Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light-hearted fun, 16 Jun 2012
This review is from: Sister Ships and Alastair (Ant and Cleo) (Kindle Edition)
A worthy sequel to "Saucerers and Gondoliers", and very much the same sort of thing. Technically it may be intended for "young adults", but that just means there's no gratuitous violence or sex that I didn't want anyway. I'm not sure how many "young adults" will get all the jokes and in-references, but even if they only get a quarter, they'll still be laughing on every page.

Both books are in the same genre as Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, or the less well-known Toby Frost's "Space Captain Smith". SF that isn't intended to make any technical sense, just poke fun at clichés, wrapped round a few fun and sympathetic characters and a lot of deliberately exaggerated cardboard cut-outs.

I enjoyed this more than its predecessor, but that's mostly because the Earth-bound scenes are set in areas that have been slightly re-named, but I know well in real life - and his descriptions are accurate, in more detail than you might expect.

I will now go and download book 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Ships and Alastair (Ant and Cleo) (Kindle Edition)
Although this series is written for children, there's a lot for grown-ups that children wouldn't get. At times hilarious, this series had me laughing out loud in several occasions. It helps if you can understand German, Russian, Spanish, Latin and Welsh (oes, Cymraeg!) as the author has sprinkled phrases in these languages liberally throughout. It's worth taking the time to translate these as one or two contain some of the best jokes.

The series is really one, long story and the later books have several references to characters and events from the earlier ones. So it's best to read through this series in order.

I thoroughly enjoyed episodes 1 to 5 and can't wait for the sixth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all ages, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Ships and Alastair (Ant and Cleo) (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent book from this author. Hilarious, well drawn characters and a good plot against a totally wacky and lunatic background. Dont know whether these are designed for what is termed young adults but I am a pensioner and find them brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 10 Oct 2013
By 
D. S. Chaplin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Ships and Alastair (Ant and Cleo) (Kindle Edition)
Funny, pacey and really a lot better than I thought they would be. Paid for the whole series after reading the first for free. Will be looking for other books of his to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Ships and Alastair (Ant and Cleo) (Kindle Edition)
Expands on the characters from previous books. Introduction of a few new faces. It's easy to read and the plot doesn't jump all over the place. I couldn't put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 28 July 2013
This review is from: Sister Ships and Alastair (Ant and Cleo) (Kindle Edition)
I like the style of writing, good story line. Great characters and lots of humour. Only lost one star as I found it jumped around a bit between what different people where up to and it got a little confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ant and Cleo, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Donald Paterson (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Ships and Alastair (Ant and Cleo) (Kindle Edition)
Tried Saucerors and Gondoliers - the first in the Ant and Cleo sereries and loved it. It should appeal to teenagers and adults alike. Now on my 4th in the series. Best read in order: 1 Saucerors and Gondoliers, 2 Sister ships and Alastair, 3 Their ain't gonna be no World War 3, 4 Destination Alpha 4. I really look forward to the next in the series. Also look at the "Smallworld" books by MR Green - entertaining and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Witty and light fun, 15 Jan 2013
By 
K. Fearnley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Ships and Alastair (Ant and Cleo) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed Dominic's previous books - as has been noted, they aren't going to win a Hugo award but they are wittily written and have a good story combined with reasonable characterisations over multiple characters (and species). I'd say that the Ant/Cleo are less accomplished than the Smallworld books, but are genuinely funny and pleasant reading.
I don't often laugh out loud in reality, but there were a couple of points in this that certainly made me physically laugh.
Safe for kids, but not childish - certainly worth the pennies for me. If you're not certain enough to spend the price of a chocolate bar, try the first one (if it's still free).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars romping on, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Russell A. Sayle "yogibear" (Margate, Kent , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Ships and Alastair (Ant and Cleo) (Kindle Edition)
Its not "War ot the worlds" or "The Foundation trilogy" but it is a good intro to sci fi for the YA market.
Its a cheap ,easy to read, no surprises little series that is well worth taking the time to get acquainted.
The humour isn`t too young for this middle-aged reviewer and the storyline seems to run along nicely.
I think it makes a decent train, bus read to pass the time pleasantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa35252d0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews