Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vast improvement...
Well I got the replacement discs today and it's a vast improvement. The sound issues have been corrected, the pretitle sequence has been totally redone. I0000% better. Still not happy at the amount of DNR in the main film but it's still the best version to date until we see what any USA company does.
Impressed with the fact that Studio Canal listened to the...
Published 24 months ago by R. Shore

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has Anyone Else Noticed...
that the first disc is the BD region free and that the 'actual' BD is the one that is for region two? I've also noticed this for the BD of COF.
Published 15 months ago by the Iconoclast


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vast improvement..., 25 April 2012
By 
R. Shore (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Well I got the replacement discs today and it's a vast improvement. The sound issues have been corrected, the pretitle sequence has been totally redone. I0000% better. Still not happy at the amount of DNR in the main film but it's still the best version to date until we see what any USA company does.
Impressed with the fact that Studio Canal listened to the complaints. Hopefully there will be no more problems with the widescreen hammer films and leave the grain alone.........

Roger Shore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done for listening, 26 April 2012
This review is from: Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I have to commend Hammer and Studio Canal for listening to the feedback and taking decisive action regarding the earlier issues with this release. After fixing the sound issues they have also negated some of the DNR overkill in the opening sequence. It is an excellent release which they have done a very good job of, given the constraints of the source material. I always would prefer some kind of viewing notes booklet with any movie release and would have given it five stars if there had been one, but in terms of extras etc this is pretty comprehensive. Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince of Hammer, 25 May 2012
By 
John Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Dracula Prince of Darkness is a great Blu-ray.
The film was shot during hammer's golden era when they made some films in widescreen using a 35mm Half frame pulldown technique.
If your like me a Hammer or even a Christopher Lee/Dracula fan then this is a must have for your collection.
The restoration is reasonably good and the colour is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DRACULA PRINCE OF DARKNESS REGION 2 BLU-RAY/DVD, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I Grew up watching Hammer's Dracula films
so when i found out that DRACULA-PRINCE OF DARKNESS was being released on blu-ray and dvd combo i knew i had to buy it

the first thing i watched was the new Documentary Back to black, fantastic Doco
has interviews with Hammer films Biographers aswell as Barbara shelley and Francis mathews and they've aged bigtime there both in the 80's now
the Doco is excellent Francis and Barbara talk about there experience in the film
it's very unfortunate Christopher lee wasn't interviewed or susan farmer

the other extras are the same as the region 1 Anchor bay release from over 10years ago now
the audio commentary is nothing new that was recorded on the Anchor bay release
aswell as the behind the scenes footage that's on the Anchor bay release aswell

so the only new extra/special feature is the Back to black Documentary

now regarding the picture and audio quality of this dvd and blu-ray release
i've watched both and compared the quality, the region 2 dvd is the same as the original region 2 dvd release from over 5 years ago
but the blu-ray version is pretty good, the picture quality is excellent superb the audio is pretty good to

so i recommend buying this blu-ray/dvd release just for the blu-ray version and the new Back to black Documentary

the Blu-ray is not available on it's own unfortunately and not available in the U.S. too it's only available to buy on amazon uk

if your a big fan of this film, like i am you have to buy the combo that has both Discs, definitely worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great presentation of a Hammer classic, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Lots of people seem to have moaned over this Blu-Ray release not presenting the flm as it should be seen. Whilst I am no expert on talking about film grain and aspect ratios etc, all I can say is that I disagree with them, the colour and scope have never looked better than here, and the fine detail is beautiful. In comparison with the DVD from the Optimum releasing 21 Hammer film box set, this version knocks it clear out of the water.
Any Hammer fans should be thrilled with this release which also has a lot of nice extras, including a new commentary from the main cast, and some interviews and on set footage from 1965. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of Hammer's Draculas, but the remastered second Blu-ray issue is a big improvement, 5 July 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Dracula Prince of Darkness was Hammer's only Scope entry in the Christopher Lee series, but it's frankly a rather dull and dragged out affair - Drac doesn't appear for 49 minutes and the first hour of the film could have been done much better in half the time. Lee is clearly bored and has little to do, but Andrew Keir's gun-totting monk is one of Hammer's most interesting characters and there's no doubting the effectiveness of Barbara Shelley's transformation from uptight sister in law to hottie demon dyke ("You don't need Charles!"). There are good moments, from Dracula's reincarnation to the Dracula-on-Ice finale, and the fact that the hero and heroine are called Charles and Diana is good for a few unintentional laughs, but this is far to sedate and drawn out for its own good.

StudioCanal's first pressing of this Blu-ray was notoriously disastrous, with synchronisation problems with the sound and the opening sequence in particular looked badly compressed, leading to the original copies being recalled and replaced. The new pressing is a great improvement, though there's still a bit too much noise reduction and filtering applied, as well as the odd bit of edge enhancement to try to overcompensate for the problems of the Techniscope original. Techniscope was a non-anamorphic widescreen system that, instead of squeezing the image, used only half of the frame area to create a 2.35:1 widescreen image, which was then released on anamorphic 'squeezed' prints using the full frame area: it may have saved money on film stock costs for cost conscious producers, but it also meant less detail. Unfortunately they've tried in places to digitally improve that, with somewhat mixed results. It's another one where the restoration comparison featurette included doesn't always convince you the right decisions were always made.

The extras package is an interesting mixture of the features previously available on Anchor Bay's US DVD - audio commentary by Barbara Shelley, Francis Matthews, Suzan Farmer and Christopher Lee, Matthews' 8mm home movie footage of the shoot, trailers and an episode of the 80s World of Hammer compilation TV series - and a new half hour documentary as well as alternate title sequences. While there are still some issues with the replacement transfer, this is probably as good as it will get, and it's certainly not as painfully over-DNRed as some other films on Blu-ray: don't expect miracles, and you'll probably be satisfied with the new disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 10 Mar 2013
This review is from: Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Having watched the DVD of this film a number of times, and having read the (very) mixed reviews of the Blu-ray version I was somewhat reticent about upgrading, but took a punt and am glad I did. Yes, DNR is apparent in the early flashback sequence from the original "Dracula", but once the film proper is underway the image is fine, and a big improvement on the DVD picture I was used to. The detail, colour and richness all add to the effective creation of mood and atmosphere in the castle prior to Drac's first appearance. The lavish art direction can now be properly appreciated. Dusk/night exterior shots (esp. at the castle doors)were fine - darker and appropriately shadowey on faces, without the usual blue cast often found on DFN images. The soundtrack is good - music and atmos. effects (esp. wind) seem to have more "presence", and add to that lovely creation of mood and gothic atmosphere. A couple of shots later on (coach interiors) were a little soft/low contrast, but they were the only real flaws I noted. Overall, a big improvement in both picture and sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer in HD!, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
The first Hammer Dracula film to hit blu-ray will not disappoint. The film was shot in techniscope which is always problematic transferring to digital but this disc is a good as it can be. The film was a major revealation on blu-ray after seeing it on DVD for so many years. The colors and sharpness (especially on close-ups) is startling! A must have for Hammer and Dracula fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
words can't describe how chuffed to bits I am owning this blu-ray :) I'll be purchasing the rest of them soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Picture Quality, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I am really pleased with my Blu Ray version of Dracula Prince of Darkness. The crystal clear colour is just beautiful. Dracula has never looked so good. If all the Hammer Blu Ray releases are as good as this, then I shall certainly be buying them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadf7dcf0)

This product

Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD)
Dracula Prince Of Darkness (Blu-ray + DVD) by Count Dracula (Blu-ray - 2012)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews