Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photography at its simplest, and best
If you're looking looking for lots of technical detail, lenses, cameras, lighting, gobos, barn doors, flash adaptors etc then forget it. What Elizabeth shows is that great photographs can be taken with the minimum of equipment, one camera and one lens, good natural lighting, developing a style and using a consistent approach will help you get the best from your...
Published on 14 Jun 2012 by Mr. G. Mullen

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suited only for film users
Nice pictures, and nice advices, but all the book is based only in film. There is not digital advice, so it is not as practical for me as I thouhgt
Published on 15 July 2012 by M. Angel Garcia Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photography at its simplest, and best, 14 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luminous Portrait, The (Paperback)
If you're looking looking for lots of technical detail, lenses, cameras, lighting, gobos, barn doors, flash adaptors etc then forget it. What Elizabeth shows is that great photographs can be taken with the minimum of equipment, one camera and one lens, good natural lighting, developing a style and using a consistent approach will help you get the best from your photography. Oh and also, get out there and take photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and tips, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luminous Portrait, The (Paperback)
I wished I had purchased this book when my wife was pregnant so as to try out some of her techniques and advice. Overall, I found the book to be very informative, containing some good straightforward advice and some of her techniques appear quite interesting.

However, the 'look' of her images may be difficult to recreate as she shoots film with medium format cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of fine art portraiture., 6 Feb 2014
By 
Daimian Blewitt (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luminous Portrait, The (Paperback)
Elizabeth Messina provides a very convincing argument for a return to film photography, and backs it up with work that shines with a luminance that is unsurpassed in its beauty and elegance.
This book is more than a guide to shooting film, more than tips for getting the most out of your portraits and more than advice for your business.
This book has become the inspiration and impetus for me to strive to build a brand that focuses on Fine Art and exceptional customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good e book, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminous Portrait: Capture the Beauty of Natural Light for Glowing, Flattering Photographs (Kindle Edition)
Pointed out some very good tips, a very good read, glad I purchased it download trouble free would recommend this book for beginners and experienced photographers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luminous Portrait, The (Paperback)
I'm a wedding photographer and I absolutely love this book, a visual treat on every page. I love it. Go Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and informative, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luminous Portrait, The (Paperback)
I love the ideas and information discussed in this book. I am still working through it, but think it is something I will come back to time and again, for tips and inspiration. Messina does describe how she uses film, but I think that can translate to a certain extent to digital work too. It did have the effect of making me want to use my film cameras as well as my digital camera for portrait shoots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book, 22 May 2013
By 
Mrs. A. Pinteaux "A. Bergman" (Greater-Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luminous Portrait, The (Paperback)
Love Elizabeth's style and really happy with this book. There are few on natural light portraiture. This is well worth the investment for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! A must for natural light photographers!, 20 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Luminous Portrait: Capture the Beauty of Natural Light for Glowing, Flattering Photographs (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely fantastic! Full to the brim with useful hints and tips! A must for any natural light photographer.
Read from front to back in 2 days, but will definitely be referring back to this book in the future!
Very inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down ..., 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luminous Portrait, The (Paperback)
I love natural light shooting. And in many ways it can be more challenging than a bells and whistles studio lighoting set up. Elizabeth Messina's talent is that she captures beauty, femininity, and emotion and makes it look effortless. In the book she shares her knowledge and experience openly - beautiful imagery with straightforward and inspiring explanations.

The book goes further tho' she provides some sound business and marketing advice too. I have a very large collection of photography books and this one would be in my top 5.

Beautiful, inspirational and knowledge building too. A great gift for you or for your photography friends. Buy it you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suited only for film users, 15 July 2012
By 
M. Angel Garcia Martin (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luminous Portrait, The (Paperback)
Nice pictures, and nice advices, but all the book is based only in film. There is not digital advice, so it is not as practical for me as I thouhgt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews