Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too brief an encounter.
Everything about this series was great. The acting was superb, (nice to see DT in a drama and not an advert) but really, look at the actors, would you really expect anything else? It was shot beautifully, the atmosphere spot on, the stories intelligent and true to life and the directing was excellent. Given all this, why not five stars?

Simply put, half an hour...
Published on 24 July 2012 by Mr. S. Kerfoot

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars True Love - Series l DVD
This is one of those movies where there are several different stories that connect in someway. The first story with David Tennant was the most enjoyable one (hence the three stars) the rest were ok. One of those shows where you have be to in the right mood to watch.
We were glad that we purchased it as will many David Tennant fans.
Published 20 months ago by E. Lombard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too brief an encounter., 24 July 2012
By 
Mr. S. Kerfoot (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Love - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Everything about this series was great. The acting was superb, (nice to see DT in a drama and not an advert) but really, look at the actors, would you really expect anything else? It was shot beautifully, the atmosphere spot on, the stories intelligent and true to life and the directing was excellent. Given all this, why not five stars?

Simply put, half an hour was too short a time. Take each episode, each story, with everything I've previously mentioned, and this could easily have filled an hour a time. We only glimpsed the characters and it just felt incomplete. Frankly, we got a sketch rather than a finished piece. Perhaps that was the intention, but with the talent in all parts, both on screen and behind it, being so good, why not build something more?

So, buy this, watch it and enjoy it, but think on, someone missed a trick here. We got two pairs when we could have had a Royal Flush. For example, look at the story behind the excellent Single Father, also with DT. That ran for four one hour episodes. I suppose I always want more of a good thing.

PS; if the BBC make a second series, other than making them longer, please include Suranne Jones. She'd excell here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could watch again and again!, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Love - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This was a beautifully crafted and brave piece of drama. It handles and deals with some really strong issues. Stand outs for me are David Tennant, Billie Piper, Lacey Turner and Kaya Scodelario. Each of these actors took their characters and i believed every word that was being said. Considering i bought the series because of David, I have watched Billie and Kaya's episode over and over. It is so powerful and moving. The only thing i would have liked different was if the episodes were longer. Give us more time to love the characters and to connect more intensely with them! Other than that, beautiful piece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tapestry of love, 23 Sep 2013
By 
E. Ferrer "book fairy" (north america) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Love - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This unique format of showing variations love in relationships gave a great view of how personal each experience of love is. The performances were great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 21 Jun 2012
This review is from: True Love - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This series was a very well made piece of drama with a wonderful cast. The best episodes by far have to be Episodes 3: Holly and Episode 5: Adrian. The series was improvised meaning the actors did not work from a script, therefore it did have some awkward scenes and maybe the acting wasn't as good all of the time, however some actors really showed raw emotion and showed how brilliant their acting skills are. Notable performances from Lacey Turner, Billie Piper, Kaya Scodelario and David Morrissey. The series had some very moving and believable moments and had a brilliant soundtrack. There could have been some improvements, it wasn't the best TV show I've ever seen but it was enjoyable! Worth buying though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Love - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on a whim, as I do like David Tennant in most things he does. But what I did find, is that not only was his episode good, they all were.
I do hope another such series occurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant,...., 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: True Love - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Very well made, I loved every Story, Great Actor casting, Highly Recommended, David Tennant is Awesome in the 1st story, as is David Morrissey in another, Same for Billie Piper's Story,

Joanne-Lorraine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Depends on the episode, 15 Mar 2013
By 
Patti O (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Love - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Some real talent here, but some of the scenes have little to do with any love I've ever seen - I think the actors could have done a better job without the director deciding how their characters should react, So I feel as if they were stilted instead of the flowing style you would expect out of an improv situation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Morrisy's is frightening and Tennants has to be one of the greatest displays of morals I've seen on any tv drama ..., 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Love - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
An incredible series . Well written, well conceived and if ever you were considering having a affair, the is series will certainly make you think.

Billie Pipers story is moving , David Morrisy's is frightening and Tennants has to be one of the greatest displays of morals I've seen on any tv drama in a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars True Love - Series l DVD, 7 Feb 2013
By 
E. Lombard "Lizasaurus" (Melbourne, Victoria, AU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Love - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those movies where there are several different stories that connect in someway. The first story with David Tennant was the most enjoyable one (hence the three stars) the rest were ok. One of those shows where you have be to in the right mood to watch.
We were glad that we purchased it as will many David Tennant fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 26 Jun 2012
This review is from: True Love - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant and moving film great acting from all of the actors. all of the story lines are great too. recommend as quick postage too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Love - Series 1 [DVD]
True Love - Series 1 [DVD] by Dominic Savage (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews