Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spandau great buy.
It takes you back to those heady days of the 80's. Great music, and well worth buying. So go get it.
Published on 15 April 2013 by GRAHAM CHADWICK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Budget Spandau Ballet Album Box
No frills budget set of Spandau Ballet's first four albums which at time of writing is very expensive and quite frankly not worth the money. Just be aware that the "Journeys To Glory" and "Parade" discs have used the 2010 remasters from the special edition series. Parade doesn't sound too bad but Journeys is truly awful. The two other albums,"Diamond" and "True" sound...
Published 2 months ago by DJ Control


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Budget Spandau Ballet Album Box, 9 Mar. 2015
By 
DJ Control (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Albums 1980-84 (Audio CD)
No frills budget set of Spandau Ballet's first four albums which at time of writing is very expensive and quite frankly not worth the money. Just be aware that the "Journeys To Glory" and "Parade" discs have used the 2010 remasters from the special edition series. Parade doesn't sound too bad but Journeys is truly awful. The two other albums,"Diamond" and "True" sound superb. If you want more than a greatest hits album,none of the extended versions and if audio quality doesn't really bother you this set is ok. If you are looking for a bit more may I suggest the 2010 Special Edition series. They're not perfect but offer much more than the 32 tracks included in this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spandau great buy., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums 1980-84 (Audio CD)
It takes you back to those heady days of the 80's. Great music, and well worth buying. So go get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 80's music, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums 1980-84 (Audio CD)
great band class tracks takes me back to my youth great memories, can't ba anything better than remembering what you were doing, who with and in which country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure gold, 6 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Albums 1980-84 (MP3 Download)
It always have been a pleasure to listen to Spandous Ballet. It's one of my favourite band. Bought for 4 albums in a row.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums 1980-84 (Audio CD)
Ideal for anyone who didn't buy these albums years ago. Just brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums 1980-84 (MP3 Download)
Love the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 26 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. D McGrath (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Albums 1980-84 (Audio CD)
Buying this for my sister's birthday who was a big fan back in the day.

Great value for money but it just annoys me that the ONLY 80s bands yet to have a defintive album box set is The Human League!!! Come on EMI/Virgin - when will The League have their back catalogue presented in the sae way?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE SPANDS : DREAMING 80'S, 4 Jun. 2012
By 
Pisati Gianmarco "OLD FASHION MAN" (Milan, ITALY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums 1980-84 (Audio CD)
" I do not know how to play, are well-dressed dolls that are stirred up in time to music, make mundane and pointless songs ... do not understand what we find girls screaming ... "
This is what many music critics wrote about Spandau Ballet in the '80s. Perhaps someone today, it is a bit 'regret the vitriol thrown on without saving "Spands" or to their fellow successful Duran Duran and Wham!. It comes from wondering.

We hope that our generation is not arrogance, especially because of this it was, more than twenty years ago - music critics would probably be killed in 30 years, before they begin to say that "time is all already heard" !!
But listening to "I'll fly for you" or "Gold" is even some inspiration, or at least consistency in style, because it really is "Gold" abysmal compared to the banality that characterizes the current British pop.

This is not to say that Spandau Ballet were Great: the little we have made good, they did in the wake of the latest records of Roxy Music, from which also took some vaguely art-rock pretensions.

Certainly, their songs were less ambitiously pop-art of those opponents of Duran Duran. But in their small, the brothers Kemp and his associates were able to make commercial music and dignified at the same time not denying some creative foray as "Musclebound" or "Chant No.1". There's even a touch of class in songs like "Only When You Leave" and "Communication", while it is hard not to have at least a brief thrill listening to the poignant "Through the barricades", also present in another album.

How not to get caught up in nostalgia for Kemp, Hadley & co. The Spandau Ballet : Dreaming the 80's Forever !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why? EMI Why?, 7 May 2012
By 
lance yong (kota kinabalu, malaysia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Albums 1980-84 (Audio CD)
Why EMI constantly re-pack and re-issue these albums? With the same title, EMI can re-pack at least 3 to 5 time just within a time span of 10 years. is ti true, EMI seriously need cash?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dont buy Amazon MP3 downloads!!, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums 1980-84 (MP3 Download)
Tried to download - internet connection went down.
When I tried again the missing tracks wouldn't download.
Now the temporary files have gone so no chance of downloading.
Emailed customer service - lets see how long that will take eh!
Going back to iTunes for my downloads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Albums 1980-84
The Albums 1980-84 by Spandau Ballet
Buy MP3 Album£12.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews