner .This unit was quickly delivered by RadioWorld and well packaged .Built to the high standards of Uniden the unit has two installation options ie vehicle or used as a desktop unit.Two Antenna are supplied for which ever installation is required. Power supplies ,vehicle and mains adaptor are supplied ...a complete package .As a desktop unit the scanner works straight out of the box in the area where I live using the supplied antenna ,no external antenna being required.
Programming this scanner with practice, is fairly straight forward using the manual supplied .

If the perspective purchaser is seeking a base unit for airband monitoring or the marine and public services this unit should seriously be considered.Used with one of the Internet Flight Tracking sites and also downloading the airband frequencies from the internet [...] one can spend many interesting hours monitoring overhead flight traffic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works like a dream, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uniden Bearcat UBC355CLT Homebase / Mobile Scanner (Electronics)
The Scanner arrived in good time and was much smaller than I had visualised. This was a pleasant surprise and is the same size as my Icom PCR1000 so sits on top quite neatly.

Sensitivity is very good, it is connected to an indoors discone antenna on the windowsill and I can receive all the local amateur radio repeaters, Aircraft and Marine band. It is very easy to operate and the pre programmed bands saved me a lot of work. The close call facility has also saved me a lot of searching time.

all in all a good scanner and excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to program but excellent all-rounder., 6 Feb. 2014
By 
KJ Matthews (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uniden Bearcat UBC355CLT Homebase / Mobile Scanner (Electronics)
Bought this as base station replacement for current Uniden hand-held unit. I am only interested in the AIRBAND channels (Swanwick ATC) and found it rather difficult to program especially as the AIR/MARINE band is not programmable directly. I had to program these into the PRIVATE bank which took quite a bit of trial and error to find out. The scanning speed is exceptionally fast which make things very hit and miss when initially locating which frequencies to program in (there is no direct frequency input mode), but a bit of patience paid off in the end. The internal speaker is not really very clear so I'm using the external speaker jack and didn't bother with the supplied telescopic antenna as I have an external mast-mounted Diamond D-777 dedicated airband antenna. Performance is on a par with the hand-held unit, but a permanently back-lit display and the way the unit sits makes it vastly better than trying to use the battery powered hand-held lying flat on the desk with a back light that times out after 5 seconds to conserve battery power.

Overall a beautiful piece of kit that isn't over-large but certainly produces excellent results. Just be prepared for some initial frustration regarding programming!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat little radio, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uniden Bearcat UBC355CLT Homebase / Mobile Scanner (Electronics)
Excellent service from start to finish and P&P was quick too.

The scanner is a neat little radio and does all the basic’s a scanner need’s to do.

If you’re not familiar with scanners and how to program them I would recommend you upgrade to the next model up which has a key pad on the front so you can enter the frequency directly as this radio may be a little complicated for you to do if you’re not familiar how to install frequencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Radio, 4 Sept. 2013
By 
Gordon (aberdeen, grampian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uniden Bearcat UBC355CLT Homebase / Mobile Scanner (Electronics)
Does what it says on the box and terrific for the price. The size is really small but the performance huge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bearcat 355, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uniden Bearcat UBC355CLT Homebase / Mobile Scanner (Electronics)
Initially used this for scanning the airband - I live about 4km line of sight from Heathrow Tower so I could probably use a six inch length of damp string to pick up ATC, but the bearcat 355 comes with a couple of antenna choices both of which perform much better than string. Audio is very clear and the display is readable. I watched a couple of you-tube vids on how to program it - and its quite simple. Disappointingly, the CB band doesn't do much - and since I am even closer to M25 than to Heathrow I kinda thought it might be useful for live traffic reports -but there was nothing but hiss.
Then I took the unit down to my boat - and that is where it has really come into its own.. !
As a licenced user of marine radio for navigational and safety reasons I have two transceivers on board. Obviously these are dedicated to the relevant channel for where I am navigating. however the Bearcat can scan away merrily in the background picking up all manner of activity - not all of it on licenced marine channels - but nearly all of it very useful for navigation. Discovering the local dingy racing club uses a private frequency for instance, meant instead of blindly ploughing through the pack of racing boats, I heard the race organisers describing the course, and was able to move away from the area and avoid all the fuss.
Less useful but fun was picking up the security PMR's from Fratton Park on a Saturday before the match - nice to hear some naughty Scummers were in big trouble :)
Holding the 355 on a channel to listen to something interesting you scanned onto should be simple, but can be slightly frustrating due to the speed the unit scans at. Unless you are actually hovering with your finger over the button, it starts scanning again.
You do end up pressing a lot of buttons if you are trying to set up a scan for a dedicated bank - so its not perfect, but in value for money terms this piece of kit is excellent.
I added an external speaker and a cheap multiband antenna to the kit, and it is a really clear audio across all the bands (apart from CB) and the speed it scans at has been really useful to catch many things I would normally miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bearcat Homebase Scanner., 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uniden Bearcat UBC355CLT Homebase / Mobile Scanner (Electronics)
A very neat & tidy little scanner. Very easy to operate and performance is excellent. The ability to enter spot frequencies or to be able to program it from a PC would be nice but those options would have to come at a price. On the whole, very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uniden Bearcat UBC355CLT Homebase / Mobile Scanner (Electronics)
This scanner is so good, I only wish I'd owned it a few years ago when the analogue radio bands were very active. Sensitivity is superb. Overall frequency range is more than adequate. Its an absolute doddle to use.
The only problem is trying to find things to listen to! Since many operators have converted to Tetra and other digital systems analogue transmissions are very few and far between.
Still, its a great unit and perfect for what I need it for. Radio Ham, PMR446 and Civil Airbands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first scanner purchase, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uniden Bearcat UBC355CLT Homebase / Mobile Scanner (Electronics)
Excellent piece of kit, Took a little time to get the hang of it but i finally got it figured out, going to get a exterior antenna the one that comes with it works but not suitable for any distance. i had expected a bigger unit and was disappointed at the size and you cannot punch in the frequency you want, its done by going up and down a band. over all a good little unit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 15 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: Uniden Bearcat UBC355CLT Homebase / Mobile Scanner (Electronics)
This is a great radio. I have used at home on a external antenna, and found it very sensitive. I have also used it in the car, using the close call feature, it really does perform very well.

The pre-programmed banks saves alot of time, and its easy to lock out different banks and freqs.

all in all, a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews