Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Book You've Just Got to Read
This book is one of those crazy 'what if' moments I knew I just had to read. What if virtually all adults in the world died overnight? What would humanity look like then? Night of the Purple Moon will answer all of these post-apocalyptic curiosities in an extremely haunting and realistic way. Be prepared to not be able to look away from the world Scott Cramer has...
Published on 26 Aug 2012 by K. Johnson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review from Read Between the Lines
Night of the Purple Moon is a post-apocalyptic young adult début from Scott Cramer that forces you to question how you would cope if your parents are taken from you, in a world where each step into adolescence brings you closer to the disease that will cause your death. As families gather to watch the unusual purple moon created as earth passes through the tail of...
Published on 10 Jun 2012 by Francesca


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Book You've Just Got to Read, 26 Aug 2012
By 
K. Johnson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night of the Purple Moon (The Toucan Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is one of those crazy 'what if' moments I knew I just had to read. What if virtually all adults in the world died overnight? What would humanity look like then? Night of the Purple Moon will answer all of these post-apocalyptic curiosities in an extremely haunting and realistic way. Be prepared to not be able to look away from the world Scott Cramer has created.

The characters are the very heart of this book, as the story is very character driven. At the ages of 13 and 12, the main characters Abby and Jordan along with their baby sister are suddenly forced into this mature role of caring for younger children on the island and finding efficient means of survival. You can plainly still read their innocence, but with each passing chapter you watch them grow up and the reader becomes genuinely invested in the success of the children. That's definitely my favorite part of this book.

Some readers may have trouble with the graphicness of this story. While the characters aren't exposed to much violence, they very often discover the aftermath of the new world. If you are vehemently against dead bodies, you may want to skip this one. It was a bit off-putting at first, but I'm glad I read something out of the norm for me in that sense. It's just plain realistic that those sort of things happen in a post-apocalyptic sort of situation.

The gruesome aspects of this book, partnered with its shorter length really create a great story. The writing style and plot get straight to the point. Not everything needs to be a 500 page novel. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys this genre. It may only take you a day or two to read, but it will stay with you much longer than that once you've put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review from Read Between the Lines, 10 Jun 2012
Night of the Purple Moon is a post-apocalyptic young adult début from Scott Cramer that forces you to question how you would cope if your parents are taken from you, in a world where each step into adolescence brings you closer to the disease that will cause your death. As families gather to watch the unusual purple moon created as earth passes through the tail of the comet Rudenko-Kasparov, an event that will tinge the skies in beautiful shades for weeks, they are blissfully unaware of the lethal space dust emitted, fatal to all but those who have yet to go through puberty. Now 13-year-old Abby, her younger brother Jordan and baby sister Toucan are all alone in a world of children, defenceless on Castine Island and desperate for a cure so that Abby won't suffer the same fate as their parents.

In an already crowded genre of teen fiction, it is difficult to create a unique post-apocalyptic premise. Night of the Purple Moon is intriguing as it blends pure science-fiction (diseases from outer space) with teen drama and effectively manipulates the reader's emotions so that we want to protect these children from the same fatal end as their parents. There are a few inconsistencies in the book that require a reader to suspend reality, such as why would adults die instantly from the dust, yet the elderly and newly adolescent suffer a slower demise? Likewise, the alacrity with which the children pick up skills like driving and social structure can seem a bit far fetched. Later on in the novel we are introduced to children who have been struggling to survive on the mainland and they provide an poignant, anarchistic contrast to the experiences of our protagonists, which I thought was a nice touch as it gave the reader some insight as to the scale of the epidemic.

Although the majority of characters featured aren't much older than thirteen, I would say that Night of the Purple Moon is written with an older audience in mind and contains some scenes that would perhaps be unsettling for younger readers; 13-15 year olds will keenly remember or be experiencing the turmoil of puberty and Scott Cramer's book will resonate strongly for them.

Well paced and gripping, I enjoyed reading and think that Night of the Purple Moon would be a good choice for fans of Michael Grant's Gone series or anyone looking for another dystopic fix after The Hunger Games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept - delightfully written, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Purple Moon (The Toucan Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I liked this book a lot. The concept was interesting (see other reviews) and the writing engaging and easy to read. A good combination of lightness and darkness - with enough exciting moments to keep you turning over to read the next page. I finished it in two sittings - on the beach, which was a perfect place to read it. In fact I would have liked it to been a bit longer - so I could have heard more about the group that was left behind when Abby went in search of the vaccine. Great read for most ages, but particularly for 11-15 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, compelling, terrifying YA, 17 April 2012
By 
Clever Spud (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Purple Moon (The Toucan Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Everyone has been excitedly looking forward to the arrival of the comet that will bathe the Earth in its tail of purple space dust. None more so than Jordan and Abby who stay up with their father to watch the moon turn purple.

Fast forward twenty four hours and it's a very different world. The space dust has brought with it a terrible virus which kills adults and older teens almost immediately.

Bereft of adults but relatively secure in their Maine island seclusion, the surviving local kids more or less form a community.

With the threat of puberty bringing death, a cure can't come quick enough for the older teenagers.

When they are forced to strikeout to the mainland their already dark existence, becomes much, much darker.

This is, quite simply, one of the best books I've read all year and is a fine example of post-apocalyptic fiction, suitable for the YA market. Perhaps a little too much for children younger than eleven or twelve.

Absolutely recommended. I'm looking forward to more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My 14 year son really enjoyed this book, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Purple Moon (The Toucan Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have chosen this rating because my son read this book on his Kindle from cover to cover. He said it was very interesting and gave him lots to think about. It was the first dystopian book he's read and I think he'll be reading more from now on. It's a good read by all accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No one is safe, 27 May 2014
This review is from: Night of the Purple Moon (The Toucan Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent teen dystopia novel that is well written enough for adults to enjoy also. Don't worry about sappy romance, characters that never die and novels that move too slow - you won't find those problems in this book. While it may be very difficult to write a world altering storyline that is believable, Cramer has convinced me to put aside reality and go with the flow. I have now read book one and two and can't wait to read book 3. I will be recommending this book to my students!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Capturing, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Purple Moon (The Toucan Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book really keeps you reading, I did not put it down. Vivid descriptions really pull you in. I'd recommend it, but it lacks the magic of JK Rowling or Rick Reordan, and is not quite perfect therefore four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've read this year, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Purple Moon (The Toucan Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Although this was billed as for young adults, it gripped this somewhat less than young reader! I loved the writing, engagingly blending parts reminiscent of John Wyndham's "Day of the Triffids" with William Golding's "Lord of the Flies" without losing any of the suspense and interest.

The notion that climate change brings humanity into danger from extra-terrestrial diseases is an interesting one, and the way that Scott develops this idea is unique and intriguing. That children isolated on a small island can survive without adults, and really only encounter danger from others when they leave the island despite the disparate nature of the island dwellers.

I came across this as a Kindle freebie, and as soon as I finished it bought a copy of the sequel - something I never do. That should tell you how good I rated this book! It doesn't seem to be a freebie any more, but would be worth spending a few pounds to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A breathtaking imaginative fantasy story that is simply sensational and a scintillating read!, 18 Nov 2013
This review is from: Night of the Purple Moon (The Toucan Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was delighted to have the opportunity of reading Scott Cramer's The Toucan Trilogy, as it sounded like something new and exciting. I am delighted to say that book 1 exceeded all expectations as I plunged into a phenomenal storyline filled with originality, creative flair and out-of-this-world imaginative ideas. As a young adult novel I would recommend this for those 13 years upwards to 15/ 16, as the plot centres around the adolescent main character Abby who captures teenage life so authentically. I was taken back to my youth instantly through this character whom I connected with and could empathize with so easily, hence it was rather a nostalgic read and one that was easy to loose myself within. This is an ideal book for the younger reader, as the author `gets under the skin' of this target age group and highlights some significant situations (a few quite harsh and desperate) that makes this such an interesting read.

Abby is a gutsy, likable `heroine' who I really loved and who brought such colour and vibrancy to the sci-fi, fantasy backdrop. This exciting tale is highly imaginative, well-written and truly thrilling from page 1 right to the dramatic, explosive ending that left me wanting to read on! Having sat for several hours immersed within this page turner I cannot wait to delve into book 2 of the Toucan Trilogy and continue this spectacular story from where it left off. There were so many elements that I liked within this story, including the parts that solely focused on Abby's family and the emphasis that was placed on selflessness and compassion for others. In a world without adults it is the children who have to ultimately work together as a team and decide how to survive in such a harsh environment.

This quick, fast-paced read is one that would be ideal for holiday or something to really get stuck into as the Night of the Purple moon approaches! I would like to thank the author for having the opportunity to read and discover his work, which I totally loved and thought was an exceptional read of multilayered inner meaning and truth-drawing connotation. If you are looking for a great Young Adult series that's unique and engaging, then I highly recommend the Toucan Trilogy... 4 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Purple Moon (The Toucan Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Not bad but a bit slow, kept you on edge but the ending was not as surprising as I would have liked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews